We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Ranked #65 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Was in Chennai just for a day and had liked what I had read about Bell hotel.. mainly being, they having rooms for solo travellers - so booked it.
It was a pleasant stay and have to add, the rooms do match up with the pictures provided! [..which is not the case always!! ]
Comfortable and cozy rooms..The place is sure well planned.
The hospitable people there sure made the place memorable!
Little on the expensive side for Solo traveller standards... but since the stay was great... it was alright.
Would sure recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We would try to offer you best price for your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    68
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
25
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kodaikanal, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went spent just a day at the hotel. The room size is adequate with every aspect practically done-up. Breakfast presentation was neat, spread and service were good too. All the staff in this hotel are extremely helpful and courteous. No need to get alarmed if you feel a bit of a vibration in the room, it is just the sound of the local trains (just something one has to be okay with keeping in mind that the hotel is in a prime location). They also offer free WiFi in rooms with good speed. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing with us your feedback.

Hope to see you soon at Bell Hotel again.

Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

As experienced in the past at the Bell hotel Sivakasi, this property too is very well maintained & have a courteous staff. Rooms are modern with all fixtures for a business traveller. I really liked the photographs/pictures on the room walls depicting Chennai in a very different light. Very well kept rooms, small though if for single occupancy. However its only in India that we get great room sizes for an average budget, so that can't be a complaint. Also a great plus is they offer half day stays which are really value for some business trips.The local rail line which runs parallel to the hotel can be problem as one can hear the thuds almost all the time. the location is great plus especially if one has work in north chennai & still don't want to stay in north chennai.
Overall a good stay. Will come back & recommend( if the train thuds are ok!!!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanmoysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

We have installed sound proof glass to control the rail and road traffic sounds.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latur, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed there for a night.....reasonable rates....very good location near chennai central walking distance....bathrooms were clean and good...the only con is local trains travel adjacent and every train causes vibrations and sound...but not so much trouble...thumbs up for the stay near chennai central...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atsona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing with us your feedback.

Hope to see you soon at Bell Hotel again.

Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is located very near to Chennai central railway station. Cleanliness is good. Food is tasty. Staff's behaviour is good. Room service is excellent. Overall excellent three star hotel. Opt this hotel...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vish745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We will strive to keep up our Service Standards to impress the Guests who provides us an opportunity to serve them.

We thank you for sharing with us the positive comments.

With Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Based on our guests who come to visit our office, the hotel ambiance is good. Single or Double AC deluxe rooms which we book are comfortable to stay. Food is also great. overall our guests experienced good atmosphere and the cost is also bearable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vincent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Valued Partner,

We thank you whole heartedly thank you for writing a response, which motivates us to go for the extra mile.

Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a two day stay at this hotel. Because our flight was delayed we happened to reach at around midnight. We were hoping to finish our check-in procedures and have some snacks (since we werent served dinner on flight) however the check-in procedures took longer than expected. We were also surprised to know that they did not have 24hrs cafeteria. We were damn hungry only to be told that they can serve bread and tea. However when we went inside the room we were pleasantly surprised as the room was quiet clean and well maintained. The breakfast in the Morning is just awesome!! The staff is very good and friendly. They have a 24hrs checkin-checkout rule. The hotel is also very close to chennai central station as well as court.
On a whole will definately recommend people to go to this hotel however do not depend on them for food during midnight.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We seek apologies for delayed check-in and for serving you with Bread, Tea during Midnight arrival.

Based on availability of Bread to Order, Fresh Fruit Juices and Fruit Platter, we serve them as Room Service Orders during Midnight.

We have started working for serving Guests with more options of food availability in Midnight.

We thank you whole heartedly for your feedback.

With Best Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pandian
Hotel Pandian
#74 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#206 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.5 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#54 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#15 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pearl International
Hotel Pearl International
#91 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orion Residency
Orion Residency
#81 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Property: Bell Hotel - Chennai
Address: 21 Old Door No | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 51 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing