We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Spring Hotel
Ranked #99 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Laidley, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I had a terrible time at this hotel. It came close to ruining India but we had mercifully positive experiences at the other places we stayed.

The room was foul. Disgusting, dank and damp. Bed was filthy, bathroom disgusting, plumbing ran all evening, bare wiring, jerry-rigged plumbing and one in three lamps functioning.
Incredibly rude night clerk - worst customer service we have experienced. Asked to call a particular cab for us but was informed we would have to use the hotel's company for an exorbitant fee. I asked for the number of the alternative company, he informed me I would need to look it up myself and hung up. Wi-fi not functional. Paid for breakfast but not available in the morning - same exceptionally rude clerk unable to assist.

In the end I lost my cool and caused a terrible scene which was poor on my behalf. The manager was called down and attempted to smooth things over (including calling a cab from the company we requested, at one fifth the cost enforced by the hotel) but was far too late. We checked out at 7am and spent an extra 5 hours at the airport instead. Location is terrible also - completely unsafe.

I have never experienced anything quite like this before - this was by far the worst accommodation we have ever endured.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizhef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel

We at Spring sincerely apologize for the unpleasant incident you had at our hotel. It is our highest priority to our guest with an exceptional stay experience and in this instance we certainly failed to do this. What you experience is totally unacceptable and we have already taken steps to ensure that this does not happen in our hotel again.

We have taken the issue very strongly with the concerned and assure you the best services in your future visit.

Hope this incident will not hold you against us and you will surely give us another chance to serve you better.

Look forward to meet you in person in your future visit.

Warm Regards,
Farida Khan
Front Office Manager
955166088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    110
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
44
38
40
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 13 days. The rooms were comfortable and spacious enough. The staff were very friendly and I felt safe as a woman alone. Although the breakfast was good, the room service was not which was ordered on the day of arrival. The potatoes in my Dum Aloo were almost raw. When I brought this to their attention, it was replaced with something else 'on the house'. There was no hot water but tepid with very little pressure. All in all, there might have been drawbacks but the staff took care of each and every complaint immediately. Housekeeping was good and so were the staff at the Reception, the restaurant and the gates.

Tips:
- Do add South Indian tiffin varieties to the room service menu for people like me who don't eat much in the evening.
- Please make a proper wi-fi available. This for me would be the only negative point with this hotel.
- Please place a tip box at the Reception so that it can be divided among each one who make the guest's stay comfortable. This scenario will avoid people coming to the door even after 10pm.

I enjoyed my stay and the attention. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borgt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel Chennai

At the outset please allow me to thank you for the comments shared and also please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We at The Spring always works towards the betterment and continues improvement.Your feedback has helped us and we have taken a strong action on it.

We assured you will find a positive improvement in your future visit.

Look forward to host you again.

Thanks with regards,

Farida Khan
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we have stayed in this hotel for 2days. rooms are spacious but not clear at all . the showers are not working properly. had to wait long time for hote water at the show.

House Keeping service is very bad service , restaurant was spacious and quality of food was good.

If you want to stay in prime location , then I recommend this but don't expect the rooms to look as good as it looks at their website . just an average 2 star catagory hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel,

First of all thank you very much for your valuable feedback , we have noted your ratings on our House Keeping and Maintenance services.Not only that we also have taken serious action against the concerned.

We highly regret the inconvenience caused to you, kindly accept our sincere apologies and give us another chance to serve you better.

We at Spring work towards the betterment of the quality and ensure the positive changes in your future visit.

Look forward to meet you in person.

Thanks with regards,
Farida Khan
Front Office Manager
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Do not get deceived by the photos put on by management. This hotel is quite old and it reflects on almost everything and everywhere.

Breakfast was unimpressive; overall quality of food is bad.

But you may not want to discard this hotel as it is close to US Consulate. If you looking for overnight stay and paying less than INR 3500 then go for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikashShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel Chennai,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your guest experience at the Spring. We regret for the inconvenience caused to you at the same time we would like to inform you that we are in the process of renovating the rooms and i am sure that you would find the remarkable difference in your future visits.

As far as Food and Service is concerned , we have taken up the issue very strongly with the concerned and will surely work towards the betterment.

Once again thank you for sharing your concerns and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Looking forward to meet you in person in next visit

Kind regards

Farida Khan
Front Office Manager
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

i have yet to stay in your hotel and i was checking it out to see if i feel like staying here during my next trip to chennai. but i must say that i was EXTREMELY pleased to see the hotel management replying to the comments posted veen if it is a negayive one. this i think is such a good attitude and shoul;d be praised. soem hotels do not even bother saying thank you when you post something positive about them and what more when you post something negative. to the managemnt and staff of the spring, congrats i would surely stay here during my next visit. and on taht note, can i get more info on the star rock pub - what kind of music do you play, what kind oof patrons and am i allowed entry if i come alone but stay at the hotel. thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank sajahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from The Spring Family,

First of all thank very much for your pleasant comment.Your comment has not only motivated The Spring Hotels'staff and Family but also exceeded the expectation of the genuine guest of you caliber.

Further more to your request of STAR ROCK, we have awesome ambiance and all time entertainment for our guest.Through out the week we have Music nights like EDM (Electronic Dance Music) SALSA, Bollywood, Commercials, Rock, HIP HOP, and Tamil Night,

The entry for the program if on couple basis.However if you are staying guest you have privilege to use alone as well.

Hope we have addressed you query adequately.Look forward to host you soon

Thanks with best regards,
Farida Khan
Front Office Manager
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We checked in late evening and we were given a room promptly. I felt the corridor and the room had faint smell of smoke. Asked the accompanying staff if it is smoking room and he mentioned it is not.
A peek at the room - bed, small side table(with an ash tray...what the heck is it doing in a non-smoking room!!!) and another table for laptop with chair, flat screen tv with remote. A closet for storage which includes a safe. Bathroom was ok but the fixtures look old. Overall I felt the room was small and not clean/bright to my expectations(built from the pictures I saw in trip advisor).
Next, after we settled we realized that we cannot sleep because there is loud music heard in the room. Called up front desk and found out that there is a party going on 4th floor(current time 00:30 am) which will continue for another hour as per him. The staff person mentioned that they can shift me to another room. Got room on 1st floor(#111). This was better than earlier room - didn't have smoke smell, had additional chair and a bench. With some satisfaction felt we can rest for the day after a shower(had a long tiring day). Surprise, no hot water in the shower!!!. Was very tired to report to front desk and took shower with the non-hot water.
Come morning, the flush doesn't work. Called up front desk and they send a man, who sorted it out but he left the seat cover and surrounding with water sprayed. Didn't ever bother to swipe it clean.
Complimentary breakfast - they had continental and south Indian spread. Not very elaborate but decent to fill your stomach. Issues noticed is that the staff fails to fill the empty dishes on the spread, serve water on the table etc., I don't mind serving myself, so when I get up to get the water jug myself, the staff would run and take it from me to serve. They are very courteous but not attentive I feel.

So I would say I was disappointed on the first day of the stay and by next day I got used to the environment.
BTW there was hot water on the 2nd day.

Overall -

Pros:
1. 5 min walk to US consulate,
2. complimentary wifi
3. business center to browse or take print outs.
4. Staff that responds to concerns/requests

Cons:
Room itself!!! - needs maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ram Babu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings and Thank you for Evincing your interest with The Spring Hotel Chennai !

This has reference to your recent stay with us. Thank you indeed for sharing your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies towards the inconveniences caused.

We have noted your concerns regarding the maintenance of the Hotel and housekeeping service , Rest assured, we have taken up very strongly with the departments concerned and working towards rectification of the same immediately.

We kindly request you to give us an opportunity to overcome your concern and help us to serve you better next time. Furthermore, we assure you will find a notable improvement in our quality of services during your future visits.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our services and attention at all times.

With Warm Regards,
Farida Khan
Front Office Manager
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at The Spring Hotel for two days and two nights during our recent visit to Chennai. The hotel is in very close proximity to the US Visa Consulate (5 mins by walk) and the US visa OFC (10 minutes by auto rickshaw in peak traffic). It is approximately a 30 minute ride to the airport. The hotel property is relatively new, with a boutique feel. The staff at the reception desk, housekeeping division are all very welcoming and courteous. The room that we stayed in was very spacious, with clean linen, clean bathroom and toilets. The staff respected our privacy when it mattered.

During our stay we did get to try out The Movies restaurant. The hotel staff were well mannered and helpful. Both breakfast and lunch buffet spreads had a lot of options, but they were not extraordinary to taste. Breakfast buffet is complimentary for the guests. If you fancy to eat something which is not in the breakfast spread, the Chef will be happy to prepare it for you (e.g. dosa). The a la carte menu is more detailed and the food can be custom ordered to suit your palate - which I highly recommend.

Request a room in one of the higher floors.

Cons: The walls of the room are not sound proof, as we could hear the noises from the hallway late in the night. The restaurant room service is very slow, so if you are hungry I recommend you to go to the restaurant and grab a bite.

Near the hotel: There are good eating joints and restaurants within walking distance, for those who fancy to taste the South-Indian delicacies. We did not get a chance to explore the night life options, but there is a pub attached to the hotel. Travel options include auto-rickshaws that are available right outside the hotel. They tend to overcharge you if they know you are a guest at The Spring, so use your bargaining skills. The taxi ride to the airport at a nominal price can be arranged by requesting the reception desk few hours in advance.

Room Tip: Request a room in one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcmallya85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for sharing your review.We are pleased to hear that we met your expectation during you stay at our Hotel.

In addition this will also motivate the TEAM to improve further and also exceed the expectation as well.

Look forward to welcome you again at THE SPRING HOTEL.

Thanks with best regards,
Front Office Manager
CELL: 9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Park Chennai
#49 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,579 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#16 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
286 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chariot
#259 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
66 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
991 reviews
Nungambakkam
Treebo Elan
Treebo Elan
#115 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Property: The Spring Hotel
Address: No 11 Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing