We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le "Royal" Meridien..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #26 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Le "Royal" Meridien..”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Truly justifies its name... Le "Royal" Meridien is located just 5 km (15 minute drive) from the airport. Though, we were skeptical initially to go for it since it's a 12 year old property, but made the right choice finally to go for it. It is a grandeur with plethora luxuries to offer. The hotel provides airport transfers to guests for club rooms & suites.

Reception: The reception was warm and cordial. As soon as you enter the property, a grand lobby with a dome shaped ceiling instigates the feeling of royalty in you. Our luggage was transferred to one of the suite rooms on the third floor. The front office manager Mr. Roy explained us the inclusions and also showed us the property. The pool, sauna, steam and Jacuzzi are complimentary for residents of suites. Spa services are on a surcharge but discounted rates.

Room: The room was almost perfect ("almost" because of couple of issues mentioned below) - Nice, clean, tidy, fresh, fragrant and spacious. The living room had all the amenities required for any business requirements. The bedroom was apt in sIze and comfort. There are two bathrooms in the suite - one near the entrance (smaller one) and one attached to the bedroom (Lavish one). The bathroom was also equipped with all the required amenities and comforts.
The corridors are long with antiques placed just in the right fashion.

The Royal Club Lounge: The lounge is on the third floor itself and happy hours are from 6 to 8 pm. I would like to specially mention the name of Mr. Damodar and one of his associate (apologies for not remembering his name). The two gentlemen left no stone unturned in making our stay at lounge special and exquisite. We were completely overwhelmed and moved with the hospitality they provided. I would like to thank them again on a personal note for the exceptional work they are doing. Cheers Guys!!

The swimming pool & Spa area (Le Mirage): The way to the swimming pool is like a maze with lots of twists and turns through the Le Mirage Spa. The swimming pool was impeccably clean & well maintained with crystal clear water. The required amenities are also available by the poolside. One can also order refreshments at the pool but possibly at a surcharge.
The steam room was full of steam, the temperature was also horribly high and there was no one to attend there. That's why didn't use the steam room.!!

Cilantro: The restaurant serves delectable and scrummy dishes. This is a must-go place for any foodie. Just tried the vegetarian cuisine and would recommend this place to all foodies. I have never had a better "Medu Vada" than what I had here. The grape juice was also very pleasing.

The staff: The staff is very courteous and always willing to help.

The best Part:

It was our anniversary and they arranged a special cake and a fruit basket for us. Both me and my wife were moved by the nice gesture.

A pianist plays Beethoven's in the evening in the lobby which is very soothing and relaxing.


The Ugly part:

1. The light in our bedroom was not working. We realized this only after 10 pm when we wanted to pack our bags for a flight next morning and found the light from bedside lamps insufficient. An electrician came to our room after 15 minutes and it took him more than 40 minutes to fix the light. This is when I had already requested him to change the halogen in the first instance to which he gave a deaf ear. He kept fiddling with light fitting unnecessarily. Ultimately, it was with the change of halogen only that the light was restored. This marred the overall experience of the stay. I would not like to post further about this in a public forum.

2. There was no power socket available in the bedroom. We are living in an age where two mobiles and a laptop would be common and power sockets are required at the bedside, Power sockets were available in the living room but none of them was free. It was on request that a bulky junction box was provided. But to keep the chargers functional, one of the bedside lamps had to be left switched on overnight. This hampered with the sleep quality.

3. The lock of the bedroom was frisky and we once felt locked-up inside, unable to move out. It was only after a forceful twist that it got opened. Complained about this to one of the on duty managers. Nothing happened. I then left the door untouched,

Keeping aside this ugly part, I would term my stay as memorable and persistent. Would like to revisit for the kind of "Royal" service provided.!!

Cheers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacati0nist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    346
    157
    74
    51
See reviews for
151
61
102
711
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I once went for a dinner with my Wife. i first had a good impression from my colleagues regarding the food, but when we went there, i was not happy with the food standards and quality.
Some of the curries and biriyani was tasteless. Even after complaining to chef regarding the same , there was no improvement. they were not concern about the customers. after finishing our dinner, the bill was not i expected. it was very costly. so finally i prefer not to go even it is for free.
only thing enjoyable is the ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasikumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
207 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel to stay in Chennai. Rooms look to be renovated. Service is excellent and staff is extra nice. Gym is equiped with all necessary equipments. Breakfast spread is good. Its not easy to find your room when you step out of elevator and more signs required- but thats a smaller problem. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

the hotel is on the busy GST street with lots of road works going on in front of the property.
went there for a week end to attend a wedding. the hotel has decent size rooms . but the in room service is quite poor

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumarraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here for just one night while in town for work. When my coworker booked the hotel, I had my doubts since the hotel looked old and dingy from the online photos. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised. The airport pick up was efficient and friendly. The check-in was quick and efficient. Staff were very friendly and were good about recognizing my premier status with SPG. The hotel itself is quite old but my room was very well maintained. The floor was super clean and everything was spotless. Sheets and towels were new, white and crisp. Since I was a solo woman traveler, there was a nice tray of goodies such as eye mask, nail polish remover and some other amenities laid out on the bed. There were also some complimentary buttery almond cookies that were pretty delicious. The TV had a lot of international channels. We had to leave early the next morning at 6am, the hotel packed us boxed breakfasts and they were ready when we checked out.

The only downside to my stay was the check out process. Only 1 staff was working the front desk, there were 4 of us checking out and other customers requesting for this and that. The staff was distracted/overwhelmed and took forever.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzzzzzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
325 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location is closer to airport and Guindy area. The interior is pleasing, the lobby is large. The check in and check out was smooth. The staff very pleasing and courteous. The room was fairly large with big flat tv, the bathroom was also of decent size. The room service was fast and food was yummy. The buffet breakfast had very good spread of continental and local south Indian . Overall good experience with full marks to service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A wonderful grand hotel!! The foyer is large and lush, and staff is helpful, friendly and available. Head up to the Kuval, the seafood restaurant and enjoy yummy fresh food. Everything was impeccable from the airport pick up to the day trips. Loved my time here, and will do it again!

Room Tip: Have the staff members show you how to get to the pool or else you will be lost in the maze
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#22 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,609 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,379 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#27 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
960 reviews
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,189 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing