We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Farm
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Kohinoor Asiana Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FabHotel OMR Sholliganallur(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
TGI Inn Iberis(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gokulam Park Sabari - OMR(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citadines OMR Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Chennai OMR(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
17
24
3
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
24
3
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrue to its namedomestic animalsfarm experiencefarm walkmust visit placehigher sideget togetherpetsgheechennai
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

US traveller, frequent visitor to India; stayed two months at The Farm in Nov./Dec. 2013 with colleagues and family while visiting local institute in nearby SIPCOT IT park, and really hated to leave! Incredible food, comfortable and beautiful location with a lot of character, everybody was so nice and helpful---and always something going on and interesting things to do! It's a bit far from the center city so going into town can be something of a trek, but very convenient for my daily commute to SIPCOT. Very relaxed environment but very high standards of comfort and service. Doggone it, now writing this review here in freezing blizzardy upstate New York has made me think about the lovely South Indian flowers and birds and trees and butterflies and all the charm of The Farm, and I'm missing being there! I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

[crossposted from zomato] The rating is as much for the experience as for the food. The food was excellent and we tend to be critical of outside food in general. But the point is, this place is, literally, a farm, and the owners are happy to show you around. We saw their (free-range) chickens, their buffaloes, their turkeys, their crops of bitter gourds, okra, corn etc, their cows, their horses. And our dog was welcome there. They also sell their own (organic) produce, milk products, and other things. Go if you want a relaxed and enjoyable afternoon not far from the city, and don`t worry about the food, it`s perhaps not as fancy as some elite places in the city, but it`s certainly healthier and most definitely delicious, and anyway it`s not the point of the place. Oh, all right. It has a very large list of pizzas (which we didn't try, since we`re going gluten-free), numerous other continental-inspired dishes, and some Indian items. We had a vegetable bake, a grilled pomfret, a paneer steak, and a chocolate mousse, all of which merit a thumbs-up.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank rsidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Farm is a very good place for a family outing within city where you can easily spend
4-5 hours in a relaxed green atmosphere.

It would be a very good attraction for children and particularly small toddlers who would
have not got a chance to see Chickens, Roosters, Buffalo`s in person and very close.
They have horses aswell and horse riding is definitely a hit with kids. Its spread across
many acres and you can freely roam around and relax near the lake area.

The food offered there is pretty decent and caters to people who does not stick to "give
me just idly/dosa" types. Childrens can get their hands with Pizza making.

The people who run the show Arul and Shalini are really very hospitable and address your
every need. Its interesting to note that they charge only for the food and you can explore
the farm more without paying anything extra. They even offer a snooker table and a good
shuttle to play aswell.

They do have a small splash pool however it was not functional when we were there.

Its defintiely for small family with kids or for people who want to wander close to the nature.

Keep your expectations low and you would be pleasantly surprised and infact enjoy your
trip to the Farm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vijay_Narayanan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The farm is conveniently located and works as a wonderful option for a day long outing. We went there for lunch and the food was delicious, hot and quick. The service was warm and attentive. We went there on a weekday, so we had the whole place to ourselves. The restaurant area is very welcoming and well done up. The kids made their own pizzas and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. They went on a farm walk and fed the chickens and calves and also enjoyed meeting the horses. The splash pool was not functional, but that would be a wonderful added attraction for the kids. All in all we spent a lovely afternoon eating and enjoying the farm life. It rained and that kind of added to the charm of the place. The only problem was that the toilet was not clean enough. Hopefully, the owners will have that corrected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayatri1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great food, ambience and wonderfully located. Loved the experiance and will go back several times more!!

The food requires special mention as the quality was really good and well presented too. The staff were courteous and well mannered, knowledgeable too as their recommendations were really good.

The location was great and very well maintained. It was pleasure going there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews