We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Ranked #4 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Havant
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We used the Taj Coromandel for a well-earned break after a busy business trip, to unwind and get a bit of pampering.

Mission accomplished. The levels of service were second to none, across the board. The hardest decision is which department to praise the most. Our vote comes down in favour of Chipstead bar and cocktail lounge. The staff were wonderful, highly skilled and clearly loved their job. Bless you, boys for looking after us so well and yes Haroon, that was my best Martini of he year.

The pool and spa area were a joy too, and we were well looked after. Likewise in all of the restaurants. The only slight downer is the quality of the room, which looks a little bit tired and is just a bit smaller than we expected, but that was not the main focus of our stay.

We would love to stay again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Surgeoncyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that my team has taken good care of you on your recent visit to Taj Coromandel. Your words of praise will definitely encourage us in our endeavour to achieve greater excellence.
I would like to share that we will soon be launching the Jiva spa complex adjacent to the pool, which will further enhance the leisure experience at the Hotel.
Taj Coromandel is undergoing a phase-wise renovation and the Taj Club Rooms and Suites will be renewed in keeping with the international standards of luxury.
I am happy to note that you will be back with us again. It would be our pleasure and privilege to look after you.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    295
    61
    18
    13
See reviews for
120
105
75
666
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Everything at the Taj Coromandel is superb. Excellent, "smart rooms", with full electronic lighting and climate control. Extremely comfy beds. Cable. Wi-fi. Well appointed with tasteful, modern decor. Bathrooms are roomy with excellent amenities.

The Italian restaurant was so delicious.

From arrival to departure, every single need was instantly taken care of. Impeccable service that you expect from a Taj.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Ms Amanda,
Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to note that the newly-renovated room and enhanced amenities at Taj Coromandel have met your expectations. We are grateful to you for your compliments for our Italian specialty restaurant, Prego.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Taj Coromandel was peaceful, calm, cool and the service was wonderful. There was also a great little shop in the lobby with some of the best handicrafts from the region at very fair prices.
Security was very good , but it was the personal greetings and farewells by the staff, including the manager in her beautiful blue silk sari that is what I will remember.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickledpear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.
I have shared your kind words of appreciation with our associates who are encouraged and motivated on receiving the same.
We are glad that you enjoyed shopping at Taj Khazana. In fact, the silk sarees worn by our lady front office associates have been designed exclusively for us by the weavers from the ancient city of Varanasi. This is a part of a unique Taj initiative which provides sustainable livelihoods for several weavers in the region.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Really impressed with my first stay here. Impressive welcome. Very intelligent and friendly front office who put you immediately at ease.

Room space excellent and well appointed. Bathroom is large. Has a confusing shower but with detailed instructions which if negotiated leads to bathing pleasure ! Not happy with no water jets in the loo...definitely uncomfortable for Indian guests.

Tried Southern Spice and tried their Thali. Have no hesitation in saying this is one of the best South Indian restaurant in India. Have several home made recipes which are authentic and lip smacking. Would particularly like to compliment the restaurant staff whom I found exceptional. Warning : try the thali on a hungry stomach !! I was forced to abject surrender by the time I was halfway through the meal :)

I feel the hotel can service is grossly overpriced. I paid about Rs.2800 for 3 hours. Always a better idea to hire from a local operator in advance.

Breakfast was also excellent with a wonderful spread. overall : staff excellent,food super excellent,guest amenities pricing : poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I have shared your compliments with my colleagues at Taj Coromandel and they are inspired by your feedback.
I am however, disappointed to note your comments regarding the pricing of the car services and guest amenities. Please be assured that we will look into this and review the same.
Thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Coromandel.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhansi, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Taj Coromandel is truly a world-class property that lives up to its pedigree, be it the grand entrance lobby, the restaurants, the rooms or the service. The location is good, if one wants to be near the centre of the city.

You are ceremonially welcomed and pampered throughout your stay. The room service is outstanding. The staff members are exceptionally well trained, courteous and attentive.

The buffet meals are excellent, with plenty of choices. I was particularly impressed by the variety of fruits, including pineapple, dragon fruit, Californian grapes and fresh figs.

Ultimately, the only weakness in this hotel is in the blandness of its perfection! If you prefer a hotel with its own distinctive character, plan to stay at the heritage Connemara hotel, another property in Chennai belonging to the Taj Group.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to know that you enjoyed every interaction with the members of the team as well as the newly-renovated facilities at Taj Coromandel.
The Taj Group has five Hotels in Chennai, each with its own distinct appeal. We are grateful to you for recommending our services and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Staying in any Taj property is really satisfying and always linger in your memory. Hence I was at Taj Coromandel during my recent visit to Chennai. Even though my friends suggested me to stay in other properties which came up recently, my preference was Taj. I was here for one week and everyday was enjoyable. Love to come back here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epsreekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are grateful to you for your patronage and elated to know that your recent experience at Taj Coromandel has met your expectations. We would like to inform you that we will soon be launching destination tours that have been specially curated for our guests; we hope that you will be able to experience the same on your next visit.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Coromandel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The property offers much more than the two other Taj Hotels in the city. It is a luxury property.

The single largest high light for me is the pool !

The Chinese Restaurant is good.

Got something really nice for a wedding from the gift shop which has a nice choice.

The location in central chennai is tops.

The construction work was a bit of a nuisance. Hopefully temporary.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to read that your experience at the Taj Coromandel has been satisfactory. I would like to share that we will soon be launching the signature Jiva Spa complex adjacent to the pool, which will further enhance the relaxation experience at the Hotel. We have noted your comment on the construction work – while it is temporary, we will ensure that it is unobtrusive.
Look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Coromandel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Coromandel Chennai

Property: Taj Coromandel Chennai
Address: 37 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Coromandel Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a fusion of rich South Indian design and classic elegance, the Taj Coromandel has been a landmark of fine living and hospitality in Chennai for the past four decades. Named after the Coromandel coast, the Hotel presents an urban oasis of bespoke experiences for both business and leisure guests, with attentive service and state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Coromandel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Coromandel Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Taj Coromandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing