We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel marred by lack of attention to detail”
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Park Chennai
Ranked #48 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice hotel, reasonably priced in a central location. Excellent restaurants, especially the Lotus Thai restaurant, one of the best I have eaten at, with excellent dishes outstanding desserts and reasonably priced wine. The spa is terrific, and the service staff is very friendly and helpful.

Although rated a 5 star hotel, and while it has some elements of 5 star experience, this is compromised by lack of management's attention to detail. The flush lever in the bathroom leaked, and despite pointing this out, it was not fixed. Hair dryer in the bathroom is unusable because it has a 3-pin socket and the wall outlet will accommodate only 2-pin! The electrical switches and workmanship in particular are shoddy - wiring has been left dangling.

Has great potential if some of the small irritants are fixed.

Room Tip: Try the Thai restaurant...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank prakashkrishnaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We appreciate your feedback and while we are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay we assure you that we are working on the concerns you have raised. We have shared your comments with our teams at the spa and our restaurants, especially Lotus.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Park Chennai for a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
There are newer reviews for The Park Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Park is situated in a well connected area and has good places nearby for food & shopping. The first thing you notice as you enter are two huge heavy un-manned doors and you wonder why do I have to go through this grind everytime? The lobby is nice and spacious. The view from the rooms (on either side) is really sad - broken old buildings! We had a terrible time with room service where they took ages to bring cutlery etc to the rooms. The reception is also not the most friendly & took repetitive reminders & follow-ups to answer our queries. This did change after we escalated the service issues. The hotel does offer multiple dinning options from a restaurants, pubs, disc and roof-top dinning.
While the rooms are priced appropriately, the food, laundry, internet is extremely over priced. The rooms are spacious and well decored for an official stay. Overall an average experience.

Room Tip: Good for business travel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ketan_fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Park Chennai.

We regret the issues you faced during your stay and assure you that we have addressed your concerns with the relevant ream members.

We hope you give us a chance to welcome you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have the privilege of travelling often, and have hear that the Park hotel was the place to stay in, so during my recent travel to Chennai, I decided to stay here, and it definitely didn’t disappoint.

I received a very warm welcome from the reception team, and they were helpful, always ready to assist. My room was upgraded due to availability and they extended my checkout time on request.

The rooms are lush and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable, to the point I nearly overslept.

The breakfast was very good, there was a huge spread, and very attentive staff. The bar on the ground floor was excellent, enjoyed my evenings there

Overall a good stay, I definitely would recommend staying at The Park, I will surely be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FreedaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Park Chennai.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and services you experienced and will share your appreciation with our team.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Park Chennai on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Located in the heart of the city with easy access to almost everywhere, located right opposite to US Visa consulate, clean interiors, awesome breakfast spread, in-room food orders are very expensive, staff is friendly

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemalsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the facilities and services during your visit.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

During my last 4 visits to Chennai, this hotel was occupied and stayed at new properties, but this time back to this property, feel that i reached my home in Chennai, feel relaxed plus..
The employees, food plus everything as usual good.

Thanks to the team

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reghuvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Park Chennai.

We are delighted that you consider this your home away from home. We will share your appreciation of the food and services with our team - it will boost their morale.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Park Chennai on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked at a discounted price, which was tipped by 20% additional discount on F&B. Staff are not very modern though but good at their job & supportive. Allowed me to check-in early without making any fuss about it. 6 - O- 1 restaurant is good with live counter and variety of options ... Leather bar is a must visit as well. I had a complimentary access to Pasha, nightclub as a resident guest and the crowd at pasha is good fun ... comfy bed made be sleep nicely after the party followed by great breakfast spread .. I didn't use the spa & swimming pool due to time constraints .. but overall a good experience at that price

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nardev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park Chennai.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will share your appreciation with our team.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Park Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is only for name a 5 star property , the rooms and not maintained well, the common areas are not clean , very clearly visible that the hotel needs a lot of renovation, the status at present is worse than a 3 star property.
Not worth it .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Amarendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Park Chennai.

We appreciate your feedback and have taken up the concerns you highlighted with our team so that we can improve our services in those areas.

We assure you that we are constantly updating our facilities and hope to welcome you back at The Park Chennai for a better experience.

Warm Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#18 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,236 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,161 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savera Hotel
#43 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,010 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
922 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#92 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Address: 601 Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotel Chennai
The Park Hotels Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing