We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An actual organic farm at the edge of the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Farm
Ranked #13 of 361 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An actual organic farm at the edge of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

[crossposted from zomato] The rating is as much for the experience as for the food. The food was excellent and we tend to be critical of outside food in general. But the point is, this place is, literally, a farm, and the owners are happy to show you around. We saw their (free-range) chickens, their buffaloes, their turkeys, their crops of bitter gourds, okra, corn etc, their cows, their horses. And our dog was welcome there. They also sell their own (organic) produce, milk products, and other things. Go if you want a relaxed and enjoyable afternoon not far from the city, and don`t worry about the food, it`s perhaps not as fancy as some elite places in the city, but it`s certainly healthier and most definitely delicious, and anyway it`s not the point of the place. Oh, all right. It has a very large list of pizzas (which we didn't try, since we`re going gluten-free), numerous other continental-inspired dishes, and some Indian items. We had a vegetable bake, a grilled pomfret, a paneer steak, and a chocolate mousse, all of which merit a thumbs-up.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rsidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
20
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Farm is a very good place for a family outing within city where you can easily spend
4-5 hours in a relaxed green atmosphere.

It would be a very good attraction for children and particularly small toddlers who would
have not got a chance to see Chickens, Roosters, Buffalo`s in person and very close.
They have horses aswell and horse riding is definitely a hit with kids. Its spread across
many acres and you can freely roam around and relax near the lake area.

The food offered there is pretty decent and caters to people who does not stick to "give
me just idly/dosa" types. Childrens can get their hands with Pizza making.

The people who run the show Arul and Shalini are really very hospitable and address your
every need. Its interesting to note that they charge only for the food and you can explore
the farm more without paying anything extra. They even offer a snooker table and a good
shuttle to play aswell.

They do have a small splash pool however it was not functional when we were there.

Its defintiely for small family with kids or for people who want to wander close to the nature.

Keep your expectations low and you would be pleasantly surprised and infact enjoy your
trip to the Farm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijay_Narayanan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

The farm is conveniently located and works as a wonderful option for a day long outing. We went there for lunch and the food was delicious, hot and quick. The service was warm and attentive. We went there on a weekday, so we had the whole place to ourselves. The restaurant area is very welcoming and well done up. The kids made their own pizzas and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. They went on a farm walk and fed the chickens and calves and also enjoyed meeting the horses. The splash pool was not functional, but that would be a wonderful added attraction for the kids. All in all we spent a lovely afternoon eating and enjoying the farm life. It rained and that kind of added to the charm of the place. The only problem was that the toilet was not clean enough. Hopefully, the owners will have that corrected.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayatri1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great food, ambience and wonderfully located. Loved the experiance and will go back several times more!!

The food requires special mention as the quality was really good and well presented too. The staff were courteous and well mannered, knowledgeable too as their recommendations were really good.

The location was great and very well maintained. It was pleasure going there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

A friend had recommended us to it...but asked us not to expect too much and get disappointed. Felt I had to write this review...as the effort gone into this place speaks of genuine passion..but seriously want the owners to work on the logistics so that the experience isn't spoilt.

Pleasantly surprised by little things
- the well ventilated cool dining area
- Kids allowed to make their own pizzas - THEIR BIGGEST USP
- the hens , cows wandering around...felt good to let my kids have this experience...a big change from shopping malls, fine dining places, video games, etc
- their yogurt ...the best we had ever tasted
- loved their parathas and wood baked pizzas too
- the splash pool...my kids ganged up with the other kids who were visited and they had a ball of a time

Need to work on
- restrooms....THIS SHD BE TAKEN AS PRIORITY
- more people for service..there were 50 pax dining at the same time..but only 2 waiters

Salute the passion of the owners again to try and make this concept work with the resource restraints....

and definitely going back again another time....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank preeti_ecoindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arpora, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent two nights at The Farm in March and loved it. The experience of living on a working farm with horses and cows and chickens was unique and our only regret was that our son wasn't with us. The owners are a hands-on family that know and love their property and are happy to share it with visitors.

The rooms are large with wonderfully comfortable mattresses and cooled by super efficient air-conditioners -- a blessing in the blazing Chennai heat. They are thoughtfully equipped with tea/coffee supplies so you don't have to make a trek to the common dining area if you are an early riser like me.

The Farm has 12 rooms and a restaurant. There were a bunch of interesting people staying over when we were visiting including an Italian cheesemaker from Auroville so one evening we had the most amazing pizzas with an assortment of cheeses as a special treat at dinner. That the restaurant is filled to capacity with locals and IT professionals from the surrounding area at lunchtime is a measure of how popular it is, especially on the weekends.

It is the perfect place for kids to get to know nature and Arul and Shalini, the enthusiastic young couple who manage the show have plans to start a summer camp for kids in the near future. We are surely going to be regular visitors here -- the next time with a bunch of kids in tow!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoanBananas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

The farm is not a place for people used to restaurant dining, or looking for a resort...for casual dining, in the outdoors, this is a great place. Small, and well maintained, you need to call in to pre-book as limited food is prepared. A great place to hang out as a group, or for family...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ar_di_gomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
0.0 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.0 mi away
MGM Eastwoods
MGM Eastwoods
#67 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#16 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pleasant Days Resort
Pleasant Days Resort
#68 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Meadows Resort
Green Meadows Resort
#175 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm

Property: The Farm
Address: 1-277 Semancheri Village | Old Mahabalipuram Road, Chennai (Madras) 600119, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 361 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing