We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!! But service was pathetic!!”
Review of Ambica Empire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambica Empire
Ranked #116 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for money!! But service was pathetic!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Good Hotel. Well maintained. The staff are very courtesies. Food was excellent. Very nice lobby.

Everything is perfect except 2 issues:

- room service was very pathetic. I got coffee after 40 minutes.

- no bath towel in room. No hangers. After several reminders and after 60 minutes I got bath towel

To enjoy your stay, before check-in please check the room for all facilities availability in the room and demand for amenities.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Venkataraman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    52
    44
    14
    22
See reviews for
22
16
14
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Old property and centrally located. Thats where the entire experience about the hotel stops. One should clearly ask before check in whether ac is working or not, whether washroom has been cleaned or not. I found that lots of rooms have these recurring problems.

Food is also not upto mark with the breakfast spread looked like stale. Though I must say that the hospitality was decent. However even at the cost at which it was, not a good value of money. I believe the adjacent hotel ginger" might be a better bet though frankly I have never stayed in that property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

i Stayed in this Hotel in the Month of June for a Transit, Front Office Staffs were very Warm and Hospitality..House Keeping Staffs were Excellent and very Professionals.. i wish them all the Best..
Food is Good too..

Only Suggestion is They Must Renovate the Bathrooms, which was Looking Shabby..

Overall it was very very Good..

Room Tip: Stay in Executive Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aravind78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is one of the best hotels of Chennai on 100 ft road. It is decorated in ethnic style which a lot of carvings. Best rooms and located in the heart of the city. A good place for stay. The morning breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Good business hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAHASRANAMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, and on check-in, the service of the Front office staff was horrible ! They were not at all bothered to help us, was more interested in greeting another Indian group who was checking in. The bell boys & porters were far better, and was always with a smile, and ever so helpful. When asked a question, the 2 girls at the reception answered as if they're doing us a favour by letting us stay there. Very rude.

Went for breakfast the next morning, and had something called "French Toast" and when I ate, it was a Banana mixed paste which was revolting. I nearly threw up then and there ! Having said that, the boy who was there to make "thosai" promptly came to our table and offered something else.

The day we were checking out, we wanted to keep 1 room (we had booked 2 rooms) till 5 in the evening, as our flights were in the night. Again the ever so rude "front desk" informed me that even if we are to keep the room for 1 hour, we need to pay the full day rate ! Never have I heard that before. We were in Chennai for medical purposes, and didn't want our patient to be inconvenienced in anyway, and therefore kept back 1 room.

Have to say we stayed here because we had no options, as the hotel we wanted to stay in (The Raintree in Anna Salai) was fully booked.

Best to avoid this hotel even if you have no options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayathrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotels looks quite old from building construction. The tariff is OK as per the hotel condition.. rooms were small & not airy. They lacked fresh air. I had ordered dinner in my room.. the staff courteous to give complementary papads with dinner.. but food was very ordinary in taste.. the breakfast had few options. there are nothing much attractions in this hotel.. i just tried this hotel for sake of trying something new.. so i would rate this hotel as avoidable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dijjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hard to miss. Bank on the vadapalani road. The lobby looks very ornate. However, the rooms are very basic. The flooring was very cold with A/C running in full blast and no carpeted or wooden flooring. Other than that, the stay was quite good. Comfortable bed and clean room.

The restaurant was a bit crammed. They had arranged the breakfast spread in the corridor leading to the lift. Could have done it better.

Overall a decent property and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepusprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Aminjikarai
Radha Regent
Radha Regent
#41 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
454 reviews
Hotel Maurya International
#181 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
74 reviews
Vestin Park
#232 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginger Hotel Chennai
#100 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
114 reviews
Regenta Central Deccan
#78 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
244 reviews
JP Hotel Chennai
#38 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambica Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambica Empire

Property: Ambica Empire
Address: 100 100 Feet Road | 100 Ft. Road, Vadapalani, Chennai (Madras) 600026, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambica Empire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambica Empire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambica Empire Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing