We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail!! a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Ranked #4 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Great hotel in the heart of the city - conveniently located. The roos are well appointed and take care of al requirements of the guest. Just one issue- the air conditioning is automatically withced on when the guest is out -which is strange for a chain of hotels that is so focussed on environment...metioned this to housekeeping- hope some action is taken!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjaliGarg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

The reception and front desk staff at any Taj hotel keep the Taj standard and here also you can expect the same. A very warm smile greets you, the moment you enter the lobby. the rooms are well appointed and have a very neat bathroom. But when I went for dinner the spread was not very impressive and same is my opinion about the breakfast. Both could be better. Also there are two things which I observed. The service and decor. Both needs much improvement. Entire staff at restaurant was very busy doing nothing. This is in comparison with other Taj hotels like Taj Bengal, Taj Banjara or Taj Delhi.
Still I prefer to come back here because she is Taj

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epsreekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Having arrived at 5 am and then connecting to chennai arriving at 8, we arranged a hotel pickup from the airport - probably more expensive than a taxi, but so lovely to have someone waiting for you and put you in the hotel car when you are worn out travelling, so this is a recommended option. The manager called us in the car asking if we were ok, and would we like any refreshments waiting for us when we arrived. On arrival the manager introduced himself, and checked us in immediately, when technically we were not entitled to the room till lunchtime, so important for us enabling us to recover from the time change, lack of sleep etc. We stayed in a Club Room, so we had Club hospitality, and breakfast, which was good. I presume there is more choice in the main breakfast room. The room was luxurious albeit not very large. The hotel is conveniently located for sightseeing. The hotel found us an excellent guide, Mr Asoka, who is highly recommended if you are lucky enough to be able to reserve him. He made the sightseeing a pleasurable experience and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel allowed us a late checkout as well and again we used the hotel car service back to the airport, where we were met by the Taj representative to ease check-in. All in all top service from start to finish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

As one might expect from the Taj group this is a classy luxe hotel. Spotless, great rooms with fully automated lights, curtains etc. loads of staff all delightful. Why not 5*? The breakfast is a little disappointing and the service quite amateur, slow and unresponsive. Again a predominantly business hotel that charges for Internet automatically downgrades it in my book.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The location is great.. as far as service is concerned, Taj never fails.. The front desk staff, housekeeping, room service ...all live upto Taj standards..rooms as not that bad... But if you compare it with other luxury hotels of Taj, brekfast spread could have been better..that is the only reason I gave it a four...All said and done, if I had to choose a hotel in chennai, I would still go with this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbkhaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

What can I say about the Taj? Lots! I am a loner, and I like celebrating life with myself. Of course, I do seek a companion who would be hospitable, caring, and worthy for my class of living. And that's where the Taj Coromandel comes into the picture. Located on a road by a name that every self-respecting Indian can be proud of, the Coromandel indeed lives up to the Mahatma's name. With class and dignity being the middle names, the hotel is indeed a delight for every guest.

While the Leading Hotels of the World tag is testimony to this grand 5-star hotel, the Taj Coromandel is meant for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Located in proximity to business and entertainment destinations, the hotel is a blend of the modern and the contemporary. A perfect prelude to the elite and premium class, the Coromandel's European charm plays host to affluent South Indian architecture design. The richness of the hotel is further enhanced by personal and attentive service, posh amenities, and national & international cuisine crafted to perfection by the finest chefs from India and the world over.

To all you travellers out there, this is to let you know that a stay at the Taj Coromandel is an experience that should be experienced. Like I always say 'Better done than said'!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srikanthshining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Really nice place.....good service......buffet breakfast was good too!! The checking in part took some time, but that was understandable the hotel was full during April-May as IPL teams were staying in the hotel frequently.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the pool.........better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnj1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,637 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
3,097 reviews
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#19 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#9 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,125 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#11 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,585 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#31 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Coromandel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Coromandel Chennai

Address: 37 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam/Marina Beach , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £112 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Coromandel Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a fusion of rich South Indian design and classic elegance, the Taj Coromandel has been a landmark of fine living and hospitality in Chennai for the past four decades. Named after the Coromandel coast, the Hotel presents an urban oasis of bespoke experiences for both business and leisure guests, with attentive service and state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Coromandel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Coromandel Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Taj Coromandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing