We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed during my Second Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lotus Service Apartments
Ranked #79 of 366 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed during my Second Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

This was my second stay in this Hotel based on the excellent experience I had during my first stay. I was utterly disappointed this time.
1. The service was pathetic. I had to call room service couple of times and then remind reception before I could be attended to.
2. There was no cable TV. Tata Sky was just being installed during my stay and even after installation I couldnt watch basic Channels like Colors or any of the music channels as they were not subscribed to.
3. There was so much noise in the corridors and it was just impossible to get a peaceful sleep.
4. I am sure I will not be staying there during my next visit to Chennai.

Room Tip: During my both stays I was given a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidsKaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Service Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
6
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Good staff, enjoyed the stay, helpful staff and easy access for major locations in city. Good for short stay, prefer deluxe or junior suite, standard rooms are too small. Bathrooms are ok not too clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VikSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Service Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had been to a professional conference and arrangements of stay were made by hosts at this place. It appeared to be a residential building, but internal arrangement was like hotel.
Good place for short stay and was near the conference venue. The room had single bed with all necessary requirements viz: wardrobe, good no. of lights, split A.C, TV, and a very good toilet with soap, towels, bath mat etc. Did not try breakfast of food and menu appeared to be costly. The cost was not comparable with hotels where rooms are bigger with more services and amenities, but felt was high. Waiting to see other service apartments as not seen so far.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashok_kelkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Service Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Good value for money. Definately would recommend this place to anyone. Much better than other hotels in Chennai. I was a lone, female traveller and felt safe. Good for short business trip or transit. Good airport pick up and drop (they charge for this service). Clean rooms and bathrooms well appointed, AC, mineral water, newspaper, tea, coffee and kettle. Efficient reception namely Jagdish very polite. Ask for a discount when you book.

Breakfast suggestions are - more variety of tea for example herbal teas or earl grey. Filter coffee was much too strong. Room service restaurant food may be spicy ask for no chilli or less spice. Good vegetarian options and accomodating. Places to eat around are Palli Bazar around the corner about 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alisonedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Service Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a Serviced Apartment of the GRT group which also has a full fledged hotel in T Nagar. We chose this Serviced Apartment mainly because of this. However, the experience was quite disappointing. To start with, it is not easy to locate the place - not because of its location but because of the way the Hotel staff try to direct you. The Reception desk is a complete waste of time. Be it a wake up call or arranging an auto for going to the Railway station - they have a way of messing up. The rooms are too basic for the price they charge. Though the TV is flat screen, they still have a poor cable service. The bathroom fittings are still quite rusty and the water pressure in the bathroom is quite slow. We just didn't have hot water on both the days. The breakfast is quite a disaster. Since they serve only vegetarian food, don't expect even eggs. The only saving grace is the restaurant called Chennai - 24 next to it. We had lovely vegetarian food which is very typical of Tamilnadu.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iyengars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

it was a very good stay.there were neat and well maintained rooms.the location was also impressive as it was near the the citys best shopping area that is t nagar.good for people who enjoy shopping.the breakfast was not as good as the other services but it was worth it.

Room Tip: people who want to do their own cooking can choose rooms with kitchen cabinets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodgoodgood779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Service Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Modern hotel, conveniently located near the main market and not to far from T Nagar bus stand. Quiet location which is good given the noise in Chennai.
The room was very clean, spacious enough and recently redecorated.
The buffet breakfast (vegetarian) has a fair selection.

Not easy to find though. We arrived late at night and the taxi driver had to turn several time around before finding it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Service Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Lotus Hotel Sameera
#94 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
The Lotus Serviced Apartments
#9 of 618 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Teynampet
Sona's Inn Chennai
Sona's Inn Chennai
#204 of 366 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Springhaven
#1 of 366 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Nungambakkam
Avenue 11
Avenue 11
#4 of 366 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lotus Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Service Apartments

Property: The Lotus Service Apartments
Address: No 15 Venkatraman Street | T. Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lotus Service Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lotus Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing