We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it was the best hotel in Chennai, but was WRONG..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Ranked #4 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Good things about the hotel -
Very courteous staff and well informed.
I do not think service wise anybody could beat taj. What lacks is the infrastructure.


Things to improve -
The time taken for the butler or any person to come to the room needs to be improved. I had to call twice only then one would come to the room.
The play station console that was provided on request did not function properly. The hotel staff said they had only one set in the hotel which was quite disappointing.
After I requested for a renovated room, I was given one immediately without any hesitation, but after I entered I was shocked that the renovated room was 10 years behind any other modern hotels in india, leave alone hotels of other countries.
The room had no safe, which was again a shocker.
The elevator did not have any security or swipe card system. Any person can enter the lift and go the room. There was a security guard stationed at the lobby elevator area, but 6 out of 10 times, he was missing.
Post the terrorist attack at the taj mumbai, I thought taj properties would have max security, but I was wrong.
The evening snacks at the club lounge was atrocious.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
There are newer reviews for Taj Coromandel Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

More of a business hotel than the Oberoi hotels that we used for the rest of our trip. Room was smaller, bathroom not quite updated. Toilet flushes were a problem. Room service was ok...nothing special. Breakfast was very nice with good service. Maybe there are newer hotels that would be more luxurious but this hotel was fine for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The check-in and check-out was swift, the rooms good value, the location quite central, and the food and service excellent. What more can one ask for from a city hotel? True, the spa was under renovation but they had some make-shift arrangements which were adequate.

Room Tip: I was in one of the renovated rooms - lower floors I think. Please make sure that you get assigned t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Softlanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

A neat Indian welcome, with marigold gardland, diya et al by sari-clad smiling ladies beats any other welcome I have had in any other hotel i entered as a stranger. The room was clean, comfortable and adequately eqipped. The toilet flush did not work after some hours and although a team went about repairing it, finally I had to change rooms. The shift was managed efficiently by Housekeeping. This section had a surprise waiting for me each day i entered back into my room: a gift, some flowers, some creative towel arrangements. All in all, i felt that it mattered to Housekeeping that i smile when i enter my room exhausted to the bone. The breakfast staff were also keenly attentive, everyday. The credit card machine at Reception did not work and my card hd to be sent to another Taj property. Someone not familiar with Taj could find this situation stimulating anxiety. One major improvement that is sorely needed, apart from ensuring functioning mechanical and electrical machines, is free WiFi in the hotel, including the room.

Room Tip: in large hotels, choose a room close to the lift, but not next door.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Old taj hotel in central location. Some rooms have been renovated but even the old rooms are well designed but key cards and toilet flushes can refuse to work at times. Southern Spice restaurant serves good South Indian food. No spa, a couple of basic massages and the ladies steam room attendant pursues one with unnecessary attentions and a shrill voice. A premier taj hotel like this should have better spa services. The concierge and duty managers are helpful but fairly clueless about local cultural events like the December music festival. Overall, based on several visits to this and other taj hotels over the last ten years, I think this taj provides a good experience but comes behind the taj Krishna in Hyderabad with respect to interior decor, in room dining and spa services.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This Taj hotel has a stellar location. Unfortunately, that is where it all ends. I wish I could say more positive things about this property. Rooms felt dated, service was really slow and food quite a disappointment.

Let me start with the rooms -- heavy wood furniture and oranate furnishings. Maybe it is my personal preference, but it would be nice to have a cool and contemporary feeling that is more streamlined and not so oppressive and dark. The bed was a bit too hard for my liking as well.

Room service was terrible. Ordered dinner one night in the room, the food took really long. I needed to change the order as the item I ordered was made really spicy (despite being assured that would not be the case). It took almost another hour for the new item to arrive.

The coffee shop food was nothing special as well. Convenience was the key in eating there, but not memorable. Check out was painfully slow at the hotel. A real disappointment for a hotel in a luxury category.

Would I return to Taj Coromandel in Chennai -- the answer is no.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip.

Hotel is comfortable with a high standard of service as well as friendly staff on wait. Room and bed is comfortable and gave a decent rest through the night.

Although not situated near any shops or major malls, this can be easily reached via 'auto' a motorized scooter.

Breakfast is varied with choices and though I did not dine in any of the restaurants, I heard they are of pretty good standard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvinTSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,486 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,838 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,455 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#26 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Coromandel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Coromandel Chennai

Address: 37 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £127 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Coromandel Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a fusion of rich South Indian design and classic elegance, the Taj Coromandel has been a landmark of fine living and hospitality in Chennai for the past four decades. Named after the Coromandel coast, the Hotel presents an urban oasis of bespoke experiences for both business and leisure guests, with attentive service and state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Coromandel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Coromandel Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Taj Coromandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing