We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand by GRT Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand by GRT Hotels
Ranked #14 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel has a very splendid view of lobby cum center. One can view the plush interiors of hotel from the single point. Rooms are good, interior are in classic style. The spa has been completely redone with a wonderful large pool

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sksekar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    312
    82
    14
    14
See reviews for
184
83
72
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is under construction and noise and dust is an issue. Was first given a smoking room, then a room without a working shower and then a newly refurbished room. The 3rd room was a charm: newly refurbished, nice finishing and large bathroom. The spa has been completely redone with a wonderful large pool. There are several dining options at the hotel; best liked was Azulia - a mediterranean restaurant. The coffee shop was so-so. Internet worked well, but needed to sign-in on very occasion.

Room Tip: Ask about renovations before booking and request new room such as Room 924.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

A truly royal hotel in all senses. This hotel has a very splendid view of lobby cum center. One can view the plush interiors of hotel from the single point. Rooms are good, interior are in classic style.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheKnight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Oakley
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Half hour to/from the airport.We enjoyed staying at this hotel and have only one complaint, that being the rooms , which are now in the process of being renovated .Shame we didn't get to stay after the completion as I'm sure once again GRT Grand will be brought back to past glory .
Hotel looked splendid on arrival, large light open foyer and reception area, with plenty of seating. Warm welcome by front of house manager, straight forward check in with all amenities explained.
This is how all hotels should conduct themselves, professional and making customers feel that they are welcome . .
Now the downside I'm afraid, but as mentioned before this is in the process of being rectified. The room 724 , it wasn't up to the standard I had expected .Though large with an armchair and settee it was very dated, but clean .No matress cover , one was requested and supplied . View from the window was another building,a wall with windows, disappointing but unavoidable.It would have been nice on our first visit to Kolkata to have been able to see everyday life going on in the street .Safe that wasn't attatched to anything , so could be lifted out without much trouble. Bath/shower room was also dated. Old fashioned tiles and a yellow bath, which had to stood in to take shower.Door was in dire need of a lick of paint . Plenty of hot water and all the expected "goodies" provided, clean white towels. Complimentary bottled water each day and free WI FI , with reasonably priced mini bar plus complimentary tea and coffee making facility .
Food in the main restaurant was very good , buffet in the evening (800 IRP ++) was full of tempting dishes at a reasonable price, with deserts to die for .Breakfast was also a delight with many dishes and dosa's with sambar to die for , made to order. Service was impeccable , faultless and polite., led by the professional assistant restaurant manager Raj Thilak a real asset to the company .All staff without exception were very good, security always had a smile and a word for you , also the mustachioed doorman, polite and imacculate in his attire .
We would use this hotel again if we ever returned to Chennai as the word "Grand " will be once again used in the proper context .

Room Tip: One that there is something pleasant to see when looked out of .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seafarers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed last in GRT at excellent location, old property with the traditional warm Hospitality, trademark of TN. The old rooms were looking straight from Malgudi Days houses decor BUT this time I was surprised by the newly done rooms. slightly premium Price but ask for corporate rates. these rooms matches the Hyatts and Marriots interestingly the room nos are written at the bottom of the Door can u imagine? overall nice experience

Room Tip: Take the newly done rooms in 10 floor upwards, VFM. Enjoy TN Food only here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepakssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Its a grate place to be in Chennai , shopping . their hospitality is fine and hot water , toilet is very good . they gave me extra bed in adjusted price and we really enjoyed staying there . well done guys .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paranin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was my second stay at GRT Grand and I have to say it's fast becoming one of my favourite hotels. The new swimming pool was open this time and it's fantastic, very relaxing. Again, we enjoyed the Indian restaurant and the hotel bar that's also situated just off the lobby. The breakfast is getting better and better, I doubt there are many better spreads at other hotels in the region. The staff are also very attentive and are always looking to help you in any way they can: Indian hospitality at its best. The only area that needs some work is the rooms, they are tastefully decorated and clean but are starting to look their age. The hotel is addressing this though and renovations are ongoing. In summary, I wouldn't want to stay at any other hotel I'm Chennai and that is probably the highest praise that I can give this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NE_Traveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at Grand by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
The Residency
#32 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand by GRT Hotels

Property: Grand by GRT Hotels
Address: 120 Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand by GRT Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND by GRT Hotels, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing