We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome to India”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Ranked #68 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Bell was our first stop in India.We had a lot of things to sot out about what to do and where to go.The staff at the Bell we extremely helpful and assisted with everything we needed.
The location,the food and the comfort were excellent.
Particular thanks should go to the dining room staff for their helpful suggestions and the front office who were helpful and obliging no matter what the time of day or night.
Great variety of transport at the door.Liked the idea of a small bar next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Bell Hotel -Chennai!!!

We thank you kindheartedly for writing a positive feedback. Our staffs are happy to know your thoughts regarding the service they have provided to you.

Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Bell Hotel - Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Being near the Chennai Central railway station is a great convenience. So is the fact that check out is on 24 hours basis.

Attracted by the very good Tripadvisor rating, I spent a day there recently. The hotel is sandwiched between a local train line and a busy main road. So the choice of rooms is like choosing between the devil and the deep blue sea! The rooms are fairly well insulated for noise, and the noise did not bother me. Check - in was handled very efficiently and smoothly.

The lobby is decorated with a photgraphic mural of Bells. The owner of the hotel manufactures 'Bell Pins' in Sivakasi. Hence the name. There are artistic photographs of the best features of Chennai all over the hotel. There is also an interesting Chandelier along the staircase.

The room was smaller than expected. It was very clean and well maintained. The toilet too was well outfitted with very good plumbing. As soon as I walked into the room, I was struck by a bold sign which said ' No Room Service'. However, since there was a tea maker in the room, I did not mind too much.

There is a good restaurant on the ground floor with very good service. The complimentary Breakfast was sumptuous South Indian fare. The waiters are very helpful and courteous. In fact one of them coaxed me into having 'Sex on the beach' - seems to be a popular lime based drink in Chennai !

Wifi is chargeable. I did not have a good connection, despite buying a 2 hour coupon for Rs 100. All in all - a decent place near the station if you are on work!

Room Tip: A room facing the main road is preferable to the one facing the railway track!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SureshWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our recent feedback request. Your responses will help to shape the future of our service and our overall way of doing business.

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai appreciate the unique opportunity to see ourselves through the eyes of our Guests and are eager to gather ideas on what we can do better.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.

Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had by far bigger expectations, reading Tripadvisor members' comments and the ranking of the hotel in Chennai. First of all this is a hotel and not a B&B or a pension. Secondly, the service and the standard of the rooms is definitely in the indian average, even a bit below considering the intense smell of antibacteria cleaning products you can feel in the rooms. The rooms are dark and needing manteinance. Not really an experience to be remembered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Foodhopper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Bell Hotel - Chennai!!!

We thank you for staying with us and for the valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

At Bell Hotel - Chennai we take pride in serving the guests and we truly understand this time we have not met your and our own expectations.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at the same time trust us that we have narrowed the causes of concerns. We understand knowing this would not dilute the inconveniences you have faced but will give us confidence to serving you again.

We thank you for your stay and request you allow us to serving you better in your next visit with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Bell Hotel - Chennai.

With Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed there from 10th of August to 13th of August, Room no 109 The hotel is very close to the Central and the Park station.

The rooms are nicely decorated with all the modem amenities, comfortable beds, 32 inch LCD tvs with usb option, nice air conditioning and with a nice washroom with glass bath panel in it.

We actually booked it through Cleartip so got some initial discounts while booking. The room service is pretty good..... really amazed by the perfect spotless clean rooms all the times.
Mani from the front desk was extremely helpful.

I am rail loving fan, so watching trains right next from the window is simply a delight to me. Complementary breakfast was good but it almost has the same type of southern menu all days. I would suggest to add some cut fruits, sausages etc. Otherwise taste wise it was pretty good.

I would certainly recommend all to stay at this hotel ..... and hope to visit again....
Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ananda_Sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

As per your valuable suggestion, we have introduced fresh cut fruits in the Breakfast Buffet spread.

Thanks and Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is located between a road and a railway track. If the window to your room faces the railway track, you will be able to hear the blaring of horns from the regular trains that pass by the track. But it was not something that affected me so much to the point that I could not sleep as most of the time, I just heard the trains go by, without blaring of horns. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room for the price I paid - firm bed, air-conditioned, plesant bathroom.

The bed-sheets however had some tiny dots and a bigger patch under the blanket (blood-stains?). I was afraid of bed-bugs due to the tiny stains (tell-tale sign of squashed bed-bugs, from my past experience), but I was too tired to change the room as I had arrived very late at night. I lay on the bed and tested out gingerly at first, waiting for the first bite. Finally, no bed-bugs in the end. A huge relief!

Breakfast - no good choices. Just a few dishes had food, the rest were empty. I wouldn't totally recommend it, but overall, I have not much complaints as I was only staying one night after a late flight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aycanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to linen and limited breakfast buffet spread.

During December 2012, we faced a shortage of fresh linen as we did not receive the dispatched new linen on time. As a learning practice, we are now ensuring that Purchase Order placed are received in prompt time by making continuous follow-ups tracking activities, etc….

As a measure of comfort check, we carry out periodical bed bug treatments, other House Keeping control measures, the chances of bed bug / insects availability is null.

We have modified our Menu by including more dish varieties. In your next visit with us, we will serve you personalized dish.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us.


Yours in service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for about 6-8 times now. It is really a nice place. Rooms are neat, although small. I have liked this hotel, but of late, i see that the management is not taking care of the hotel much. The towels are really old and torn. The bedsheets are also old and torn.

I request the management to take care of these aspects.

Also, earlier, they used to have good spread of items for breakfast. Now it is kind of simplified.

Hence, I am looking for other hotels in Chennai now.

Room Tip: There are two rows of rooms. One row is next to a railway track and you get the sound and vibrations...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank BizTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to towels and limited breakfast buffet spread.

At Bell Hotel, Chennai, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation, we narrowed the cause to key staff changes, delayed new towel dispatch.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again by creating Unit wide training sessions, hiring staffs for back-up support, ensuring that Purchase Order placed are received in prompt time by making continuous follow-ups tracking activities, etc….


We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us.


Yours in service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

You rarely get very neat and clean hotel nearby a major railway station, but Hotel Bell Central is real exception.
Rooms are well lit with fluorescent lamps, even good sunlight throughout day. Front desk is courteous. Complimentary breakfast is good. But for dinner their restaurant has limited options and you will have to wait for 15-20 min for some dishes which I consider is normal as long you get freshly prepared food. But there are lot of other options of small restaurants nearby the hotel. And all this at walking distance from Chennai Central railway station. Its definitely far away from airport.
Only drawback I found about hotel is, it is adjacent to railway track so be prepared to listen a subdued noise (rooms being AC) of Local trains passing by at certain intervals.

Room Tip: almost all rooms have same location as the building is long and all rooms are on one side only.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai thank you for your appreciation of your experiences in our Hotel.

We shall strive hard to live up to your assessment in the years to come.

We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
New Woodlands Hotel
#56 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
353 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#95 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
182 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#13 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#86 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
107 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#59 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
178 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#221 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Address: 21 Old Door No | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £15 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 51 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing