We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Ranked #30 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good place for a conference hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here for five nights while attending a conference. The hotel is good with decent sized rooms, a good pool, plentiful choice at breakfast and helpful staff. The hotel restaurant is also very acceptable. We were shocked at the cost of two small glasses of wine (and not special wine either). So be careful about ordering wine here. Other that that we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the swimming pool. Most rooms face this way. We were happy with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    402
    138
    70
    40
See reviews for
171
88
47
751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hyatt Regency.. 5 star property, it usually lives up to it..
Few comments - Rooms.. spacious, nice amenities and excellent views, but could have improved the decor.. Vacant walls, no flowers in the room.
Room service -- Ok food, but they seem to discourage you from ordering anything there.. (Sir, order will take minimum 45 to 60 mins).
Front Desk -- Friendly, polite and eager to help.. But I had to carry my luggage to my room (no complaints but worth mentioning)
Breakfast -- Nice spread and usually friendly staff, but there are some who do feel that its a pain to serve you and then it takes the charm out of the whole exercise.
Special mention of the restaurants -- Amazingly good food and the staff do make exceptions to ensure that you are comfortable. (The Italian Restaurant was really nice)
The lifts seem to be missing the AC flow, its really quite warm while using the lifts.

Overall a mixed experience, more on the pleasant side. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Sumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. your thoughtful comments will help us serve you better during your next stay. Stay assured we will take the necessary corrective measures based on your feedback to make your next stay more comfortable

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I Happened To Stay Here Few Days Back and It was an utter bliss. The Staff were courteous and the stay was made extremely wonderful. The Best is the Amazing Decor, Ambiance and the amazing artworks at their in-house dining and breakfast spot and all over the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with the community. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and kind appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have stayed in many Hyatts and they are usually so good! Which is why this was such a disappointment. When you first walk in, it looks lovely...with a wide open reception area and a pleasing smell of jasmine. My friend booked the Hyatt for me, hoping that I would be comfortable there but it was the worst stay of my trip. The room smelled very musty and stale, the shower was dirty, and there were bugs flying around in the room. My air conditioning never rose above 24 degrees, even though I had multiple service men up to fix it. Eventually I just gave up. I also ordered room service and the food was horrible. I ended up ordering french fries out of desperation and luckily those were pretty good. For the price we paid for the room, it was a huge disappointment. Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peachleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Stay assured that this was an unusual unpleasant occurrence and this is not the experience we offer to our valued guests at Hyatt. We appreciate your patronage to the brand and look forward to another opportunity to showcase our authentic hospitality promise y to you. We regret the inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you back soon. thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great hotel - the staff were fantastic. I go to chennai a lot and haven't stayed here until this week - really enjoyed it and will come again. They even chased me out the door when I forgot my credit card!! Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable comments and kind words. We are delighted to hear fro you as feedback only helps us serve you better during your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent a couple of nights here with a little baby and had one of the most relaxing holidays we have had so far. With not much to do and see in Chennai, we enjoyed the hotel facilities and loved it. We were given a crib for our baby to sleep on, so she was comfortable and so were we! Will probably go back soon for another relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your kind appreciation which will definitely go a long way to motivate our passionate associates. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was longing for a break after having a few hectic months at work.. was browsing thru the hotels in Chennai and after reading some interesting reviews of Hyatt, my sister and i thought we could give it a try..I would say i made a wise choice.. service was over the top.. room was great..check-in was smooth and fast, although it was a very early check-in, they still managed to accommodate us immediately.. just what we needed after a long nights of travel... i would like to give my credits to Mr.Murali (Asst Manager Housekeeping), he was extremely humble, friendly and efficient.. In general staffs of Hyatt are wonderful.. Will definitely be back again in my next visit.. Thanks again for the great stay...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DThanabalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear about your memorable stay and are indeed grateful for your thoughtful feedback and recommendation.We look forward to welcoming you again soon. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#11 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#23 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chennai

Property: Hyatt Regency Chennai
Address: 365 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai., Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Chennai, located on the iconic Anna Salai in the heart of Chennai is the perfect destination for authentic hospitality. From multiple F&B offerings - Indian, Italian, Sichuan Chinese, 24 hour dining, Buffet restaurant, Cafe, Gourmet Shop, lounge bar and more to the luxurious Siddh Spa and Fitness Centre - it is a complete destination for business as well as leisure. The multiple banquet and meeting spaces make it a perfect meeting destination. The hotel offers 327 rooms and suites, Siddh Spa and fitness centre, Spice Haat, Stix, Focaccia, 365 AS, Biscotti, Lobby Lounge and banquet spaces. Also signature food specials - Italian Pranzo - Saturday Brunch at Focaccia; Sichuan Sunday brunch at Stix; Perfect Sunday brunch at Spice Haat; Double Happy Hours at 365 AS and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing