We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Nearby Hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Trident, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Trident Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Accord Metropolitan(Chennai (Madras))
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
494
357
103
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
357
103
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelspencer plazarain treethe heart of the cityexcellent serviceswimming poolbusiness tripraintreechennaiambiencehospitalityrenovationmadrasraj
Filter
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Maybe little bit outdated, but the staff is great and the food is excellent. If you are planning to stay here, you must try the sunday brunch. It's a little Oasis in the middle of a chaotic city. I stayed here for 10 days and will come back for sure.

Dont know what else to say, but the review must Be at least 200 characters.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Its indeed very kind of you to believe that we are the best hotel in Chennai. We certainly believe that we try hard to not just meet but exceed guest expectations in line of the tradition of services that every Taj hotel globally is known for.

Do stay in touch and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The moment you walk into this place you know the service will be excellent and it didn't disappoint. Whatever your needs, the staff are attentive and there always seems to be a member of staff nearby, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is clean and provided excellent facilities. The location is very central for Chennai and ideal for exploring the malls at Spenser Plaza and Express Avenue. The hotel has three restaurants, Hip Asia and Raintree were our favourites, the range and standard of food was excellent, the service matched that standard too. Breakfast was excellent as well, the setting, overlooking the pool was a great start to the day. If ever in Chennai again, I will definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn that everything from employee friendliness, location to food and beverage options in the hotel have matched your expectations of a Taj property.

We indeed look forward to your return and facilitating yet another memorable visit.

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

When I stay at Hotels like Taj Connemara, I feel privileged. If you just scan through the history associated with the place, you shall feel the same way. I was infact quite amazed when I found that Connemara had nothing to do with Tamil.. its a county in Ireland. And thus, the amazing story unfolded. So, heritage it is.... going all the way before the British Raj in the Madras Presidency. As you see the facade, you wonder how it must have looked way back in the 1860's and upto the 1990s. Today, it stands snuggled behind the Spencer's Plaza (there's a whole lot of associated history with Spenser and the so called Mall culture). The central lobby gives that wide expanse feel, nothing distracting. There's hardly that you find amiss.... its Taj Hospitality all the way and beyond... the rooms, the food, the service, etal. The most attractive is its pool... wide, soulful of turquoise that mermerises the whole environ around it. Perfectly placed, the green belt around it had been beautifully maintained. Quite elegant, pleasantly delightful. And it offers stay at quite a advantageous position. Its literally at the hub, abutting one of the India's first shopping Malls. You stay at Taj Connemara once and you won't hunt for any other place to stay anytime you are at Chennai. I have been doing exactly that! :-)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Pool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pavi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your detailed review on Tripadvisor. It was heart warming to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay in a location as ours which has a legacy of 160 years behind it and the essence of a Taj property with it it's present day avatar.

We take a lot of pride in being a hotel with a distinct colonial connection and a rich history of a property with great services. Our joy is doubled when our guests leave with memories of the same.

Thank you and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My experience in connemara with my family was excellent. We enjoyed a lot in there.

The room was very spacious and clean and pleasant. The service there was very nice. the hotel staff is very friendly & helpful.

in one word this is "Excellent

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rekha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and have written very kind words for our product and services.

We look forward to your continued patronage,

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Peaceful, well maintained rooms.
Well mannered staff.
Good Buffet Breakfast

Tamil Selvan the best among all the room houskeeping folks.
Tamil knew that I am Lord Ganesha's fan and from day one onwards untill my last day at the Ganesh idol in my was decorated beautifull with flowers.
I was Overwhelmed with the services provide inside the room.
Not only the area next to Ganesha idol was decorated but instead to my surprise last day of my stay had many elephants made out of towel's across my room.

Tahnk You.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RatneshGhadiali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your recent review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and found our associate Tamil to be of great help in making your stay even more enjoyable.

We have conveyed your kind sentiments to him and we are sure it only takes his enthusiasm to the next level.

Many thanks and we look forward to your continued patronage,

Kind regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews