We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Taj service with attentive employees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Ranked #4 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here as part of an India trip. Staff spent lots of time helping us plan, advising dining and nothing was too much trouble. Impeccable service. Liked the butler service in the club rooms which reminded of old fashioned England. Our room was not one of the newer ones but what can you say when service was some of the best in the world. Will be back

Hello to Bala, Nikhail.

Deliver for excursions was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are grateful to you for your kind words acknowledgement for our associates, which will encourage us in our endeavour to achieve excellence.
The phase-wise renovation of the Taj Coromandel will soon be extended to the Club Floors, in keeping with international standards and practices.
We will soon be launching the Jiva Grande Spa, which will further enhance the ‘oasis of relaxation’ at the lower lobby of the Hotel.
Thank you once again for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager – Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
There are newer reviews for Taj Coromandel Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I felt welcome as soon as I arrived as a number of the staff greeted me by name and several remembered me from a previous visit. Nice suite and great hospitality. Travel desk very helpful with ordering cars and dealing with our ever-changing requirements.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank PDSK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
We are grateful to you for your kind acknowledgement of our service and associates. It is very encouraging to receive reviews such as these, as we continue to strive for excellence.
We will soon be launching the Jiva Grande Spa adjacent to the poolside, which will further enhance the oasis of relaxation at the Hotel.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed one night on a business trip to Chennai. The hotel was excellent and the staff were really really great. Treated myself and my other 2 colleagues with extreme courtesy and indulged in all requests. Had dinner at one of the hotel restaurants and the food along with the service was very satisfactory. Will highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjeewaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
My team and I are delighted to receive your compliments and are encouraged to continue to strive for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Coromandel soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A good experience which began at the airport where the airport rep came looking for us while we were waiting to collect our bags and the car was ready to transport us to the hotel.distance of the hotel from the airport is the only negative factor as the travel time can be 45 minutes to an hour due to metro construction work.when we reached the reception the paper work and keys were ready which was a pleasant surprise and we just signed one page and moved to our room . The advanced security measures are good and would be an added plus for ladies traveling alone.
I only had in room dining which was good, however incase you repeat an order you may be in for a surprise as the dish may be different ,in my case for lunch my chicken soup was a clear soup with diced chicken and for dinner the same order came with vegetables and chicken.the food is good and worth what you spend .
The house keeping is good and attentive to your requirements .the rooms are nice and quiet,but view wise it's not much as you are in the heart of the city and is convenient for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ashitpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing for valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to note that your stay at the Hotel has met your expectations; our associates are delighted to receive your words of praise and encouragement.
It was a pleasure and privilege to have you with us at the Taj Coromandel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director – Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel really is excellent! The staff makes you feel like a king (it really is the best staff of any of the hotels I have stayed at in India). They really do cater to all of your needs. Room was quiet, clean, & very functional. Decent price as well.

Be sure to ask for a room facing the quiet side, and they will do their best to do so. They already include several bottles of spring water per day (a must!)

Restaurants inside are very nice, and the room package often includes a nice and varied buffet breakfast.

And their gym is open 24 hours a day = several treadmills, but only one exercise bike, and one elliptical. This gym was functional, although I like the gyms to be a bit cooler in temp (it was cool, but if you are working out hard, it warms up quickly there). Overall = excellent place!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the quiet side....
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KenG_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are grateful to you for your kind words of appreciate for our associates, which will encourage us to continue to strive for excellence.
I do hope you have had a chance to dine at Golden Dragon, the city’s favourite Cantonese and Schezwan cuisine restaurant. If not, I would highly recommend you do so on your next visit.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Taj Coromandel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director - Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This used to be one of the best hotels but lately it has gotten somewhat "long in the tooth". The lobby area is majestic and great but the rooms need renovation - especially the ones around the pool area. Staff is good and on par with other Taj group hotels. The food is great but you can go out and get good food in town. If you are a fan of South Indian food, you HAVE to try Raintree. They will have to do some renovations before I come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank J p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a really great property bang in the middle of the city. Service levels of this hotel are world class. Personally for me, it was the best service that i have ever received in my travels including few of the world's best hotel groups. The room quality is awesome and amenities are just better than expectations. Breakfast spread is also classy. Definitely will stay here back if in Chennai again.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash N, General Manager at Taj Coromandel Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are grateful to you for your generous compliments for the facilities and services at the Taj Coromandel.
It was a pleasure to have you with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
N Prakash
Director - Operations, Oriental Hotels Ltd &
General Manager, Taj Coromandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,487 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,848 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,455 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Coromandel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Coromandel Chennai

Address: 37 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £124 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Coromandel Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a fusion of rich South Indian design and classic elegance, the Taj Coromandel has been a landmark of fine living and hospitality in Chennai for the past four decades. Named after the Coromandel coast, the Hotel presents an urban oasis of bespoke experiences for both business and leisure guests, with attentive service and state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Coromandel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Coromandel Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Taj Coromandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing