We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Laurels Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trident, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Accord Metropolitan(Chennai (Madras))
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
1
5
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
5
1
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The place has run down on facilities and service since my last visit a year back. The bathroom flush isn't working, the basin water doesn't clear up, the wi fi isn't working, the kitchen staff are totally uncooperative. The staff has no service orientation and will not bother to return service calls. Poor stay.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank sudhmoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The negatives about this hotel are are quite a few. I list a few below
- Disrespectful owner
- Horrible hospitality and the way guest is treated
- Location sucks, have to walk to get to the main road. No good restaurants or shopping locations near by.

Only positives
- Rooms are ok
- Cook is very courteous

Overall verdict - Below average, would not stay here again, avoid if possible.

Room Tip: Overall verdict - Below average, would not stay here again, avoid if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdTravels10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Laurels is a nice play to stay away from the noise of chennai. The rooms are big, with clean and comfortable bed, clean linens and friendly staff. The room has flat screen tv and has more than 200 channels, it has a mini fridge as well. The bathrooms are clean and has modern fittings.
The owners are very helpful and can be contacted at any time. I will certainly stay at The Laurels the next time and will recommend to friends.
One suggestion to the owners: Please place some signages at Gandhi mandapam road, the call taxi drivers could not locate this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balachander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Context: I am a UK resident. I stayed in Chennai on a work placement for 2 months in autumn 2011. My girlfriend came with me and spent the 2 months as leisure and vacation time.

History: This hotel has been around for a few years. In 2011 they were doing well and expanding into a second building.

Service: Overall good, not foreigner friendly, see below.

Facilities: Clean, lovely interiors. Common room with chairs and TV. Dining room. 24-hour guarded main gate.

Staff: Generally friendly. Little or no English. Unusual perception of privacy to a westerner (would just walk into your room, sometimes even without knocking).

Owners: Friendly and helpful. E.g. will navigate your taxi in over the phone if you struggle. Make an effort to accommodate a foreign (western) guest, but have little experience (have some regular Japanese guests).

Food: Nice breakfasts. Not good for lunch/dinner, since many things on the menu are missing (no paneer in the kitchen for 2 months), often the wrong order would come and whilst sometimes the meals were very nice, sometimes they were just awful. Free bottled water.

Cleanliness: Excellent. Daily cleaning.

Laundry service: Provided for a low per-garment fee, but rather brutal hand washing that will destroy your clothes after a number of washes.

Internet: Very reliable and fast wifi connection.

Missing amenities: Some basic things like a kettle for making tea, safe storage box.

Noise: Very quiet part of Chennai. Unfortunately when we were there, the building works were taking place, causing terrible noise for a large part of the day.

Location: Kotturpuram is a short rickshaw ride from the IIT campus, the Anna Library, shopping malls like Express Avenue and business parks around the IT Corridor like Ascendas, It's walking distance from the Anna University and the zoo of the Guindy National Park. It's a short walk to a few small supermarkets, a plenty of ATMs and one of the Apollo clinics with pharmacy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cream M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It is tucked away from the hustle bustle of the metropolitan city yet so close to the city center. The laurels is located in the posh residential area of Kotturpuram very close the Govt Library and some corporate biggies home.
The rooms are trendy, comfortable, spacious and though it may not look very new in the beginning but i don't think you will complaint after you get settled down. The rooms are spacious, every floor has a common guest / meeting area which is nice if you plan to have a meeting of sorts.
LCD TV with Tata Sky connection is definitely a plus.
Very nice approach by Mr. Prabakar the man who run the show, he is very friendly and accommodating.
All in all a great place to stay and will stay again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukumar_aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews