We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nightmare for Families”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel
Ranked #297 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My two cents on this hotel: "Avoid" this hotel, especially if you are traveling with your family. I would never come back to this hotel given the terrible experience I had during my stay here with my wife and three year old kid.

Firstly, next to the reception area and the hotel’s own restaurant, “Karma”, there is an annoying loud pub (called "Turf Club"). The dizzying loud noise from the pub echoes throughout the entire hotel. It was impossible to have dinner with my family in “Karma", due to the mindless decibel level of noise from the pub. Forget about dinner, the waiter could barely hear us due to the uncontrolled noise pollution in the vicinity. I wonder how the planning for this hotel was done. Whoever did it, made a terrible mistake of having a "loud" youth-friendly pub near the reception area and the restaurant.

Secondly, the amenities in our room were plenty but were awfully out of order. I recall I had to call maintenance (around 6 to 7 times) to fix various things during our very first day of stay. The DVD Player was not working, most of the popular Hindi channels were blocked ("They are not allowed here," as per the maintenance guy of the hotel, which prides itself as a 4-Star category hotel in an IT savvy city, Chennai.). To add to our woes, the hot water was intermittent in the bathroom, the internet Wi-Fi was dropping now and then, the AC controls were quirky, and the elevators stop functioning during a power cut.

The only thing I liked about the hotel was is its location (very close to beach) and the decor of the rooms, which I found contemporary and modern.

Thirdly, the food is overly expensive in its own restaurant "Karma" as well as in Zaica, the leased roof top restaurant. At this price, you have better options outside, both in terms of quality, variety and ambiance.

Lastly, a note on the check in experience, I feel it can be professional and should seriously make strides to do something about making guests feel at home during check-in. When we reached the hotel after a long drive from Bangalore, the entrance to the hotel was blocked by a water tanker. We had to get out of the car and walk around the tanker to get inside the hotel. Well, soon after that, the reception lady did not bother to welcome or greet us and bluntly asked for our photo IDs. The entire experience of the check-in process was "unprofessional" (long wait for the keys, hotel reception did not us feel at home)

To wrap up, avoid this hotel to spare yourself the nightmare I had to go through. You can “google” for a better hotel in Chennai.

Room Tip: Well, in case you do choose to stay in this hotel, ask for a Sea Facing Room. Make sure you verify a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssray23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewaterinaGM, General Manager at Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest noted your Review we have made a sound proofing at our Club to avoid noise traveling outer area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Pros:
Location - Right on the beach on the BPO IT side of town (20mins commute to Tidel Park/IT Corridor)
Nicely presented rooms & common areas
Excellent internet connection
Popular in-hotel nightclub (and good room soundproofing)
Stunning views from the rooftop pool/restaurant

Cons
Poor food choice and quality - particularly in the breakfast buffet
Shower hot water tap rarely hot (just once during a 5 day visit)
Water pressure problems at peak morning hours
Cable TV reception is patchy
Service. Service is actually good, however this place suffers a lot more than most of the "groups-of-staff-hanging-around-staring/giggling-at-the-westerner" problem. I would not be comfortable spending any time in the common areas of this hotel.

Other:
1 major issue that will definitely stop me bringing my family here: The rooftop restaurant/pool has no barrier on the pool-side of the building. More importantly, the barrier around the remainder of the rooftop is missing a few bars - this is an lethal accident waiting to happen. Just the right height for a toddler to fall through!

Room Tip: Sea view/Garden view rooms makes no difference. The sea view rooms actually face a block of apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewaterinaGM, General Manager at Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest
Thanks for your comments we have noted your suggestion.
A full new breakfast menu is being implemented which will cater for all kinds of guest.
Special preference are taken from our chef at the time of Breakfast and served
Hot water system has been rectified
staff are being trained and your comments has been discussed in our training class in staff meetings.
The roof top area was under renovation at the time of your visit your suggestions are been taken into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

LE Waterina is situated on the beachfront of Thiruvanmiyur. I stayed here during a visit for work in July 2011. The hotel is a mixed bag - it actually looks better in photographs. What works in favor of the hotel is the superb location - it's on a relatively clean beach (if you ignore the fishing village a couple hundred meters to the right as you walk along the beach after exiting the hotel). It also serves passable breakfast fare, the choice is very very limited though. The beds are clean and comfortable.

Now, for the long list of negatives - the wifi doesnt work and the staff has no interest or apitude in fixing when it doesnt work. The service can be called average at best (they will be courteous to you and nice but dont have a clue how to run a hotel - not efficient or prompt at all). The food for breakfast, items that are usually served fresh need to be asked for repeatedly and and then waited for, patiently.

Overall, an average experience but the sea has it's own charm .... oh, and the roof top swimming pool is nicely maintained and in the evenings, the rooftop restaurant is a romantic place to have a quiet meal.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for sea facing rooms to get a view of the sunrise. I did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AroraVaibhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewaterinaGM, General Manager at Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest
Thanks for your suggestion.
Looking at our response on your suggestion and reply you will come to know things our changed at Le Waterina

You will find a lot more changes
Thanks for your valuable time and your Suggestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Had been here couple of times and every time it was just the beach view which dragged me to this place.
The food is so pathetic.
The service is bad even when there is never a time where more than 2 tables are occupied.
Its the most perfect place to have a restaurant in chennai but they went so wrong on the food.
They can't even get a basic dal fry right, then you can imagine how bad the other dishes be.
Very heavy on the pocket for nothing.
You pay only for the view you get to experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewaterinaGM, General Manager at Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest
Thanks for your Review. We have changed our menu and it is being operated by well trained staff.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back at “Le Waternia”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Gud restaurant located at thiruvanmiyur.. Nice place to hangout with friends with great sea view... went thrice.. but felt the food was gud during the 3rd visit only... High cost for chennaites.. may be due to locality n ambience... etc.. Overall OK..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0keshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewaterinaGM, General Manager at Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest
We have noted you suggestion. Thanks for your valuable time in sharing your views

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Went with friends near to new year...
Awesome food was delivered, the service was great.. Dont forget to try Mutton galote kebab..
They come with parathas, they were just awesome...
You get beer also in the restraunt. Moreover the view is just great u can hear the sea waves feel the breez. A must go place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank abhishek_anand11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewaterinaGM, General Manager at Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest thanks for your Review
We at “Le Waternia” would be honoured to play host to managers from your company and to your guests in the future.
Please feel free to contact me, should you require any assistance.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back at “Le Waternia”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Booked a suite room at this beachside property via Manager Prabhu who impressed us by his polite ways & response to query . As discussed in this forum , it was a little difficult to find the place once we turned off the main road, but we were guided down by the front office efficiently.
We are a large family of 4 (kids both teenagers) and the room with two bathrooms was very spacious, clean , stylish with a wow factor ! The bath with jacuzzi was stocked with the best toiletries , and energy lighting system with sensors was a novel experience.

The roof top terrace pool and Zaika restaurant looks very hip at night and the ocean views are simply grand .
The food could have been better , and perhaps live cooking counters would hav have added to the ambience.
The spa is simply couple of well furnished massage rooms with ensuite bath, but the service was extremely efficient and relaxing .
Overall , we were truly glad we were able to give the central hot dusty city a miss , at the same time drive leisurely to Adyar , Guindy etc for treating ourselves to a KFC meal and yet be back in time . The airport is just about 30mins away .

Thank You , Mr.Prabhu and team for a great time and we will definitely recommend the place to our friends who come on business to Chennai . Hope to try the resort at Sriperumbadur the next time ....

Room Tip: Suite rooms and ocean facing ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PillaiSuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Keys Hotel Katti Ma, Chennai
#57 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
225 reviews
Somerset Greenways Chennai
#34 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
315 reviews
VGP Golden Beach Resort
#217 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CRESCENT iNN (Le Park Inn)
#78 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
84 reviews
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
#21 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,389 reviews
Adyar
Raj Grand-Days
Raj Grand-Days
#8 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel

Address: Kaveri Nagar No 35 Waterland Drive Near Bella Ciao | Kottivakkam Beach, Chennai (Madras) 600041, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £64 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing