We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent way to celebrate my fiancé' birthday!”
Review of Madras

Madras
Ranked #115 of 6,689 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Madras is your pick for sumptuous South Indian cuisine. Sample specialty dishes from Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Andhra. The mouthwatering flavors of Southern India come to life in a colorfully tantalizing display that is sure to inspire and satiate. Enjoy local specialties like crispy lentil crackers, spiced dried curry and lentils, and shallow fried vegetables paired with rice and laid out on a fresh banana leaf. Aromatic filter coffee is perfect any time of the day.
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I decided to celebrate my fiancé birthday with dinner. I made a reservation and asked them to make it special.
We ordered the non veg and seafood thali (Rs 800 and Rs 950) amazing spread. Loved he parata, appam and the other dishes.
Also there was a 3 person band with a flute, ghatam and mridangam playing a lot of new film songs and old ones like chinna chinna aasai :) at the end of dinner they brought a cake with a sparkling candle. And they played happy birthday Indian style ;) this was definitely a first!

The total bill came up to Rs 2500. It was definitely a memorable evening! Easily one of the top restaurants in the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
15  Thank Rohini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We were very pleased to learn that you had a generally enjoyable experience with us at Madras, Which is one of the premium restaurants in the city and currently featuring on second position on Tripadvisor.


We appreciate you taking the time and post your review online. Your feedback will assist us in monitoring and improving our service levels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai in the near future.

Warm regards

Jaideep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Madras
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

very busy city chennai extra large population but in side enter the resturant very cool relax food was good large quantity good dining staff is very good local launguage tamil is mother launguage
menu itemes is good resenable price i will recomented have regular food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank atul646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Mr. Atul,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We were very pleased to learn that you had a generally enjoyable experience with us at Madras.

We appreciate you taking the time and post your review online. Your feedback will assist us in monitoring and improving our service levels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai in the near future.

Warm regards

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Quite pleasant experience and the staff is very accommodating! Very crisp and neat interiors and tableware at he same time innovative. Chef's do quite a good job with the menu and good taste. Recommend this restaurant for regular dining.

3  Thank ask99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Madras. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

U wanna feel madras in ur cuisine?? Be here to relish the best in the city!! Loved the food and the decor. Felt very comforted with the hospitality extended by the staff!! Must try restaurant for perfect food!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lovethytummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We were very pleased to learn that you had remarkable dining experience at Madras, our South Indian Specialty Restaurant. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surely help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

Madras is proud to be among the Top 5 restaurants in the City on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The food is excellent here!! Your sure to come out of the restaurant with a smile and fond memories. The service offered by the staff is extremely good. Would cater to your needs and wants both. I would surely recommend people to visit this place when in Chennai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank suman_raman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We were very pleased to learn that you had remarkable dining experience at Madras, our South Indian Specialty Restaurant. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surely help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

Madras is proud to be among the Top 6 restaurants in the City on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madras also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Madras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing