We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Sun Serviced Apartments
Ranked #230 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
dharamshala
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

when I booked this property I saw reviews which gave 4/5 to this property witch I think this is totally unfair .this property does not deserve more than 1/5.
As soon as I reached front office I saw unwelcoming &uncaring ATITUDE OF people manning that office.I kept on waiting while they kept on talking.I was allotted a 1 bhk apartment which had dirty toilets & no water at all.when I phoned many times I was told that my apartment would be shifted I kept on waiting in the evening I was shifted to a better apartment.
In the morning when we went for breakfast to the resturent I found people manning that place to be rude and impolite.breakfast is less than basic,just toasts,cornflakes & coffee.no forks & knife on the table,not even papernapkins.when you ask for them from waiter he will stare at you as if you have disturbed him.
A strange incidence happened at night,we were watching tv at night when somebody tried to force open the door(I saw latch going down).The room got locked.I rang front office they replied that they are sending somebody.after 40 minutes of wait & 5 calls somebody came to help. I request trevelling community not to post unfair reviews so that innocent travellers do not get trapped by these properties.

Room Tip: rooms in the new wing are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bedianit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
25
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My confirmed reservation through TravelGuru for a 3 bedroom apartment was not honoured as RedSun had no record of the booking.I was given a 2 bedroom apartment instead. The staff made no attempt to contact Travelguru nor give me a statement to say they had no record and that they were accepting a 3 bedroom voucher while providing with a 2 bedroom apartment.
The apartment did not have any glasses/tumblers, cutlery or crockery for the use of the microwave oven. There was a mixer, refrigerator, but no kettle. No tissues, no towel rack or hooks in bathrooms. Antiquated lifts with no automatic doors.
The restaurant has very limited options for lunch and the staff are very poorly trained. Undercooked, over spiced food. No service after 10am till lunch and then again only for dinner.
No choices in neighbourhood which is bleak as the landscape around the hotel. If you do not hire a car, location becomes a constraint.
Probably suitable for companies crowding their junior staff at cheap rates with an all inclusive package but not for families looking for value or discerning travelers expecting a certain level of facilities and service.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank premsubramaniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited india this summer, we were so fortunate to have found this place, a very homely place, well serviced, friendly staff, nice restaurant and closer to many of the IT parks in the city. With air-conditioned bedrooms, the stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirubaj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I visited india after 3 yrs and this is the first time i stayed in a serviced apartment in india. The main reason to book this apartment is because i visited chennai with my family members and wanted a homely atmosphere rather than just ac rooms. And this apartment did live up to my expectations. The apartment was a 2 bedroom flat well maintained,service was good,staff were friendly and there were not any major issues except few minor issues. one of the bathroom had issue with tap not working. But we managed with the other one. It is a bit away from the city. But if you have a vehicle it is worth travelling the distance. It is 10 min away from velachery bus stop.
Overall a decent place to stay when travelling as groups or family and also at an affordable price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kiran b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We rented three 3BHK for couple of nights. The stay was pleasant and staff was pretty helpful. Even late in the night, calls were answered and they were quick to respond. Clean water was served in the room as well as in the hallway. The morning breakfast (complimentary) sounded good but we did not get a chance to try it out. All together a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathya_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is located at a good place , very near to velacherry and easy access to city too. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and the services are prompt. Overall look and feel is good and is a safe place to stay with the kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthibharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel is away from city and you need to spend Rs 1000 at least to come to Marina beach. Don't be fooled by car service by the hotel as they charge hefty amount. Also in the food bill they add 10% as service charge not service tax and they don't deposit the service tax as there is no s.t. in the bill. So they simply take more money and it is 20% to serve you in the room. All extra.

Room Tip: at least take in upper floors and check the rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajib K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
AVNB Towers Hotel
#283 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
29 reviews
Velachery
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apartments
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apart...
#91 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#76 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
57 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#207 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
135 reviews
Star City Hotel & Serviced Apart...
#198 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sun Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sun Serviced Apartments

Property: Red Sun Serviced Apartments
Address: No.287,Ma.Po.Si First Street | Sri Kamakotti Nagar, Pallikaranai, Chennai (Madras) 600100, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Sun Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redsun is an opulently designed serviced appartment setup in pallikaranai,near Velachery, neighboring many posh houses and apartments but yet is serene and unique both in the exterior of the structure as well as the comfort and care provided inside. Redsun currently offers Eight 3 BHK units and four 2 BHK units that provides the complete freedom of being at home. It also has round the clock front desk and security to help the guests. All units are designed with fully equipped Kitchenette consisting of Micro wave ,Induction Stove, Chimney Hood ,Refrigerator et al.Comfy couches and plush interiors with modular Tv units, dining table, wardrobes and dressing units.All apartments are more than 1500 Sq.ft in space are duplex type with internal stairway.All modern amenities and entertainment options are also provided.The property has another feather on its crown which is "SIMBA's REGALE- Multi Cuisine Restaurant". The restaurant has chic furnitures and the ambience is splendid. The restaurant serves Indian,chinese,Tandoor and wats more interesting is the Chefs are ready to cook and serve your own recipes.....The property also has three party halls namely Mulberry,Crimson&Lavender which can accomodate 100 to 125 seats each ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Red Sun Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing