We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but arrogant,pathetic staff”
Review of Raj Palace Sundar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raj Palace Sundar
Ranked #34 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for a night.Good location,nice clean rooms and Swimming pool is also well maintained.And the Restaurant also has a nice ambience.So overall,the place is pretty good and good value for money in that respect.
Now coming to the staff here,I strongly suggest the hotel management to hire better staff else they ll run out of business very soon.
Some of the instances to illustrate this:
INSTANCE 1 - When we first went into the restaurant,I observed that the plates were not clean.There were some rice grains.When I told the same to the person there, he was annoyed and asked us to move to another table.
INSTANCE 2 - My husband and my BIL were using the swimming pool and they asked the guy there for towels and he got it after a long time. It looked as though somebody had forced him to sit there even though he desperately wanted to go elsewhere
INSTANCE 3 and the WORST: During checkout,the lady there, so called receptionist,treated us with utter disrespect n arrogance.Since there was a card in the room saying ask for 15% discount on food, we asked her.As if we were asking for a great sacrifice from her,She started yelling saying how can we give discount for everything!!!! God knows wat she meant.She spoke as if she was paying for our rooms!
I dint lose my patience at this.But once we were done clearing our bills.We were about to leave.We kind of forgot that the other room's bills had to be cleared(room rent was already paid online.These were only extras). She called us as if we were criminals!!!! The tone was such. The words she used.,."Hello room no 111,come here.You havent cleared the bills no??" We remembered then.We said "Oh yeah".She was like "Then? Come".I completely lost my temper and started shouting at her.Then she said sorry n all.But her attitude was horrible.Beware of such ppl here.
Seeing the place,we wanted to stay here the next time we were in Chennai. But after this episode, a strict no no unless the management hires new,decent staff who have some sense of hospitality!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramya_Madhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRPS, General Manager at Raj Palace Sundar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for the valuable feedback. We deeply regret and apologise for the inconveniences caused. We have viewed your feedback seriously and taken stringent action on the concerned staff.
We kindly request you to give us another opportunity to be of service to you and strive to serve to your entire satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Otherwise one will not prefer this place. Front office is not as you ever expect. Restaurant is ok as well food. You need to insist for discount. Ask for pool facing room other side is noisy. Never opt for room near reception. There are lobby in each floor people smoke and talk loudly here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madhu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Fantastic value for money. Best part is that the profits from the hotel are actually used to fund a free medical clinic (I figured this out when the Auto-rickshaw told me that he has used their services, but I might be wrong).

My wife and I have stayed at this delightful little hotel several times, only once did we encounter a noisy wedding party. Check-in is a breeze, although initially the hotel kept bothering my wife and I for a wedding certificate (my wife still uses her maiden name). But, my wife and I gave them an earful and made them take a photocopy of our marriage certificate once, this odd request has stopped now. One negative part is that explaining an order to room service can be challenging at times, on one memorable occasion I had to repeat a very simple dinner order to three different people on the same call.

The swimming pool is small but quite refreshing, although one does occasionally have to appear in front of wedding parties in ones swimming trunks.

The place is extremely clean, neat, tidy, good rooms, with decent view, excellent accessibility to the south and South east of Chennai. Very good restaurant, good food with decent quantities, decent breakfast spread. Pleasant, if a trifle noisy (due to traffic), surroundings. Only other bug-bear is that there are extremely limited TV channels other than in South Indian languages.

Despite all these trifling points, my wife and I like the place so much, I am giving it 5 stars. We must have stayed there at least 6-8 times over the last 1 year or so.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AG_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is close to Adayar. Near Malar hospital. Break fast spread is reasonable. Durga restraunt gives a old charm. Food quality is good. Not crowded. Reasonably priced mid range hotel. Overall we had a comfortable stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Singapore_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed in the hotel during my official trip to chennai. The hotel is very clean and the staff very cooperative. The breakfast is complimentary and they served one of the best breakfast for a long time although they could have provided more options as the dishes they serve are repitative. The pool is somewhat small. The hotel gives a feeling of old heritage touch. once you are in the hotel you only have to depend on the hotel restaurant as there is no nice hotel nearby. The location is excellent. will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank nskfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Hotel was big letdown. It is no ways a 3 Star hotel. The rooms are small and resemble a guest house at best. It is a budget Business traveller's hotel at best. The breakfast is also just about OK and nothing to write home about. It looks like a old hotel which survives by being economical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suranasunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel during my business trip to Chennai.The rooms are small.The rooms do not have amenities like electric kettle etc. Though the hotel is few years old but looks like very old.The spread of the breakfast buffet was below average. The hotel is not a value for money preposition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highseas_11_DGehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#60 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
684 reviews
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#64 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
105 reviews
T. Nagar
Hotel Raj Palace
Hotel Raj Palace
#106 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#55 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
192 reviews
Royapettah
Esthell Continental Hotel
Esthell Continental Hotel
#311 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
64 reviews
The Metroplace Hotels
#50 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raj Palace Sundar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Palace Sundar

Address: 12, Dr. Durgabai Deshmukh Road | Opp. to Sathya Studio, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £32 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raj Palace Sundar 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAJ PALACE SUNDAR is a 36 rooms hotel with state of the art facilities spread over 1.5 acres in the midst of greenery, exquisitely furnished and sprinkled with luxury. It has been meticulously designed for your comfort and ambiance that is undeniable. RAJ PALACE SUNDAR is a Business Class hotel mixed with tradition and leisure. A haven of peace and tranquility. V. T . HALL, MAHILA SABHA I and MAHILA SABHA II - Spacious and well furnished conference Halls offer meeting spaces of varying size suited for Corporate Gatherings, Trainings, Meetings, Get – Togethers and Special Occasions. DURGA PARK – MULTI CUISINE RESTAURANT spoils you with a host of impeccable dining. Round the clock Room Service SWIMMING POOL – Take a dip and unwind yourself. Corporate Membership and Coaching Camps as per your requirement. LOTUS SPA – An Authentic Ayurveda Wellness Spa. Special rates for corporates. WIFI – In All rooms and Public area’s In House Laundry Round the clock Cab services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raj Palace Sundar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing