We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Sun Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Sun Serviced Apartments
Ranked #220 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Cochin, Kerala, India
1 review
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The rooms are very clean and the service provided are top class.
The room service is prompt.
Daily house keeping.
Paid laundry service.
They have multiple WiFi access points with multiple connections. Got speeds from 2mbps to 8mbps.
The only downside is the surroundings where the hotel is located. The surrounding marsh lands give off a very foul smell after sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renjith_I_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
25
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

I am from Mumbai came first time to Chennai and staying from 5 months in this service apartment i would say one of the best apartment in Chennai the service is excellent i suggest every one to stay in this apartment recently they started restaurant which serves finger liking food one should try it and all this in affordable price

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankitchahel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I was in Chennai for transit. My flight was delayed and I arrived to Chennai Airport at 1:40am. Taxi driver lost his way and I arrived to the hotel at 3:00am. As I experienced, It is located at country side - very close to the place where animals are sleeping at night time and only a few people are awake in the morning. So be careful when you arrive at the night time and make sure about your safety. I had no phone and it was kind of scary drive.

The hotel's 24 hours check out time system was a great thing so I didn't need to worry about the time to wake up and I could do something at the hotel while I waited for my depart time.

Nice view from the hotel. You can enjoy a country side view.

I hoped that the restaurant had more vegetarian menu...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymiller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed in red sun for a night in December . Lift was not working. In the first flat A/c was not working and Flat was not ready at all. They changed our flat.even in the next flat a/c Was not working. water heater was not working as well. Service was poor.
Overall we were not happy with the service at all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed overnight in a 2 br apartment. The unit we were given had a dirty looking bathroom with rust and other stains on the walls and toilet. I hosed down the entire bathroom with some success. The second bathroom looked cleaner but also had stains. The kitchen was bare with few dishes or pans. The bedrooms and living room were ok - slightly run down. The outside road was narrow, full of potholes and puddles. It appeared to be a dirt road, but actually was a paved road that had been torn up. Cows wandered along the garbage at the side of the road outside. There were mosquitos everywhere. This was the worst place we stayed during our 3 weeks in India.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krmtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Staying here will make you feel like you are marooned on Mars: the place is comfortable enough, but has an eerie, provisional sort of air, as if it had only just been constructed, and not completely finished (for instance, phones were installed in my suite after I checked in). Red Sun is about 15 minutes from Chennai airport, and is closer to Mahabalipuram than Chennai proper, but make no mistake: if you stay here, you can forget about doing much tourism in Chennai, as the main city is just too far away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We were just in Chennai for a quick stopover before catching our flight to Colombo. We would NOT stay here again. It was only 15 minutes from the airport which was handy but I’m sure there are better places to stay. If you look at the photos uploaded by the hotel on trip advisor and their website, the only picture that actually resembles what the hotel really looks like is the picture of the staircase. The pictures were nothing like the room we were given, which had no windows; there was lots of mosquitoes; the shower didn’t work and we had to get someone in to fix it; there weren’t basic supplies like toilet paper or a second towel supplied. When arriving at 11pm after a 7 hour train ride – we just wanted to flop into bed. When we did finally get to bed, the bed was still covered with the plastic wrapping…. Not a particularly comfortable sleep and it was squeaky. The young guy who runs it was nice and is obviously just setting up the hotel. And the price was exorbitant for what we got compared to other hotels in India and Sri Lanka. Definitely bargain with them and check out rooms before you agree to a price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jodieodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
10.5 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#200 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza
Hotel Royal Plaza
#76 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#53 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
6.9 mi away
FabHotel Blossoms T Nagar
FabHotel Blossoms T Nagar
#124 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
3.5 mi away
AVNB Towers Hotel
AVNB Towers Hotel
#272 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sun Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sun Serviced Apartments

Property: Red Sun Serviced Apartments
Address: No.287,Ma.Po.Si First Street | Sri Kamakotti Nagar, Pallikaranai, Chennai (Madras) 600100, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Sun Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redsun is an opulently designed serviced appartment setup in pallikaranai,near Velachery, neighboring many posh houses and apartments but yet is serene and unique both in the exterior of the structure as well as the comfort and care provided inside. Redsun currently offers Eight 3 BHK units and four 2 BHK units that provides the complete freedom of being at home. It also has round the clock front desk and security to help the guests. All units are designed with fully equipped Kitchenette consisting of Micro wave ,Induction Stove, Chimney Hood ,Refrigerator et al.Comfy couches and plush interiors with modular Tv units, dining table, wardrobes and dressing units.All apartments are more than 1500 Sq.ft in space are duplex type with internal stairway.All modern amenities and entertainment options are also provided.The property has another feather on its crown which is "SIMBA's REGALE- Multi Cuisine Restaurant". The restaurant has chic furnitures and the ambience is splendid. The restaurant serves Indian,chinese,Tandoor and wats more interesting is the Chefs are ready to cook and serve your own recipes.....The property also has three party halls namely Mulberry,Crimson&Lavender which can accomodate 100 to 125 seats each ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Sun Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing