We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, centrally located, very close to T Nagar-value for money”
Review of Smart Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smart Haven
Ranked #117 of 401 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed in Smart haven, with family and kids. It was a nice place but a small one. During our stay on from 13th to 15th of August, we were the only one to be there and we felt like kings in there as the entire place was our for use. The kitchenette was very helpful as we had small kids with us. The rooms could have been more spacious.

Drawbacks- Car parking is on the road, so by the time we checked out our car colour was turned brown. Need a bit of maintenance on the bath fittings. However with these i dont see a show stopper in it. If i go back to Chennai, would stay in there for the convenience i get, being close to T Nagar, the central shopping district. Not very far from Airport and railway stations, ideal for family stays.

The staff were very helpful and very courteous. A big positive...Overall, a great value for money

Room Tip: Distance from hotel to T Nagar is about 1.2 kms, so dont think of walking down to T Nagar from Hotel...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kishan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Smart Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

I recently stayed here for a day and had an awesome experience. The rooms were clean, bedsheets well spread, helpful staff along with a very nice homely ambiance and great interiors. It was more like an apartment than a hotel, with a floor having 3 rooms sharing a common living area along with a kitchen. Although the property does not have a restaurant, you can find a lot of places nearby to try the local food.

The only thing which I found annoying was its location. Our taxi driver took about 1 hour to find the place and that too after talking about 5 times to the hotel receptionist in their local language. I would have ignored it but when Dominos was unable to find the place again, I was sure that this place was indeed hard to find.

Overall, Awesome experience with value for money stay if you are ready to sacrifice the in-house restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank publicmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The basics was there....and more. The toilets and showers were great. The beds were good. Clean, comfortable rooms. Aircon worked well in the Chennai heat.

The staff were excellent. They always went the extra mile to make me feel confortable.

The breakfasts were basic, but, good. What I looked for was a confortable, clean and well maintained accomodation, and this I experienced at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaviGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I just stayed here for one night. It was ok, clean and the bed sheets had been washed previously. So I was pleasantly surprised and did not care about the place not having a restaurant. There are plenty of places you can have your meal nearby.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pamella05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

With around 35€/night the most expensive hotel during our trip (in rather pricy Chennai) the money was well spent. The room was well equipped and well maintained, which ensured a good night.
Situated a bit off the beaten track, I am not sure to what extent it really was a problem for the auto driver to find the place and to what extent it was pure calculation to justify a higher fare which made it take so long to get to the place.
Though there is no restaurant the service of the restaurants in the proximity worked out well. A basic breakfast is provided. A nice feature is that you can cook something on your own if you feel like doing so in one of the common areas, which are equipped with a small kitchen.
Somehow the house does not really feel like a "proper" hotel. The breakfast room is furnished with office furniture, and even the reception rather looks like an office, too. If you are looking for a decent place to spend a restful night, this is no disadvantage whatsoever, if you are looking for a typical hotel this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InterestingPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Hotel was good, but i never like the problem i face in chennai

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soshal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0uLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
142 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,848 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,162 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
353 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Haven

Address: Abhilashaa Old No 15 New No 22 | Corporation Colony Main Rd, Rangarajapuram, Kodambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600024, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 401 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £25 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location advantage . US consulate 4km, T-Nagar Shopping are 500 meter, Trade Centre 7Km, Airport 12 Km, Guindy Industrial Zone 4 Km , Vadapalani 1.5Km , Railway Station 7 KM , Mount Road 3KM , DLF 8KM , Olympia tech park 5.5KmSmart Haven Corporate Rooms and Residences, a budget-class hospitality solution for the corporate business traveller. The Smart Haven property is unique, contemporary in design keeping in mind the requirements of the corporate and business traveller and ‘smart’ both in terms of aesthetics and value for money. The property totally comprises 5 split air-conditioned apartments of 3 rooms each with double bed/ Twin beds and an attached bathroom and a Living cum Kitchenette area. The Living area offers daily newspapers and a 26’ LCD TV with set-top box (a DVD Player can be provided on request) for your entertainment. The kitchenette is equipped with a hob-n-chimney, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, electric kettle, a hot-n-cold water dispenser and a full-set of crockery, cutlery, glassware and hollow-ware. We welcome our guests to make use of the kitchen, but if you aren’t in the mood to cook, you will find Menu cards in the kitchenette area for different restaurants that deliver food. The rooms are equipped with a twin/double bed, a 20’ LCD TV with set-top box, large twin wardrobes, a life-size mirror and glass rack, a Luggage Rack, a Writing Desk and chair, a telephone with voice mail and direct dialing facility and an attached bathroom with a separate glass-partitioned shower cubicle. Fresh bed and bath linen is provided and changed regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing