We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, Look for better Deals”
Review of Ginger Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ginger Chennai
Ranked #98 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average, Look for better Deals”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Average Hotel, Economically priced but I know of better deals In chennai at same cost.
Rooms are neat but Food Is a major issue, if you are late to hotel you may need to skip the meal or be ready for a good walk to nearest eatery.

So if only there is no vacancy in other hotels of similar budget then only go for it else look for better deals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohitprakashmathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Chennai, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Mr.Rohit

Greetings from Ginger Chennai!!!

Thank you for the feedback. I am indeed disturbed to learn about your experience at Ginger Chennai. I would like to inform you that we have conducted an investigation based on your feedback and have initiated corrective actions to bring in the desired efficiency levels and ensure that there is no recurrence of the same. I have briefed the team to initiate corrective actions on the Issues mentioned.

It is through valuable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services and may I assure you that I am personally taking care of the points which you have explained. Please be informed that we have done the root cause analysis and assure such lapse will not be occurring in the future.

While once again regretting on behalf of all at Ginger Chennai for the inconvenience you have faced, may I request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.

I would like to request you to please accommodate our request of having you with us wherein my colleagues and I can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate corrective actions and re-establish our credibility with you.

We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback as it assists us in improving further. We assure you of the best of our services in future.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    63
    22
    35
See reviews for
28
8
23
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

As usual, it has everything we expect from Ginger group. It is hassle free hotel with all basic facilities. Previously also, we had good experience with Ginger at Rail Yatri Niwas, Delhi few years back.
Few of the rooms are smaller, but neat and clean, well maintained rooms. The usual stinking in hotel rooms is not there. The staff is cordial and always ready to help out of the way. View from our room was excellent. Gymnasium and room for Ironing cloths are well maintained. First aid box was having a good collection of required medicines. Wi fi facility was working well. They have two computers with internet facility for guests in waiting area.
First impression of the hotel was not good as the there is no signboard of hotel even in the complex where hotel is (against the picture shown in website). As usual, we were expecting a separate hotel building but it was in a complex. But once we reached 11th floor of the complex(where the hotel is), we were glad to experience the vast area, good ambiance and homely welcome. Many times the staff makes guests unhappy just for an extra towel which is the basic requirement, but we were happy not to face such small problems.
I was not happy with the travel desk as it was much costlier than fast track taxi services, so we preferred to call them.
Despite our stay for 6 days, we were not at all unhappy for a single moment at Hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavesh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have stayed in similar or lower budget hotels before and they are far better in hospitality and services. First of all, there is no inhouse restaurant; there is a 7 to 11 room service for dinner with only 1 or 2 choices plus ordering a pizza is much faster.
Everything you ask for takes more than 3 reminders and 30 minutes; be it a waterbottle or simple dinner. I am sure with the low budget they have there is much more that can be provided.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EVyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Try this hotel only if you are on a business visit and you just need a place to keep your bags somewhere until you get back.

The hotel does not provide you extra bottle of mineral water. When I asked for water they said there is a facility room and you can get water from bubble top. But yeah the facility room has bubble top/iron and

The food court in the ground floor is completely useless. you get nothing to eat there. Visit the food court only if you are dying out of hunger and want to grab some muffin/ sandwich. The coffees hop is the only outlet which serves you food. The other outlets in the food court are not operational.

The staff are not friendly either.

Suggestion: Visit only if you want a wash and change room near IT Hubs and expect nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genieprinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I highly recommend this Hotel chain as it is worth every penny. Most of all the Manager is very helpful. We would definitely stay again. I enjoyed the pleasant nature of all the staff. The staff demonstrated quality skills and were always there to assist your every need.

Room Tip: It is always best to choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Location is good, it is close to the IT hub - Tidel Park and RMZ Millenia Business Park. I had to work out of RMZ for 2 days, the negative point is that the hotel is a bit away from Main road. Hence eating food outside of the hotel will be an issue.

The room service comes from the food court at the ground floor and it does not have many options and only dinner is served...

Breakfast buffet was not included in my room price (INR 2199 plus taxes), and breakfast at food court costs INR 225 plus taxes.

Rooms are small, but adequate for a single person - neat and well maintained.

Will not recommend this place for stay beyond 2 days, as food and other local expenses will be higher.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Nice place, far from the city noise, maintaining the modern hospitality and cleanness.....
Few problem i noticed in 4 days was like rooms are small in the INR 3000, Tatasky can say bye anytime and same room are available in INR1280.00 too from some websites...only difference is breakfast not included..which can by added by paying extra INR180.00......

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manmohan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ginger Hotel Chennai
#108 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
113 reviews
Keys Hotel Katti Ma, Chennai
#54 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
212 reviews
The Metroplace Hotels
#47 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#75 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
57 reviews
Velachery
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apartments
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apart...
#89 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
48 reviews
Le Park Inn
#76 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Chennai

Property: Ginger Chennai
Address: IITM Research Park | Tharamani, Chennai (Madras), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ginger Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing