We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst heel food ever”
Review of Kryptos Vegetarian - CLOSED

Kryptos Vegetarian
Price range: US$7 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Greek for "Hidden", Kryptos, is a treasured jewel tucked away in the cellar of the Yafa building on Khader Nawaz Khan road. With its bright decor and sculptured stone clad walls, Kryptos is an explosion of delight where diners can sample some of the best vegetarian cuisine Chennai has to offer. The cuisine at Kryptos Vegetarian builds upon the reputation enjoyed by Kryptos, in the past, as a fully fledged Greek restaurant, to bring a change into the world of vegetarian cooking, that complements the life style and dining habits of today's discerning clients. Complementing our Greek vegetarian fare are a range of dishes drawing from the world of Indian, Mexican and Chinese foods, plus offering a range of divine desserts and cooling beverages.Kryptos Vegetarian offers the only iced salad counter in Chennai's restaurant scene and one that has justifiably earned the loyalty and love of our diners. With a selection of fresh salads, fruits, vegetables, cheese and fresh breads, the salad counter is great for a meal in itself or as an accompaniment to any of the wide range of dishes that we offer to devour. Our menu includes dishes inspired from around the world, such as Mexican vegetarian Burritos and Enchiladas, Chinese Manchurian and Crispy Tofu, Vegetarian Moussaka, Indian PaneerKofta, Hara Bara Kebabs and Channa Masala, Beetroot and Beans burger and thin crust pizzas, amongst a range of platters to share. Finish your meal with a Baklava, our renowned eggless Tiramisu, Hot Chocolate Puffs dripping in chocolate sauce, sugar-free Carrot Kheer or just ask for a Greek coffee or a steaming masala tea! Whether you are looking for a chic restaurant to take your intimate date or as a family gathering around our renowned center stone table, Kryptos Vegetarian offers something for everyone all under one happy roof. We hope to be part of your extended family where we will be honored to serve you and share the happiness that great food brings.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst heel food ever”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This is the worst Greek food I've tasted ever. The restaurant had loads of mosquitoes as well. Would never go here again and wouldn't recommend

Helpful?
Thank Vikilibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Public Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Member,

We apologize for the bad experience that you had at Kryptos. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectations, and clearly we failed this time. All feedback is good feedback, as it a catalyst for our growth. We have looked into this and taken corrective action. There is no justification for what you experienced, but I assure you the mosquito problem has been fixed. I request you to send in all your details about the sad experience you underwent to sales@burgundyrestaurants.in, so that we can look into accountability as well, for example- date of visit, number of people who visited, bill number if you have, your address and phone number. Through our training, learning and unlearning we can grow to better heights and in turn delight our valued guests. We do hope you shall visit us again as our guest and we thank you for taking out the time and giving us your feedback. Have a great day!

Regards,
Aparna
Associate - Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    58
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“UnGreek”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

They have stopped serving Greek food,but still publicise their prowess over the Greek!The place is poorly done,though the food (only vegetarian ) they dished out was not bad

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfNDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Public Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear ProfNDR,

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your standards at Kryptos. Recently Kryptos was converted to a global cuisine Vegetarian restaurant, but we still retain our Greek influence with our Mediterranean dominated menu. We do however still have some of the Greek non-vegetarian options available at our sister restaurants, Burgundy’s which is on MRC Nagar (an all day dining restaurant that has an extensive buffet from Wednesday- Sunday) and Tuscana (one branch on KNK road, Nungambakkam, and one on Chamiers Road, Nandanam). Thank you for taking out the time and reviewing us. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future and wishing you a wonderful day.

Regards,
Aparna
Associate - Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Cockroaches in the restaurant!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We should have realised when we found the restaurant almost empty on a Saturday night, but since we had been there when it was a Greek food place, thought it couldn't have got so bad. Boy, were we wrong! Plenty of seating, but just as we started to look at the menu, something fell on my friend from the AC vent. Looked down, and there was a cockroach. We complained, and changed tables and that was all the notice anyone took of the cockroach. Are they so used to the creatures running around there? Not so much as an apology or even a mention of it. And they have an open salad bar! This kind of "hygiene" I can take from a place that charges you 200 rs for a meal, not 2000! Stay far away!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spllchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Public Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Spllchk,

We apologize for the negative experience that you had at Kryptos. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectations, and clearly we failed this time. All feedback is good feedback, as it a catalyst for our growth. We have looked into this and taken corrective action. There is no justification for what you experienced, but I assure you this has pest control issue has been fixed. I request you to send in all your details about the sad experience you underwent to socialmedia@burgundyrestauarnts.in, so that we can look into accountability as well, for example- date of visit, number of people who visited, bill number if you have, your address and phone number. Through our training, learning and unlearning we can grow to better heights and in turn delight our valued guests. We do hope you shall visit us again as our guest and we thank you for taking out the time and giving us your feedback. Have a great day!

Warm Regards,
Maithri Palicha
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“"THE" Greek Food !!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever visited. The food was extremely good and delicious.
Especially the service of Mr.Vasanth was too good

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plush2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Guest Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Plush2014,
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Kryptos. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectation and we are extremely happy to know that we were able to delight you. Thank you on behalf of Vasant for your kind words of appreciation. We do a lot of training for all our employees as happy employees make happy employers, it is a mutually beneficial relationship that I am delighted you got the result of. Recently Kryptos was converted to a global cuisine Vegetarian restaurant, but we still retain our Greek influence with our Mediterranean dominated menu. If you still want to have some of our classic Greek non-veg dishes, it is still available at a smaller menu at our sister restaurants Tuscana on Chamiers by Willi. I recommend that you try our other sister restaurants if you haven't already- Burgundy’s which is on MRC Nagar and is an all day dining restaurant that has an extensive buffet from Wednesday- Sunday and Tuscana (one branch on KNK road, Nungambakkam, and one on Chamiers Road, Nandanam). Thank you for taking the time out to review us. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future and wishing you a wonderful day.

Warm Regards
Maithri Palicha
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Had not tried any Greek dish before I visited the restaurant. so can't say if the food was authentic. But food was very tasty and portions were large. Lovely ambience and courteous staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanderluzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VipinSachdev, Guest Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Vanderluzt,

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Kryptos. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectation and we are extremely happy to know that we were able to delight you. Since you have mentioned that you sampled the Greek fare, I assume it was before the restaurant turned vegetarian. Recently Kryptos was converted to a global cuisine Vegetarian restaurant, but we still retain our Greek influence with our Mediterranean dominated menu (which you probably sampled). If you still want to have some of our classic Greek non-veg dishes, it is still available in a smaller menu at our sister restaurants Tuscana on Chamiers by Willi. I recommend that you try our other sister restaurants if you haven't already- Burgundy’s which is on MRC Nagar and is an all day dining restaurant that has an extensive buffet from Wednesday- Sunday and Tuscana (one branch on KNK road, Nungambakkam, and one on Chamiers Road, Nandanam). Thank you for taking the time out to review us. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future and wishing you a wonderful day.

Warm Regards
Maithri Palicha
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kryptos Vegetarian also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing