We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Ranked #17 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Situated in the heart of the city. Very close to Mount Road and many Govt offices and Business centers, Very clean and Quite place to stay in (which you cannot expect in this area. Restaurent is too good Complementry Break Fast was Good with enough varieties.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SANKAR1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai!

We thank you for your thoughtful comments on our hotel's location and services on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and have cared to share your review on your overall experience.

Look forward to your continued patronage.

Kind regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

In spite of the age and the creaky plumbing, the Connemara remains a favourite. Got upgraded to a massive Heritage Room, which is superb. And the food was great - both room service and coffee shop. And service is top class.

Old old grouse things - the gym is still too small and limited in equipment - can improve.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anirban72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai!

We thank you for your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay despite a few concerns about the plumbing systems. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused. For a heritage hotel as ours, we have a year around preventive maintenance and renovation program that address these kind of issues to ensure that our guests enjoy seamless services at all times.

We are also pleased to let you know that we have just reopened the gym and spa after a brief makeover and the facility has been redone with immediate guest feedback in mind. Do take a look on your next visit.

Look forward to your continued patronage.

Kind regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This historical hotel has an attractive layout with an atrium and a central pool surrounded by jasmine trees. It feels more relaxing than the more modern, corporate style hotels. Not all the staff speak fluent English, so please be a little patient because they strive to meet all your needs. We've spent 3 months here and love it. The staff really pamper us. The professional standards of the Taj group shine through.
Airport transfer takes a minimum of 35 minutes in light traffic.

Room Tip: There are some ground floor rooms with French doors opening onto the garden area around the pool, so...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai!

Thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn that the overall warmth and genuineness of our staff has been successful in letting you finding yourself at home despite the occasional barriers that language and cultural variations might pose.

I am most certain that your kind words would help their enthusiasm and motivation scale new heights. Nonetheless, being an international hotel, we intend to ensure that language skills are seamless and taking a cue from your comments, we would strive upon improving the same further.

Please continue your patronage and we hope to facilitate a most memorable stay on each and every visit of yours,

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Maybe little bit outdated, but the staff is great and the food is excellent. If you are planning to stay here, you must try the sunday brunch. It's a little Oasis in the middle of a chaotic city. I stayed here for 10 days and will come back for sure.

Dont know what else to say, but the review must Be at least 200 characters.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Its indeed very kind of you to believe that we are the best hotel in Chennai. We certainly believe that we try hard to not just meet but exceed guest expectations in line of the tradition of services that every Taj hotel globally is known for.

Do stay in touch and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The moment you walk into this place you know the service will be excellent and it didn't disappoint. Whatever your needs, the staff are attentive and there always seems to be a member of staff nearby, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is clean and provided excellent facilities. The location is very central for Chennai and ideal for exploring the malls at Spenser Plaza and Express Avenue. The hotel has three restaurants, Hip Asia and Raintree were our favourites, the range and standard of food was excellent, the service matched that standard too. Breakfast was excellent as well, the setting, overlooking the pool was a great start to the day. If ever in Chennai again, I will definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn that everything from employee friendliness, location to food and beverage options in the hotel have matched your expectations of a Taj property.

We indeed look forward to your return and facilitating yet another memorable visit.

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

When I stay at Hotels like Taj Connemara, I feel privileged. If you just scan through the history associated with the place, you shall feel the same way. I was infact quite amazed when I found that Connemara had nothing to do with Tamil.. its a county in Ireland. And thus, the amazing story unfolded. So, heritage it is.... going all the way before the British Raj in the Madras Presidency. As you see the facade, you wonder how it must have looked way back in the 1860's and upto the 1990s. Today, it stands snuggled behind the Spencer's Plaza (there's a whole lot of associated history with Spenser and the so called Mall culture). The central lobby gives that wide expanse feel, nothing distracting. There's hardly that you find amiss.... its Taj Hospitality all the way and beyond... the rooms, the food, the service, etal. The most attractive is its pool... wide, soulful of turquoise that mermerises the whole environ around it. Perfectly placed, the green belt around it had been beautifully maintained. Quite elegant, pleasantly delightful. And it offers stay at quite a advantageous position. Its literally at the hub, abutting one of the India's first shopping Malls. You stay at Taj Connemara once and you won't hunt for any other place to stay anytime you are at Chennai. I have been doing exactly that! :-)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Pool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pavi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your detailed review on Tripadvisor. It was heart warming to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay in a location as ours which has a legacy of 160 years behind it and the essence of a Taj property with it it's present day avatar.

We take a lot of pride in being a hotel with a distinct colonial connection and a rich history of a property with great services. Our joy is doubled when our guests leave with memories of the same.

Thank you and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My experience in connemara with my family was excellent. We enjoyed a lot in there.

The room was very spacious and clean and pleasant. The service there was very nice. the hotel staff is very friendly & helpful.

in one word this is "Excellent

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rekha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

We thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and have written very kind words for our product and services.

We look forward to your continued patronage,

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,144 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,486 reviews
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway ...
#11 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
718 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Address: Binny Road, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £79 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai is the city's only heritage hotel, built in 1854 as the Imperial Hotel, renamed Albany in 1886, finally re-established as The Connemara in 1890. It was an Art Deco look that the Connemara sported when it ‘reopened’ in 1937. And the legendary architect Geoffrey Bawa added his touch to the tower block and linking pool in 1974. Today it is infused with the spirited style of Vivanta by Taj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Connemara, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Taj Connemara Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing