We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Chic South Indian restaurant in Chennai with Live Classical Music”
Review of Madras

Madras
Ranked #118 of 6,804 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Madras is your pick for sumptuous South Indian cuisine. Sample specialty dishes from Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Andhra. The mouthwatering flavors of Southern India come to life in a colorfully tantalizing display that is sure to inspire and satiate. Enjoy local specialties like crispy lentil crackers, spiced dried curry and lentils, and shallow fried vegetables paired with rice and laid out on a fresh banana leaf. Aromatic filter coffee is perfect any time of the day.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Really classy and chic, the waiters give you personal service. In my case, since i was there a few times in my two weeks of stay, they even recalled the meals I had the time i visited them before. The kitchen covers Andhra, Tamil Nadu & Kerala, all starters, main meals and desserts were superb. The soft candle lights make it a pretty romantic place to be and whenever i was there, i didn't have to reserve and was welcomed with a smile! I recommend & reaffirm the signature dishes on the menu. There are a number of artists playing live classical Indian instruments, but they oblige if you want them to switch to Bollywood tunes.

Not to be missed if you are in the mood to splurge and indulge yourself a bit. Also an ideal place to take your lady for a date.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C_K_A_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience at Madras. Feedback like yours will keep us motivated & surely help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

I am glad to share with you; Madras has been awarded in the category of Chettinadu Restaurant by Times Food Award and currently featuring on 12th position out of 1,921 restaurants in Chennai City.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

It was a rainy day, and the roof top was out of question for our party of 12. Our reluctant reservation at the other restaurant in this hotel was a wonderful surprise. The thali was not only sumptuous but each dish well done. The variety from all over the south was a treat. The helpings were unending and had all bursting at our seams.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrParticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Madras. Feedback like yours will keep the team motivated & surely help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

I am glad to share with you; Madras has been awarded in the category of Chettinadu Restaurant by Times Food Award and currently featuring on 05th position out of 1,921 restaurants in Chennai City.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Pongal special meal is completely misleading
We called up the restaurant to find out if they were having any pongal special meal and they said they have a pongal special thali till the 19th Jan. we booked a table for dinner. To our surprise, the only thing added to a normal south-Indian thali to make it a pongal special thali was to bring 3 types of pongal rice (2 salty and 1 sweet) in small chutney bowls at the start for everyone to share just like pickles being served along with papads. They could have easily put in some sugarcane sticks to celebrate the occasion and of course made some dish with the sugarcane juice added to it.
The thali was also less than a normal thali with medu vada as the only starter. For rice, there was half a katori( small bowl) of biryani garnished with 1 larger than normal bread crumb ( which you would normally find in soup) and plain rice. They didn't even serve any curd rice or any specialty rice or pongal for that matter. The order in which the items in the thali were laid out also was not the same for everyone, they really need to pay more attention to this.
The desserts were the very standard - moong daal halwa (never had this in a South Indian meal), payasam(very average) and ice-cream.
Overall a poor experience - no proper variety, nor flavours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dipviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Madras. Feedback like yours will keep the team motivated & surely help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

I am glad to share with you; Madras has been awarded in the category of Chettinadu Restaurant by Times Food Award and currently featuring on 05th position out of 1,921 restaurants in Chennai City.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Had an idea of southern cuisine... wanted to try that in chennai... what we understood was that authentic cuisines are even tastier, as it was in this eatery... wide variety... excellent

Thank insan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Madras. Feedback like yours will keep the team motivated & surely help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

I am glad to share with you; Madras has been awarded in the category of Chettinadu Restaurant by Times Food Award and currently featuring on 05th position out of 1,921 restaurants in Chennai City.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Madras Raintree hotel is an unique joint in Chennai in an 5 star hotel gving the best at an affordable rate. The south indian specialities served are a delight .They have also north indian dishes which goes with the like of young teenergers . Non vegetarian is also served , but I cooment on the same as I am a vegetarian. The start of the service with Rasam and Papadam are relieshing and mouth watering . Just a tip , please carry your Amex card along and you will be benfitted by 15% . As this is in Raintree hotel people feel it will be costly , but Madras cafe is for one and all. Kindly visit during your next Madras city visit this is my recommendation .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RamanNarayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Madras. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

Just to share with you, Madras has been awarded in the category of Chettinadu Restaurant by Times Food Award.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madras also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Madras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing