We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Suriya International Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Iris Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kences Inn(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Samco Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Malles Manotaa(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sakithyan Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
FabHotel Blossoms T Nagar(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Urvashi International Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveller rating
597
428
92
16
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
428
92
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewst nagarvalue for moneypondy bazaarbusiness hotelroom serviceexcellent serviceexcellent hotelbreakfast spreadgreat ambiencethe heart of the citytravel deskexcellent staynon vegmodern amenitiescomfortable staycoffee shopbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
900 - 905 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

It is a 4 star property. It is as good as a 5 star environment except that the food is South Indian oriented. Excellent hospitality. We stayed for three nights having booked it only the previous day. The location is very good as it is just off the Anna Salai. The restuant is located on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Nothing to be very specific about
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickyban07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

we had a wonderful stay at the hotel with very good cosy rooms , excellent staff , hospitality & tasty food. Airport p/u & drop was very good. Impressive interiors. drawback was the swimming pool & other recreation facilities were under repairs , could not enjoy them.
Affordable deals on rates for family. very near to shopping area is a great plus. worth visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are superb with great view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m_karandikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first stay was not very pleasant. But this time I stayed here because an American colleague had made reservations in the same Hotel. And when I mentioned my unpleasant experience ( last time ) during check in they immediately upgraded me to a better room without any charge.That is appreciated. I THINK the only upgrade item was a FOOT massager and that was good.
The complementary breakfast is very good and good variety. You get Hot Dosas and omelette. The masala tea was superb. I also ate 2 dinners in the In - House Restaurant and the food was very delicious.
The Hotel is somewhat old and they need to do something about that. One can see the ageing. They charge like a 4 Star but I would rate is just as a 3 star ( however, I would prefer a newer 3 Star Hotel if given the option ) . The Bed is just good enough and not super comfortable or cozy. The towels are not bright white. The television set is a 100 years old ( exaggerated ! ).
The 8th floor has Club rooms which I guess may be much better and more expensive.
Location of the Hotel is very much in the city and there is a shopping street just nearby called as Pondy Street.
They have fast elevators. And the Lobby is really spacious and well lighted.

Room Tip: If you have more budget, try the CLUB room. I think these may be better than the standard ones.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtrotterrke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The name is grand but the rooms are not do grand. I stayed for a couple of nights at this very reasonably priced hotel a couple of weeks ago. The rooms are a bit old with furniture chipped and cracked. Old crt tv with limited channels. Beds are not the most comfortable around either. Make sure you ask for a room far away from any of the smoking rooms! Good thing is that wireless internet is free. Amenities and toiletaries are very average. The hotel has a few very nice restaurants and bars. The lounge restaurant features a very nice buffet priced at ~Rs 750. Lobby Bar is pretty decent too. Staff are very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My son and I went along with my husbaNd on his business trip to Chennai, India. It was my first time in India and GRT Grand made me love the country even more. From the doorman, reception, waiters, housekeeping staff and security, they all made sure we all felt at home. Everyone has been so exceptionally kind, friendly and accommodating.
Security personnel can be seen every floor, which will make you feel secure.
The only drawback was that the pool was under renovation on the duration of our stay but nonetheless, it didnt faze me out one bit. You can always step outdoor, have some coffee at the coffee shop right across the street. There's also KFC and Pizza Hut within the area should you be craving for food other than Indian cuisine.
We should also like to thank Gopi for being so kind to us.
Thank you, GRT Grand for our amazing stay. You are definitely one of Chennai's charms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cai6678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews