We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel for business trips”
Review of Smart Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smart Haven
Ranked #116 of 390 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel for business trips”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The rooms are good, with attached living and kitchenette area for every 3 rooms. Well maintained and clean. Good part of this hotel is that it has few Hindi speaking staff. Rooms are self contained with attached bathroom, AC and DTH TV. Breakfast is ok but the stay is value for money if you have to choose a hotel in T-Nagar area. The rooms have wired internet, which runs fast.Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pratik57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
4
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here for 1 week. Very affordable and great value for your money. Room was a decent size, clean washroom, running cold/hot water, AC in room, TV and comfortable bed. Having a kitchen outside the room was also good. TV had many channels (mainly indian).
The best part of the stay was the great customer service. Staff were wiling to help at any extent to ensure we were comfortable. They helped with getting taxis, locating areas nearby, provided us with mineral water every day and more. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an affordable place, clean, with basic amenities and excellent customer service. The auto/taxi do find it a bit hard locating the place, but if you mention 'Rangarajapuram and 5 lights they should be able to get you there. The only area of improvement I would suggest is better air circulation - but this seems to be a common need for improvement in a lot of hotels in chennai.
Overall, good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikkim, India
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I have been mulling to try out this property for a while; ultimately taken the plunge to visit this place for my business trip. I must say its one of the finest option of B&Bs in this region( T Nagar). I have been staying at near by places in and around T Nagar and Kodambakkam for a while. Now on the overall experience:

Location: Off from the main road: quite locale. Signage could be improved or directions can be given enroute to this property. Signage can be lit in the night as well: say at 11pm +
Ambience: nothing to rave about; just ordinary; can be made chic and inviting definitely
Service: proactive, professional, genuinely warm n helpful
Facilities: just fine; good bed; clean linen; but the bed covers cleanliness need to be improved.
Bath room: very good; well maintained. But toiletries can be provided proactively on complimentary basis.
Breakfast: just about OK; but one has better options if chooses to try outside
TV: in the room, TV virtually doesnt work; wish its made in operational condition; and also guest is freed up from the agony of selection/deselection or figuring out the mechanisms to navigate the dish system. Not many options for the english channels. Felt left out.
Room: spacious enough for the short time business traveller and for one person; also has good cupboards to maintain the clothes.
Complimentary bottled water can be provided.
I am impressed at the overall professional touch that they wish to accord and a nice experience to the guest in general.
However the lobby / sitting place in between the rooms is just stinking with food smell and cigarette smoke early in the morning. Perhaps exhaust fan could be put to use.
There is not much privacy: ( in terms of sound proofing) between the rooms.
Lobby can be air conditioned.

Room Tip: Location: From Anju Villakku, go down straight uptill the dead end of the road and you will find thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PavalikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on business and was delighted with the place. My room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and everything worked. After a hard day at the office it was just great to have a pleasant shower then flop in front of the TV with the AC on.

The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to offer transport advice (eg. taxis versus autos, hourly hire versus distance hire). When it seemed that I had misplaced my return air ticket, they immediately suggested that I login to the staff computer, locate it on the internet and print a new one. Easy. In addition, I used the wifi in my room with my laptop constantly. It was reliable and fast.

There's a kitchen to cook yourself, if you choose, but I was lazy and mainly ordered delivery. The hotel had some brochures of trusted and good places for delivery, which I tried and was very happy with. I used the kitchen to reheat food (big portions) and make coffee and tea, which was supplied.

On the last day, I did not need to leave for the airport until 3pm, even though checkout time is 12 noon. The staff just let me stay for the extra hours without any fuss. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stourton1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I chose Smart Haven after viewing the other reviews on trip advisor. Unfortunately the place did not meet my expectations. The room was clean, but there was a dingy feeling to the place. The beds had a filthy lining cloth - not exactly sure what the purpose of it was, but it definitely made the place look a little unkept.
The bathroom window had a squirrels' nest in it... which did not inspire much confidence in the quality of the housekeeping since it had obviously been there for at least a couple of days.
The set top box was disconnected for some reason. After hooking it up I found that there was not even a single English channel. On querying the staff, they said that the there was some problem with the subscription.
I was in Chennai for a meeting, but since I had some time I was looking forward to relaxing in the room and watching some TV. Since the room wasn't all that great, and the TV was happening either, I ended up spending most of the time outside.
I guess SmartHaven is good for a quick in-an-out if you have some work in the location... but not the best place if you are planning to spend some time inside the room. At that price, you can find better places in the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madurai, tamilnadu
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

i stayed for 2 nite's with my family on 08june12 to10june12. This is my first B&B Experience. seems very good. The rooms a very neat location was near by t.nagar. All the staffs were very helpful. on the first day i'm in need for an emergency at 12 mid nite. there is no medical shop opened nearby the location. i asked for the working persons to help me. at that time Mr.RAM (supervisor) came with me and we searched for a opened medical shop more that 30mins over nite and we found it 5km away from the location. That was an really great help by the person. Mr.KALI in front office also very helpful to us. if i want any thing just a made call to reception within 5mins they will fulfill our requirements.

Thanks to all of you..

keep your service always best..

all the best..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugan2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Its off the main road so a little hard to find. The rooms are small. They have common area with a TV and microwave.

Its a definite value for it price offering. The rooms are clean. There is no restaurant. The staff doesnot know any language apart from tamil except one person in the reception during the day. The breakfast is kinda boring.

Definitely worth it for its price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akhilkodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
3.8 mi away
The Leela Palace Chennai
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
1,436 reviews
2.5 mi away
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
2,722 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#64 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#213 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#38 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Haven

Property: Smart Haven
Address: Abhilashaa Old No 15 New No 22 | Corporation Colony Main Rd, Rangarajapuram, Kodambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600024, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 390 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location advantage . US consulate 4km, T-Nagar Shopping are 500 meter, Trade Centre 7Km, Airport 12 Km, Guindy Industrial Zone 4 Km , Vadapalani 1.5Km , Railway Station 7 KM , Mount Road 3KM , DLF 8KM , Olympia tech park 5.5KmSmart Haven Corporate Rooms and Residences, a budget-class hospitality solution for the corporate business traveller. The Smart Haven property is unique, contemporary in design keeping in mind the requirements of the corporate and business traveller and ‘smart’ both in terms of aesthetics and value for money. The property totally comprises 5 split air-conditioned apartments of 3 rooms each with double bed/ Twin beds and an attached bathroom and a Living cum Kitchenette area. The Living area offers daily newspapers and a 26’ LCD TV with set-top box (a DVD Player can be provided on request) for your entertainment. The kitchenette is equipped with a hob-n-chimney, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, electric kettle, a hot-n-cold water dispenser and a full-set of crockery, cutlery, glassware and hollow-ware. We welcome our guests to make use of the kitchen, but if you aren’t in the mood to cook, you will find Menu cards in the kitchenette area for different restaurants that deliver food. The rooms are equipped with a twin/double bed, a 20’ LCD TV with set-top box, large twin wardrobes, a life-size mirror and glass rack, a Luggage Rack, a Writing Desk and chair, a telephone with voice mail and direct dialing facility and an attached bathroom with a separate glass-partitioned shower cubicle. Fresh bed and bath linen is provided and changed regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing