We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary”
Review of Mahalaya Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mahalaya Residency
Ranked #146 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Kuantan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Scary”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

this hotel is one of the most horrible places I ever stayed in my life.. 1st of all the smell of the hotel is very bad, the room is big but not much clean, the staff scary , Chennai in general is a horrible city.. I will never visit it again in my life...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muayad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    29
    10
    12
See reviews for
23
20
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Dear Friends, I would never recommend this hotel to any one.
I checked in the hotel on 4th march evening and checked out on 6th morning. I had a package deal with make my trip.
Make my trip gave me a transit room, or hotel is only having a transit room, which was not at all mentioned at the time of booking by make my trip. Even the hotel didn't intimated me at the time of check in. At the time of check out, i got stuck at the reception bacause hotel was after me to pay 1000 more because i had a transit room. I was keep telling them that it was a package deal which comes with a flight and i already paid complete amount but they didn't listed and i had to pay extra. So i will suggest not opt for such kind of hotels.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel for the amount you have to pay at the time of check out, even booking as a pack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Bobby93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

kensington, md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 2:30 a.m. Because we had read other reviews, we did not bother asking for them to pick us up and took a taxi. When we got there, they refused to honor the reservation we booked through Kayak. They stated that the price we paid was too low and that we did not book their "superior room" as Kayak stated. The desk clerk refused to call the hotel manager so we had to call the POLICE to get some help. Finally, they gave us a room at 4:30 in the morning. When we left at 8:00 a.m., the manager had still not arrived and we had a repeat of the night before. They would not let us leave the hotel unless we paid the rate that they decided for us, not Kayak. We ended up paying it just so we could leave and then called Kayak for a refund. Unfortunately, we paid much more than what the room was worth.

Another thing, if you stay in an Indian hotel, they love to use moth balls for aromatherapy. Every drawer, crevice and closet was filled with the sweet smell of moth balls.

Finally, the hotel is NOT quiet. It is located near a temple and like all temples in India, they like everyone to wake up when then wake up.

If you want to be near the airport and don't need sleep, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

For the money, this is a good option for a hotel if you want to stay close to the airport. It's very close to the airport--probably a 5 or 10 minute drive. The other hotel we stayed at, only 10km away from the airport, took us 80 minutes to get to because of he traffic. This hotel is clean, though not particularly nice. I wouldn't stay here if you're looking for a very nice hotel or planning on staying awhile and looking for a nice hotel environment. But it's not too expensive and decent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgustaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is a decent hotel and ideal for a short business trip to GST road or for transit from the airport. The hotel is very close to the airport, literally five minutes away. Clean, spacious rooms and decent food. Ideal for business travel and short stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAJEEVAyyappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Despite that we had a voucher from Cleartrip, we called to reconfirm our coming and it was fine. When we arrived, no issue during the check-in.
The dinner was a mess as many local people were there to watch tv and we couldn't have a table for a long time and service was long. SInce we had to take a early flight, we were just upset to wait. And during the check-out at 6 am, we were asked for the email confirmation of booking.
We didn't have it anymore and it created a big stress for us. We had a great peaceful tour in south india but this last night brought back all our stress! There is a poor management at the desk and also restaurant which should give priority to the guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Charles Henri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talcher
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed there on transit on 3rd Feb .Quite near to International airport and they have complimentary pick up and drop in facility to airport.Have started this facility recently after they have hiked their tariff.Small hotel.Good neat and clean rooms with freshly laundered Linens.Bathrooms are large and clean.Serve good food but you must ask for less spicy food if you don't like spicy food.Attendants can converse in Hindi too which is quite rare.A plus point.Front desk people are helpful but they may keep you waiting if they are busy in personal phone calls which are quite frequent.Complimentary Wi-Fi is an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivaprasadTalcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
3.6 mi away
Saibala Grand
Saibala Grand
#92 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#72 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mount Manor
The Mount Manor
#221 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mars Deluxe
Hotel Mars Deluxe
#249 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
3.4 mi away
Raaj Residency
Raaj Residency
#152 of 374 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahalaya Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahalaya Residency

Property: Mahalaya Residency
Address: No 114 Mahalaya Residency Gst Road | Pallavaram, Chennai (Madras) 600043, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahalaya Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mahalaya Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing