We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chennai
Ranked #7 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Park Hyatt Chennai this past August and it was quite probably the most enjoyable experience I have had at a hotel in India. I witnessed the hotel's amazing service almost right as I walked in, and I continue to see this at the reception desk and in the restaurants. The spa, like the rest of the hotel, is tastefully designed, and the rooftop infinity pool was stunning. The flying elephant is the best restaurant I went to in Chennai and I must have had half of my meals there. The brunch is not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear rtshey,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Park Hyatt Chennai.

Your comments are very much appreciated and we are very proud here at Park Hyatt Chennai to have a wonderful team that is dedicated to making our guest experiences truly memorable.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Antahpura Spa and the rooftop infinity pool as well as The Flying Elephant, and will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the respective teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chennai.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    208
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
147
92
60
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have been to Hyatt more than 5 times this year. Every time I have been amazed by their, grand interiors, friendly courteous staff and food. Centrally located at the heart of the city, it is easily approachable from any part of the city. It has good facilities for mini and mega workshops. Flying Elephant rocks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Sophizz
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor.

We value your positive feedback about the friendly and courteous employees and the delicious food you experienced.

Thank you once again for staying with Park Hyatt Chennai and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for one night in September 2013. I arrived very early in the morning and had a quickly checked in without any issues. Had a city facing room on a higher floor, gave a very good view of the city. It is a true 5 star luxury hotel and is located very close to the airport, takes approximately 20-30 minutes at Velachery Road, near Raj Bhavan and ITC Chola. Like overall Chennai, the roads around the area are dug up for construction of the metro rail and hence traffic is a bit of a problem. Rooms are spacious with good finishing, appropriate lighting and an ipod docking station. Bathrooms are well equipped with toiletries and towels. Mattresses are extremely cosy and soft giving an excellent sleep quality. I faced only one little glitch towards the end of my stay as the room key did not work and I was locked out of the room. But not a big issue as this was immediately resolved. Staff was very courteous and polite and provided excellent service. Breakfast spread did not seem great but quality of food was very good. Food service was slightly slower than expected but no complains. Overall I loved the hotel. An excellent place to in Chennai and look forward to staying there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floor has a good city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akhilbheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear akhilbheda,

Thank you for staying with Park Hyatt Chennai and sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that your guest room experience was excellent and appreciate your compliments about the service provided by our team. Your comment about your room key not working has been investigated and resolved by reprogramming the electronic lock.
Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chennai soon.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Have stayed quite a few times since the hotel opened last year and glad to see it progressing in value and service. Right from the time of check in to check out - staff at every point have shown why they are cut above the rest. The opening of the Flying Elephant has been a feather in their cap as it has created a new concept to dining.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangaloreRagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Mr Raguram,

Thank you for your recent review.

Your positive comments about your stay at Park Hyatt Chennai are very much appreciated, and we will most certainly share your feedback with our entire team.

We truly appreciate and value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at Park Hyatt Chennai soon.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

good food and courtious service
good ambience
good food and courtious service
good ambience
good food and courtious service
good ambience
good food and courtious service
good ambience
good food and courtious service
good ambience
good food and courtious service
good ambience

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prasadsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear prasadsm,

Thank you for your recent review posted on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and value your feedback.

The team at Park Hyatt Chennai is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I liked this hotel the first time I stayed here in July on business. First, the decor of the hotel is nice with lot of understated, elegant elements. I arrived post midnight and was quickly checked in. The room was good and confortable and most importantly, was the bathroom and toiletries. Some small points here : the candle, soap and other stuff placed across the bathtub on a wooden tray - was fantastic. And how many hotels nowadays think of a body scrub?
The clothes hangar was open, while the bath and loo were separate sections - not bad ideas.
I also like the fact that the room had an Ipod docking station which allowed me to listen to my music while I worked in the room until late night.
The coffee machine using pods was great to serve strong coffee and so was the chef who supplied a kind of sweet flaky pizza sort of patty with cheese and tomato in a wooden tray- which was delicious. I had lot of other food in the room - liked the garlic butter prawns especially.
Overall, small touches which get noticed by travelers and distinguish yourself from others.
I didn't visit the Flying Elephant - keeping it for the next visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santanurocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear santanurocks,

Thank you for your detailed review.

Your positive comments about your recent stay at Park Hyatt Chennai are very much appreciated, and we will most certainly share your feedback with all teams. We are delighted to read that small touches like the bath tray with candle and the tomato tarte with goats cheese made your stay even more enjoyable and comfortable.

We truly appreciate and value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chennai soon.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
306 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This review is for Apartment banquet. The setting is classy yet understated. You get the feel of being in a large house for a party. The liquor options were pretty good and the starters were fabulous. The dinner buffet was great with varied options that Germans and Indians in the party liked. The staff suggestions were pretty good as we got to taste healthy Kambu Dosa, Elaneer Payasam etc. The service was pretty good - prompt, professional and personal too. You can't go wrong with this option for a party.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PremPandurangam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear PremPandurangam,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to The Apartment at Park Hyatt Chennai.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and beverage selection as well as the homely atmosphere and prompt service of this unique event space. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to the respective teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chennai and The Apartment soon.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chennai

Property: Park Hyatt Chennai
Address: 39 Velachery Road | Near Raj Bhavan, Chennai (Madras), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtfully understated yet contemporary in design, Park Hyatt Chennai offers discerning business and leisure travellers their personal address in the city. Located next to the governor's residence, alongside the Guindy Forest Reserve, this serene sanctuary is at close proximity to the airport and prime business districts of the city. Some of the key features of the hotel include the dynamic, multi-level restaurant, The Flying Elephant,the all-day dining restaurant serving peninsular Indian and classic western cuisine - The Dining Room, the award-winning Antahpura Spa, a serene lily pond as the central focal point of the hotel and an infinity edge pool on the rooftop that captures breathtaking views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing