We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should not be open for business”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel
Ranked #314 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We just goy back from Le Waterina - Boutique Hotel in Chennai. The hotel is not ready to be open for business!

The good things about the hotel are that it is located along a beach and that the room design is very nice and roomy.

It advertizes a coffee shop but there is no coffee shop and we also did not see a fitness center. Breakfast was boxed food, served in the room, although there was nothing to tell you that you had to order. We waited 45 minutes for cornflakes, a cold egg and store-bought muffins. There is however a bar and that seems to be its focus.

There is very strange lighting - some of it automatic - such as if you get up during the night lights immediately come on. You have to ask to get the lights on in the hall. Windows are still leaking in the rain and there is construction going on around the windows. The first morning there was no hot water in one of the rooms. No newspaper, no slippers to go with the bathrobe

The parking lot is an unpaved yard shared with the cows. It is isolated so there are no easy options for outside food and no public tranportation. I

We stayed one night, went out of town the second, and tried to cancel but it had been pre-booked through an online service.

We do not know how it received three or four stars since it had none of the services expected of even a 3 star hotel. The safety features are lacking - one elevator and no easy stair access for guests, even though it is only three stories high. It is also no at all green

NOT EVEN RECOMMENDED FOR ANY ENEMY

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No_lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

The hotel is not big, it has roof swimming pool and stylish entrance - that is the boutique part :). Although it was not spotless, the hotel was still very clean and neat, especially for Indian standards. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, bathroom also large and modern. The first room we were put in had a strange smell, but after we complained we were immediately moved.
The location is an issue. It is nice, as it is just like 200meters from the beach, but it is also far from Madras center and it the traffic there, it would really take you time, to get somewhere to the city. Also on the first arrival it took us some time to find the hotel.
So overall it is a really good possibility if you want smaller hotel out of Madras, and it is good starting point for Mahabalipuram. Just dont expext too much :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyMorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I went there along with 7 friends of mine... they have only buffets and no a la carte. We had no option then to go in for the buffet.. The food was pathetic .they claimed to have 9 non veg varieties and altogether 28 varieties not one dish tasted good. only the icecream was nice. and the service was horrible not a single attender or waiter came to our table to even clear out the plates. we had to everytime shout and call out for people to come and serve us water etc.. one of my friend asked for roti s and nans five times finally he got it when he finished his deserts and ice creams. we will never go there again only the location was good by the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chintu229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Was tired of the big 5 star hotels on IT highway, so a colleauge suggested Le Waterina. New and very spacey it can hold it's own agains the luxary hotels at a fraction of the price.
Travelling on the ECR in the morning means no traffic jam and location has the additional advantage of actually being able to go outside for a walk/run on the beach and to visit a couple of restaurants nearby.
Only issues holding back the 5th star are a limited breakfast menu with slow serving in the room and sometimes the bass from the club downstairs (Karma) can be heard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I have stayed in this Hotel during my business visit to Chennai in Oct 2009.
This hotel provides well comfortable bed, excellent room service and also a well cleaned hotel.
one should must go the restaurent of this hotel which provides very nice food.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ирина Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Royapettah
Esthell Continental Hotel
Esthell Continental Hotel
#312 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
64 reviews
Keys Hotel Katti Ma, Chennai
#50 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
249 reviews
Gokulam Park Sabari - OMR
#43 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mylapore
Sangeetha Sea View
Sangeetha Sea View
#249 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
14 reviews
Besant Nagar
R.M.C Travellers Inn
R.M.C Travellers Inn
#244 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
16 reviews
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Waterina The Boutique Hotel

Address: Kaveri Nagar No 35 Waterland Drive Near Bella Ciao | Kottivakkam Beach, Chennai (Madras) 600041, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing