We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service with a homely touch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annsun Boutique Hotels

Annsun Boutique Hotels
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Annsun Boutique Hotels
Ranked #15 of 362 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service with a homely touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

It's a boutique hotel in a residential area. If you are expecting a full fledged hotel environment please avoid this place. But, instead if you want a relaxing stay with a homely touch this is the place for you. I stayed here for 3 nights while on a business trip to Chennai. The rooms are nice and spacious will all basic amenities. The staff was very helpful and service was quick. The breakfast was decent, however, I didn't have any meal in the hotel so can't comment on the food quality.
There are also couple of very good restaurants 10 min walk down the hotel where one can savour the local cuisine.

The only issue was that there was a lot of voltage fluctuation during the evening and I could have very well done without that.

In totality, it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend the place to those who are in search for calm, peaceful stay at a 'not-so-high' price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kagzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    37
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
17
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at Annsun while I was traveling on work to Chennai. Though it was a bit off the main city and my work place I decided to stay here. The crew at Annsun is very uncomplicated and hospitable while the place just feels like home. The bathroom is not so roomy but for the rest it is simply the best. The trees covering the facade of the house-looking structure make the stay very pleasant. The elevator may be a slight concern if you are put up in the first floor, else this is truly a great place to stay at!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merl_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel for couple of days, Annsun is situated in very calm locality of Chennai and its very close to Elliots beach. Annsun Customer service was excellent they even picked calls at 5 in morning when we tried to reach them at their mobile numbers. Rooms were very well maintained.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mahesh_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

The staff at the Annsun make the hotel. The service I received there was impeccable - friendly, helpful (never told that anything asked for wasn't possible), and staff went way beyond the call of duty to provide personal service at all times, organising phone cards, printing, and helping out even after we had left the hotel. The rooms are immaculate, comfortable and well designed. Great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macbeth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamil Nadu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a week or so. I have nothing but great appreciation for the employees and the impeccable service they provided. The staff at the hotel cater to the individual needs of the guests which I cannot expect from a major chain hotel. They went above and beyond to our requests during the stay there which makes me say that is was truely a home away from home. If you want no hassles during your stay and your visit to Chennai is in the surrounding area, I will definetely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

had a doubt in mind before i stepped in to see how neat and clean this boutieque hotel was. good staff and at the right location. the rooms were clean and i could expect the stds of a good hotel overseas. i would recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel is not AT ALL what the nice pictures of their website suggest. I am getting fed up of the "boutique" denomination for hotels that just hide their poor standard by three trendy vases and modern lampshades. This place is a shabby low standard hotel, don't get fooled by the pictures.
I arrived tired at night in a strangely empty hotel (no other customer...) and was given a room downstairs because the lift was broken.
I got no internet connection - was not working either.
Got a poor dinner of chapatis , rice and dhal. But the worse was to come. I could not sleep a single minute during the night, as I got constantly hassled by the colony of mosquitoes that seem to live in the rooms --I mean dozens of them. The staff doesn't spray any repellent and leave the doors open at night . So the place is filled with fierce mosquitoes.
After this terrible night - I killed quite a few enemies but many of them were still alive - I got up exhausted in the morning at 8.00 to get breakfast. As I saw no one around, I had a look at the kitchen in order to call someone and was terrified.at the look of it (dirt, dirt, dirt...). It then took me ten minutes to swallow a poor coffee and leave immediately. Just avoid this place !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank friendofindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Adyar
AMS Raj Palace Sundar
AMS Raj Palace Sundar
#50 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#21 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#53 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annsun Boutique Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annsun Boutique Hotels

Property: Annsun Boutique Hotels
Address: 101 4th Main Road | Gandhi Nagar, Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600020, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Adyar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 362 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Annsun Boutique Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Annsun. Chennai's prime luxury escape in the heart of the urban hub. Annsun Boutique Hotel is built as a hotel with an air conditioned dining, reception and one guest room located in the ground floor. The first and second floor can be accessed by the elevator which has 3 rooms each. The third floor has one spacious room with the private roof garden.Public spaces are fully-air conditioned. All rooms are NON SMOKING. A library nook has books and magazines on travel and nature for reference. A computer with free internet connectivity is available for all guests. Breakfast is served in the dining area. Guests have a choice of full-Western or Indian breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Annsun Boutique Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing