We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of service makes the Taj Coromandel an easy first choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Ranked #3 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Tiruchirappalli
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality of service makes the Taj Coromandel an easy first choice”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The first five star hotel in Chennai still retains the edge when it comes to quality of service and thoroughly professional, well trained staff. Thankfully the renovation that's been going on for the last couple of years appears to have been completed giving the interiors a much needed face lift. Rooms are on the smaller side by today's standards but the amenities make up for that. Security can be quite bothersome but needs to be tolerated in the interest of safety. The Golden Dragon at the Taj Coromandel offer what is perhaps the best Chinese cuisine in the city. Overall a pleasant experience that makes the hotel an easy choice despite the newer establishments in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors and away from the lobby are preferable to avoid disturbance from the musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVGeorgeIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to note that your experience at the Taj Coromandel has met your expectations. We are grateful to you for your words of praise for our newly-renovated facilities and associates. This will surely encourage us to continue to strive for excellence.
I do hope you have dined at our award-winning South Indian specialty restaurant – Southern Spice. If not, I would recommend you do so on your next visit.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    300
    61
    18
    13
See reviews for
120
111
78
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The rooms are spacious,well maintained & equipped. Spacious lobby rightaway gives you a feeling of a grand welcome.Visitors have a very respectful place to wait for the guest .Have a few restaurants at the lobby level,very convenient

Room Tip: deluxe suites are impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to note that your stay at the Taj Coromandel has been comfortable. I do hope you have had the opportunity to dine at our specialty restaurants – Golden Dragon, Southern Spice and Prego. If not, I would recommend you do so on your next visit.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager - Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The place is loosing its comfort and cleanliness, as always was on executive floor and the moment you walk into corridor you feel you are two decades behind... The rooms are old run down and smelly... The water on wash basis was brown and smelly....

After complaint was moved to another floor a new room that's a normal business room similar to a business hotel nothing luxury about it ...

Love the gym but power shuts few times and attendance is poor...

The hotel happens to be in heart of city so u live through

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank UtsavManjari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
Please do accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay at the Taj Coromandel. The Hotel has undergone a phase-wise renovation; please be assured that we will be taking up the remaining floors for upgradation soon.
We do hope you have had an opportunity to dine at our signature Cantonese and Sichuan cuisine restaurant – Golden Dragon. If not, we would recommend you do so on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having stayed in many Taj hotels in Indian, then the Taj Coromandel disappointments in comparison.

Stayed on the 7th floor which apparently is the club floor, only this is the only floor where the rooms have never been renovated, which is obvious everywhere you look. All switches are worn down, half of them on the light control panel were unreadable due to wear. The dark old wood and the thick worn very old carpeting gives the room a heavy atmosphere. The electric (only) curtain didn't work in my room, so called them to fix it when going for breakfast, one hour later no one had attended to it, so called again, and after a little while I could finally look out of the windows. Asked the "butler" where the club room was, where after he pointed to my room and said "This is your club room sir!", thanks, I then gave up and went to have breakfast in the main restaurant on the ground level....

It took 6 telephone calls to the reception for the Wifi to work, turns out the check-in staff had added a space and a random letter after my name, which was then what had to be inserted to log on. Ehh okay, kind of difficult to guess.

Staying on the top floor was nice, but every time one takes the lift up, a security guard must insert his key into the lift for access, this gets really tiresome, especially when often going from lower level and then having to stop at ground level first to find a security guard to unlock the lift. I mean, even the simplest 3-star hotels have keycards for lift access and room keys.

Spent a couple of hours by the pool. It's a rather cramped area, with construction going on all around, never mind the for India obligatory big crows hanging around, but the rather cloudy pool water was not exactly inviting for a swim.

On a more positive note then the staff in general are very courteous and the newly renovated gym is well equipped.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying on the Club Floor (7th floor), it's the only ones not renovated the pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKexpat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
While I am grateful to you for your compliments for our associates, I am deeply disappointed to note the service lapses that have taken place during your stay at the Taj Coromandel. Do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken up with strict measure and we have addressed the same.
While the Hotel has undergone a phase-wise renovation, we will soon be taking up the Club Rooms for upgradation, in keeping with the international benchmarks of hospitality.
We regret that the construction around the poolside was a hindrance to your experience. While we have renovated our health club, the Jiva Spa complex will be launched in July, which will further enhance the relaxation experience at the Hotel.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity by choosing the Taj Coromandel on your next visit. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
216 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, the Coromandel Property has comfortable newly refurbished rooms and embodies the traditional Taj values of courtesy ,personalised service and comfort.
The breakfast buffet is extensive and caters to all tastes and the dining options ,including room service, are extensive.
Strongly Recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to note that your stay at the Taj Coromandel has been comfortable. I do hope you have had the opportunity to dine at our specialty restaurants – Golden Dragon, Southern Spice and Prego. If not, I would recommend you do so on your next visit.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager - Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botucatu, SP
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed two nights in this property and liked very much. The breakfast was excellent. tThe restaurants in the hotel are pricy and nothing special. Beside the hotel there is a pizza place ( 100 meters ) to the right very good and excellent price.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good in this hotel. We stayed in the 6th floor and our room rate had some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This may be the one of the oldest hotels in Chennai but it is certainly one of the best.
The rooms are well maintained, the bathrooms are very good but what really shines here is the service. I only spent 2 nights here with my family but we all felt very special. The staff was warm, genuine and very caring towards my elderly grandparents. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Although there is no Michelin guide for Chennai Southern Spice is 3 stars in my book. It alone is worth the journey. There may be newer hotels in town but the Taj Coromandel is where i would stay the next time I return to Chennai.

Room Tip: Get a "luxury" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roar_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to note that your experience at the Taj Coromandel has met your expectations. Your kind words of praise for our associates and services will surely encourage us to continue to strive for excellence.
We hope that we will be able to showcase the all-new Jiva Spa that is soon to be launched adjacent to the pool, on your next visit. I would also recommend that you experience Captivating Chennai – a bouquet of bespoke experiences that give you an insider’s peek into the city’s art and culture.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,358 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
2,632 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
960 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,379 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Coromandel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Coromandel Chennai

Property: Taj Coromandel Chennai
Address: 37 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#3 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Coromandel Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a fusion of rich South Indian design and classic elegance, the Taj Coromandel has been a landmark of fine living and hospitality in Chennai for the past four decades. Named after the Coromandel coast, the Hotel presents an urban oasis of bespoke experiences for both business and leisure guests, with attentive service and state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Coromandel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Coromandel Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Taj Coromandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing