We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chennai
Ranked #8 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great rooms on the Velachery side, spacious, well lit. Handy during a tired business trip -- I showed up here sick and groggy, the staff was prompt in getting hold of stuff I needed, including what I thought was one of the front desk guys pulling out his own aspirin. A slight disadvantage is that the location is not really a walkable neighborhood, the other Hyatt in the city is much better for that. This is a functional joint with an extremely helpful staff, and an neat bar. Not that Chennai is a great city for Sauna, but for what it's worth this hotel has the best Sauna I have ever used at a hotel in India.

Room Tip: pick the non-city facing side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyojeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mr Joyojeet
Thank-you very much for writing this review for us. It can be hard to be travelling when one is ill and tired, and we hope that our team made it up with their warm service. Thank-you for your words of appreciation. We are glad to know you enjoyed the sauna at Antahpura Spa.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    220
    48
    17
    12
See reviews for
156
94
65
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The ambience and the locality is very nice ,food quality is below average,the big disappointment with the service.Restaurant team unable to manage a crowd of 5 tables.(Most of the people taking Buffet,very few took al-la- carte),
They took very long time to respond,the method of serving is not in a professional way, without asking us ,the guy cleaning my table,few of the food items spilled in our dress.
I visited earlier times too,but not so much issues.They need to improve a lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest
We were sorry to hear that your experience at The Dining Room at our hotel did not meet your expectations. You are right that this should never have occurred, and we have addressed it with our team. It is our continued endeavour to provide efficient services to our guests and we hope to be able to present a memorable experience the next time you visit.
Please allow us to welcome you back again.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My second trip to India, first to Chennai. I arrived at 10am after an overnight flight but was quickly and warmly welcomed, checked in and up to my room in minutes. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. During my short stay, I managed to use the gym and the spa, both were excellent and the staff friendly and welcoming. The breakfast buffet had more than enough choice of local and european specialities. I also had dinner in both restaurants and was very satisfied by the quality and variety in both. I can highly recommend this hotel to business travellers and am sure that if I had the chance to stay for leisure, I would also be recommending it for a vacation stopover.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acid_slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank-you for taking time out to write this review for us. It’s very heartening to know that our team has managed to make your stay more comfortable with their heartfelt services. As you mentioned you were on a business trip, we’re happy to learn our well-appointed fitness centre and spa provided a fair amount of wellness in your work-centric stay. It calls for a return visit, for leisure purposes this time. Look forward to serving you soon again.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The frontage is rather quaint compared to the typical high end property common in India, and there are just two dining options of which one is open only in the evening BUT the food and spa more than make up for it. Surprisingly the food is reasonably priced even after including the notorious bevy of taxes. Ofcourse the quality is top notch across cuisines including the humble 'upma' - made just right which is not usually the case in 5-star kitchens - they invariably overdo what needs to be a simple basic dish. Portions are suitable for Indian appetites thus preventing wastage.

Spa is excellent, spacious & very well done, with the therapists very good as well. I went in for a relaxing massage both days I was there and it's worth making a trip to Chennai just to enjoy their spa!

Last but not least, Hyatt-standard service and btw, the wait staff in the fine dine even put on an impromptu show of the Gangnam dance, coordinated across two floors - excellent!

Room Tip: Go for the pool-facing rooms, they are quieter. Lost of construction going on outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidT766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

We found your review very uplifting. Our favourite was the example of, as rightly mentioned by you, the humble upma. Authenticity has a lot to do with simplicity and this is by far our watchword, where we strive to remain as close was possible to the original essence of our dishes. Our home-style cuisine of The Dining Room has been inspired by the honest, comfort food that is dished out in the numerous homes of Chennai. We’re pleased to know it appealed to you.
Great that you could squeeze in a treatment at Antahpura Spa during your stay with us, as it can be the perfect antidote to a busy work schedule.
We were delighted to note that you enjoyed the performance at The Flying Elephant. Our engaged team enjoys staging it for guests as well.
Please do visit us soon again. We look forward to having you back.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The rooms are beautiful designed, very modern. Our suite had a living room with a wrap around window.
Room service was excellent as well as the two in hotel restaurants.
The service is perfect, even when we had a mishap in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank-you for this nice review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the design element of our rooms, especially the spacious suites. Our endeavour with food service is to exceed guest expectation in every possible way, and we place very high importance on the food and beverage offerings that are presented to our esteemed guests. Delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience in The Dining Room as well as The Flying Elephant which are both distinctly different in the look, feel and cuisine styles.
We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was deeply disappointed with the service at the spa at this hotel. Despite making an appointment, I was made to wait as the staff had not arrived . After this when post massage I walked into the ladies room, a man was cleaning the glass knowing a client was done with massage and nobody else was around. I had to call someoen from outside . When using the steam room nobody supervised and this is highly unsafe.
In all a dis satisfactory experience and I would not go there not reccomend.
The dry cleaning service too was terrible and my expensive clothes were ruined!!!!!
Never again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank-you for your feedback, which we have noted. Please accept our humble apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your visit to Antahpura Spa. The same shall be communicated to the concerned associates, so that it does not occur. The essence of our spa is to provide a wellness retreat for our guests, and we would encourage you to come by and experience it another time.
We shall also communicate your disappointment to the laundry with regard to the dry cleaning.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here on business and my wife joined me. The hotel, like all Park Hyatts, is wonderful. The service is superb, and the food is excellent (both the buffet and the Flying Elephant were delicious). There is really nothing negative I can say about the hotel. Everyone at the hotel was so nice. The room was amazing, and huge!

The hotel is basically right next to the Grand Chola, which I have previously stayed at. The Hyatt provides much better service, is less crowded, and provides a better and more relaxing experience. You cannot do better in Chennai than the Park Hyatt.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, corner suites are amazing. The view when you walk in the door is better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MothLarva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mr Robinson
Thank-you for this encouraging feedback. We shall pass it on to our teams, who are the ones to make our guests’ stay so special with their warm, heartfelt services. We are glad you liked the food in our restaurants. Both our restaurants are very different in look and feel, as well as the cuisine. We are pleased to learn the buffet in The Dining Room, crafted after the peninsular concept of India as well as our a la carte cuisine from the various show kitchens of The Flying Elephant proved appealing to you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chennai soon again.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,456 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,769 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#28 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,268 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,105 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chennai

Property: Park Hyatt Chennai
Address: 39 Velachery Road | Near Raj Bhavan, Chennai (Madras), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtfully understated yet contemporary in design, Park Hyatt Chennai offers discerning business and leisure travellers their personal address in the city. Located next to the governor's residence, alongside the Guindy Forest Reserve, this serene sanctuary is at close proximity to the airport and prime business districts of the city. Some of the key features of the hotel include the dynamic, multi-level restaurant, The Flying Elephant,the all-day dining restaurant serving peninsular Indian and classic western cuisine - The Dining Room, the award-winning Antahpura Spa, a serene lily pond as the central focal point of the hotel and an infinity edge pool on the rooftop that captures breathtaking views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hyatt Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing