We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Stay”
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Spring Hotel
Ranked #98 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Ghaziabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing Stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed for 1 night and it was wonderful. The look of the hotel was very good from inside, the food (Movies Restaurant) was awesome...especially starters.. The room (Deluxe Room) was cozy and service was wonderful... Slept like a baby..... Over all liked it and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Debasish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Family

Its a great pleasure for us to know that you had a nice and refreshing stay with The Spring Hotel.Thank you so much for sharing your comments and motivating the TEAM.

On behalf of the Team, we welcome you once again and have a memorable stay with us.

Looking forward for to meet you in person in your future visit.

Thanks with regards,
Farida Khan
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    110
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
44
38
40
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cochin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Touted as a boutique hotel in Chennai with a cinematic-take as a theme for their main restaurant, I found the Spring Hotel a rather good option for your stay. The room was clean and so were the linen supplied. The bathroom too was clean and well-maintained. Friendly staff both at the reception and in the restaurant and housekeeping. Good food at the restaurant; the unlimited punjabi chicken starters along with boiled egg fritters that was served to me was simply delicious and melting!

Perhaps, the spring is gradually letting the summer season in ......if you know what I mean! The "boutiqueness" of the boutique tag to the hotel name has started waning sadly...the projection quality in the The Movies restaurant is as outdated as the posters of the outdated stars and the movies of the yesteryears!

Spruce up folks, you have everything going good for you......just take care to improve the overall boutique-look!

I loved playing "finding the room number" game in your corridors!:) Crazy way of room numbering that made me smile with amusement:)

Room Tip: Take a look at the room before you move in......you will not be dissappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yongyongbomban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from The Spring Hotel Chennai,

At the outset thank you so much for your feedback and reviews shared online.

We have noted your ratings with regards to The Movies Restaurant and overall Boutique ambiance.We at The Spring Hotel always works towards the improvement and betterment for the Guest.

Thank you once again and looking forward to host you again in future.

Thanks with Regards,
Farida Khan
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Good hotel if you want to come for US visa, which is now a two day process. The OFC is 4 Kms away, you get a to and fro auto outside the hotel in Rs 250/Rs200. US Consulate is walkable, hardly 700 mts. Food is also decent (not very great), however I liked the ambience of the restaurant, a tribute to all oldie stars. Wifi is slow, and keeps on disconnecting. This is the only thing I didn't like in this hotel. So, in short for US visa related stuff, this hotel is a good deal. I searched online, but then called up and booked over phone, as it was cheaper that way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GurpreetS402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel Chennai.

First of all thank you very much for finding the time out and ratting our Hotel online.

Secondly it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at The Spring Hotel.

Look forward to host you soon.

Thanks with regards,
Farida Khan
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laidley, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I had a terrible time at this hotel. It came close to ruining India but we had mercifully positive experiences at the other places we stayed.

The room was foul. Disgusting, dank and damp. Bed was filthy, bathroom disgusting, plumbing ran all evening, bare wiring, jerry-rigged plumbing and one in three lamps functioning.
Incredibly rude night clerk - worst customer service we have experienced. Asked to call a particular cab for us but was informed we would have to use the hotel's company for an exorbitant fee. I asked for the number of the alternative company, he informed me I would need to look it up myself and hung up. Wi-fi not functional. Paid for breakfast but not available in the morning - same exceptionally rude clerk unable to assist.

In the end I lost my cool and caused a terrible scene which was poor on my behalf. The manager was called down and attempted to smooth things over (including calling a cab from the company we requested, at one fifth the cost enforced by the hotel) but was far too late. We checked out at 7am and spent an extra 5 hours at the airport instead. Location is terrible also - completely unsafe.

I have never experienced anything quite like this before - this was by far the worst accommodation we have ever endured.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizhef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel

We at Spring sincerely apologize for the unpleasant incident you had at our hotel. It is our highest priority to our guest with an exceptional stay experience and in this instance we certainly failed to do this. What you experience is totally unacceptable and we have already taken steps to ensure that this does not happen in our hotel again.

We have taken the issue very strongly with the concerned and assure you the best services in your future visit.

Hope this incident will not hold you against us and you will surely give us another chance to serve you better.

Look forward to meet you in person in your future visit.

Warm Regards,
Farida Khan
Front Office Manager
955166088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Almere, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 13 days. The rooms were comfortable and spacious enough. The staff were very friendly and I felt safe as a woman alone. Although the breakfast was good, the room service was not which was ordered on the day of arrival. The potatoes in my Dum Aloo were almost raw. When I brought this to their attention, it was replaced with something else 'on the house'. There was no hot water but tepid with very little pressure. All in all, there might have been drawbacks but the staff took care of each and every complaint immediately. Housekeeping was good and so were the staff at the Reception, the restaurant and the gates.

Tips:
- Do add South Indian tiffin varieties to the room service menu for people like me who don't eat much in the evening.
- Please make a proper wi-fi available. This for me would be the only negative point with this hotel.
- Please place a tip box at the Reception so that it can be divided among each one who make the guest's stay comfortable. This scenario will avoid people coming to the door even after 10pm.

I enjoyed my stay and the attention. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borgt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel Chennai

At the outset please allow me to thank you for the comments shared and also please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We at The Spring always works towards the betterment and continues improvement.Your feedback has helped us and we have taken a strong action on it.

We assured you will find a positive improvement in your future visit.

Look forward to host you again.

Thanks with regards,

Farida Khan
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we have stayed in this hotel for 2days. rooms are spacious but not clear at all . the showers are not working properly. had to wait long time for hote water at the show.

House Keeping service is very bad service , restaurant was spacious and quality of food was good.

If you want to stay in prime location , then I recommend this but don't expect the rooms to look as good as it looks at their website . just an average 2 star catagory hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel,

First of all thank you very much for your valuable feedback , we have noted your ratings on our House Keeping and Maintenance services.Not only that we also have taken serious action against the concerned.

We highly regret the inconvenience caused to you, kindly accept our sincere apologies and give us another chance to serve you better.

We at Spring work towards the betterment of the quality and ensure the positive changes in your future visit.

Look forward to meet you in person.

Thanks with regards,
Farida Khan
Front Office Manager
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Do not get deceived by the photos put on by management. This hotel is quite old and it reflects on almost everything and everywhere.

Breakfast was unimpressive; overall quality of food is bad.

But you may not want to discard this hotel as it is close to US Consulate. If you looking for overnight stay and paying less than INR 3500 then go for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikashShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel Chennai,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your guest experience at the Spring. We regret for the inconvenience caused to you at the same time we would like to inform you that we are in the process of renovating the rooms and i am sure that you would find the remarkable difference in your future visits.

As far as Food and Service is concerned , we have taken up the issue very strongly with the concerned and will surely work towards the betterment.

Once again thank you for sharing your concerns and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Looking forward to meet you in person in next visit

Kind regards

Farida Khan
Front Office Manager
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Park Chennai
#49 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,582 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#16 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
287 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chariot
#260 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
66 reviews
Nungambakkam
Treebo Elan
Treebo Elan
#106 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
53 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Property: The Spring Hotel
Address: No 11 Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing