We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #16 of 396 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great hotel - good value for money”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is the third time I stayed t this hotel. My stays at Chennai are usually due to business trips. The rooms are ok and just about right. This place is right in the middle of the city -T Nagar. There is a good 24 hr coffee shop. Also the room service is round the clock, so this was a major help when I checked in at close to 12 midnight. The breakfast is great, you must try the south Indian cuisine of Masala Dosa, Upma, etc. The service was ok and not really outstanding. This is of course very good value for money, if you are on a business trip. They apparently have a swimming pool in the basement - could not use it, was running behind schedule today morning. Overall good ambience and I would definitely come back for the great value that the hotel offers.

Room Tip: Try the suites if it suits your budget. I am told they are excellent. The view from the standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debabrata19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    341
    84
    16
    16
See reviews for
212
97
80
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

It is the ideal place for a quick getaway everything about the location and place is nice, it is priced little high, well trained staff food in the waff is the best sea food one could get in the place. rooms facing the sea are the best ones to book.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivagoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a conference there.Seating for two hundred was organised well and the staff were excellent in making the event memorable. Food served was very good both veg % non veg, in buffet style and spread was also good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

- Professional and well trained Staff
- Value for Money
- Good food
- They are renovating many rooms, so 6th Flr is good.
- Not many options in the mini bar, but a good bar is available
- Prime location, every shopping destination is just 2 miles away
- Good place to stay with family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th flr are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravindran2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

omg i cud never ever beleive such a heavenly stay in chennai. it was actually for a family trip to india we stayed there, the rooms were too gud for a 4 star hotel with a 5 star facilities. we had a great time in the hotel, the room was very luxurious with all the necessities and the service was too good... i really had a heavenly stay in chennai...and i wud never forget grt grand if i come back chennai...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krithika m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

When you enter the hotel and do the check in, you will be surprised. Because the enrance is so nice. The eleveter is bery big and you can see all around in the floor which your room is located.
Room itself is very big and clean.

Complimentary breakfast is nice, too.
You should stay in this hotel when you visit Chennai.

Room Tip: Every room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAKA_NANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Overall we were very happy with our stay at the GRT Grand. The staff were very professional and the hotel is well run. We also had a great meal at the Copperpoint restaurant where the staff were happy to advise us on various dishes that we hadn't had before.

The only real disappointment was that the swimming pool is closed for renovation and we weren't told about this before we arrived. GRT have arranged for guests to be able to use the pool at a nearby hotel instead but we thought it was quite poor and not very clean (it's under a ledge where the local birds like to do their business).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NE_Traveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
1,142 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
877 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
1,437 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 396 in Chennai (Madras)
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, Grand by GRT Hotels provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing