We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hyatt always good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chennai
Ranked #5 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hyatt always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Another stay at Hyatt property and as expected it was good as always. As a Hyatt Gold Passport member I always prefer to choose Hyatt property wherever I travel though this was my first stay at Park Hyatt. It was a long stay for ten and half days so I got a chance to experience all the facilities in the hotel.
So First I'll start with the front lobby. Beautifully maintained and is huge. It has a lovely view which indicates you what is coming next.
Rooms are as large as you can imagine. Generally you don't find rooms so large in any hotels unless its a suite. The bath is as huge as the room with a beautiful bath tub. Luxury at its best.
Bed is cozy and comfortable. Though you can hear some noise from the corridor it is not that disturbing and won't affect you much.
Service is always great wherever you visit any Hyatt property.
It has a roof top swimming pool with an awesome view and you will never feel like coming out of the pool. One of the best pools in India.
Above all the best thing which I found in the hotel was the Fitness center and the SPA. This was probably the best SPA treatment I had in my life. The Spa therapist Ruth was awesome. The Spa is highly recommended whenever you visit park Hyatt. The Steam and Sauna was good and well maintained. Again I can rate them the best I saw in India.
Food and breakfast is one of the important aspects for me and this was the place I was highly disappointed.
As I stayed for 10 days the Breakfast Menu was never changed. It was the same breakfast for all 10 days. The food was good in taste and quality but you cannot eat the same breakfast continuously for 10 days. They need to work on that. I have stayed in other Hyatt properties and they change their menu quite often which was missing here.
Apart from breakfast the room service menu was too small. If you are a foodie or you are someone who is inclined towards North Indian food then you have little option. Again a big problem for a long stay.
Flying Elephant was awesome.
Overall a great hotel if they improve on Break fast and Food. Surely recommended and worth a stay.

Room Tip: Any room with Forest view is awesome. The forest view rooms have a view of lake and forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulKumar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest

We’d like to thank-you for taking the time to review us frame by frame.
A returning Hyatt Gold Passport member is like a family member and it’s always nice to welcome you back.
Thank-you for your great feedback, and we have passed the same to our teams, who aim at surpassing guest expectations in terms of service standards. Our colleague Ruth has been appreciated for her gentle approach with guests at Antahpura Spa, and we did convey your encouraging review.
We value the constructive feedback you have presented, and we totally agree with you that breakfast is the most important meal to jumpstart a working day. We would like to convey to you, that as a Park Hyatt, we lay great importance on personalised service, which is why we have moved beyond the concept of laying out our hot items on the buffet. Rather, a wide range of about 20 or so hot items (both sweet and savoury) are consistently prepared by our team of chefs and brought to the table, straight out of the pan. Almost as in our own homes! The cereal, fruit and various cheeses are all as per international standards and on display so guests can choose, with a spread of morning bakeries on rotation basis.
We are in the process of reviewing our in-room dining menu as well, and we value your feedback on the same.
At Park Hyatt Chennai we are constantly striving to surpass our guests’ previous experience, and we are would like to thank-you for your valuable feedback and time in writing this review.
Please give us a chance to take care of you on your next stay as well.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    195
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
141
86
57
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

An excellent hotel with all amenities in the heart of Chennai. The rooms are very comfortable and the ambience is par excellence. The roof top swimming pool is worth mentioning.
The service and attitude of the staff are worth emulating.
The coffee shop is very nice and the food is awesome.
An excellent place to stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aftabalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest
There is a saying that a satisfied guest can make one’s day in the hotel business, and we can resonate the same while reading this. Your review was very uplifting and we will be sure to pass it along to our teams. The most beautiful part of the rooftop infinity-edge poolside is the total experience of being in a seemingly private space, elevated above the green foliage of the neighbouring forest reserve. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy the pool during your stay with us.
Please let us know when you are visiting next because we’re already looking forward.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coimbatore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is well located. Not very far from the airport and close to the main areas of chennai. The front office staff was very courteous. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Flying elephant, the restaurant has some great food. The only little issue I had there was with some of the room service food. A few room service staff whom i called for ordering, did not know much about the food on the menu and had to constantly refer back to the chef. I also found it strange that they didnt have chocolate sauce with the ice creams we ordered. I would expect a park hyatt to have such basics at any given point of time. Other than that a great stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chetanbg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest
We were pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank-you for taking time out to write this review. The Flying Elephant is our much favoured restaurant and we were delighted to know you enjoyed the food there. Our chefs prepare it with great care. We were sorry to hear about the miscommunication regarding the chocolate sauce, and we agree that this might have borrowed from the pleasure of enjoying your ice cream. We shall communicate the same to the team so that it is not repeated again.
We hope to welcome you soon again.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
247 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a new hotel and excellently located - not too far from the airport and close to many commercial areas. The rooms are spacious and well-equipped. Large windows. Bathroom area is very good.

Lobby is nice. There are a number of restaurants serving multiple cuisines. The bar is also attractive with a wide choice of drinks and snacks.

Improvement required - the guest services staff. They need to be more responsive and when they promise call back - someone should call back!

Room Tip: A room facing the pond within the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeshkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mr Rajesh
We thank-you for the review and also your feedback on our guest services associates. It is a Park Hyatt Chennai belief to continuously look for ways to improve services and therefore we welcome a candid feedback from our guests. We shall definitely communicate yours with the team. And we totally agree that one must make a note of their commitments and deliver them promptly.
Looking forward to the chance to serve you soon again. Do let us know the dates of your next visit.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for a couple of days last week. We had originally been given a room in the smoking area but we asked them to change it to a non smoking floor. It was done promptly. The staff in general was very polite and accommodating. Vikrant, on the front desk helped us with a complimentary late check out as we had our flight late in the evening. That was much appreciated. Since we were new to the area, they volunteered to help us find cabs to get around the city.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the terrace pool. We also had dinner at the 'Flying Elephant' one of the nights and tried the tasting menu. Loved the tiger prawns and the Kway Teow. The Indian dishes were delicious too. The breakfast buffet was limited though. It was tasty nevertheless. Overall we had a lovely time at this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the lily pond view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AruRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest
We were delighted to learn that your stay at Park Hyatt Chennai was a pleasant one. It was very motivating to read your review. Your words of appreciation for our associate Vikrant have been duly communicated. Our rooftop pool is one of the most popular spots in the hotel, and much liked by our guests. The one other popular spot it contends with is The Flying Elephant, which is why we are glad you enjoyed both these places. Our chefs were pleased to know you enjoyed our culinary offerings there.
Do let us know when you would be visiting again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great rooms on the Velachery side, spacious, well lit. Handy during a tired business trip -- I showed up here sick and groggy, the staff was prompt in getting hold of stuff I needed, including what I thought was one of the front desk guys pulling out his own aspirin. A slight disadvantage is that the location is not really a walkable neighborhood, the other Hyatt in the city is much better for that. This is a functional joint with an extremely helpful staff, and an neat bar. Not that Chennai is a great city for Sauna, but for what it's worth this hotel has the best Sauna I have ever used at a hotel in India.

Room Tip: pick the non-city facing side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyojeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mr Joyojeet
Thank-you very much for writing this review for us. It can be hard to be travelling when one is ill and tired, and we hope that our team made it up with their warm service. Thank-you for your words of appreciation. We are glad to know you enjoyed the sauna at Antahpura Spa.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The ambience and the locality is very nice ,food quality is below average,the big disappointment with the service.Restaurant team unable to manage a crowd of 5 tables.(Most of the people taking Buffet,very few took al-la- carte),
They took very long time to respond,the method of serving is not in a professional way, without asking us ,the guy cleaning my table,few of the food items spilled in our dress.
I visited earlier times too,but not so much issues.They need to improve a lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest
We were sorry to hear that your experience at The Dining Room at our hotel did not meet your expectations. You are right that this should never have occurred, and we have addressed it with our team. It is our continued endeavour to provide efficient services to our guests and we hope to be able to present a memorable experience the next time you visit.
Please allow us to welcome you back again.
Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#7 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chennai

Property: Park Hyatt Chennai
Address: 39 Velachery Road | Near Raj Bhavan, Chennai (Madras), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtfully understated yet contemporary in design, Park Hyatt Chennai offers discerning business and leisure travellers their personal address in the city. Located next to the governor's residence, alongside the Guindy Forest Reserve, this serene sanctuary is at close proximity to the airport and prime business districts of the city. Some of the key features of the hotel include the dynamic, multi-level restaurant, The Flying Elephant,the all-day dining restaurant serving peninsular Indian and classic western cuisine - The Dining Room, the award-winning Antahpura Spa, a serene lily pond as the central focal point of the hotel and an infinity edge pool on the rooftop that captures breathtaking views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hyatt Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing