We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Ranked #17 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My first visit to India and stayed at the Connemara for 2 weeks holiday. Very impressed with Hotel. The room was large and comfortable and the service was excellent. The house-keeping staff serviced my room each morning as soon as I left for breakfast.
Wide range of food available at the breakfast buffet both Indian and Western. Service was always spot on with Antony and his colleagues suggesting Indian dishes I might like to try. The dinner buffet in the Verandah restaurant also provided a large range of dishes to sample and the quality was always to a high standard. Had a number of meals in the Raintree restaurant and the service there was also exceptional. The charming hostess and the friendly waiters took an interest in explaining South Indian cuisine. A great dining experience.
The pool area was comfortable and relaxing. The pool/steam room attendant Mr. Guru was very attentive, providing chilled bottled water &/or fruit juice when you arrived each day by the pool was a nice touch.
A hotel's reputation is usually determined by the quality and service of it's staff and in this regard the Connemara earns top marks.
I was a little disappointed in Chennai as a city, it doesn't seem to cater to tourism as I could not find an entertainment/restaurant area to visit and one of the long term guests at the hotel said if I wished to visit another restaurant outside the hotel then I would need to visit another hotel. Seems strange in a city of six million that this would be the case.
The only disappointment I had in regard to the hotel was that I left some postcards with cash for stamps and a tip with the front office porters desk and none of the postcards arrived at their destinations but this may have had more to do with the Indian postal service.
By and large I had a very pleasant stay at the Connemara and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paltridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara!

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your well written and detailed review of the hotel. Its very kind of you to have left kind words of appreciation for several of our services and associates with a particular mention of Spa associate Guru.

We are also concerned to hear about your postcards delivery being delayed. We certainly hope that the delay has to do with the long weekends we recently had in India and not a case of misplacement. However, we have directed our head concierge to put in a work to the local postman and figure out the cause for the same to the best of his abilities.

Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    356
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
158
171
83
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have had two extended stays at the Taj in Chennai two year apart and the experience overall was excellent. Chennai (Madras) had no real heritage hotels and the old Connemara is the last old fashioned styled luxury hotel in the city. Low rising, huge quiet rooms, pleasing décor and a great location central to both shopping and sites are some of the benefits. The real prize is the staff, from the Manager, to the front desk to the room attendants they bend over backwards to meet your needs. Lots of small touches that you rarely see in hotels and certainly not at the prices for this hotel. The spa services and pool are good. They have a small, but adequate gym. Whether for business or pleasure, this is a great option in Chennai.

The only short comings for the hotel is the food. Though the Taj has a good reputation for clean healthy food (something that needs to be watched even with the five star hotels in India), the Connemara has a less than inspired menu despite its huge size and the offerings are quite expensive for Chennai. The buffet breakfast is quite good and a good deal if packaged into your stay, but the ala carte menu is mediocre and there are better options elsewhere in town. The fine dining option at the South Indian restaurant are also not exciting. The bar is trendy and geared towards rich locals, but is load and dark and not a very relaxing spot.

Room Tip: Review the package options carefully; there are great deals available. If you are unsure of the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai!

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. Its heartwarming to read a well documented note of your observations on the property from its décor, ambience to our facilities and most prided of our assets, our team.

We also take note of your observations on the limitations of the a-la-carte menus. I am indeed pleased to let you know that some of our menus apart from those recently launched like the Raintree are in the process of a re-engineering by our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager.

Apart from this, for our discerning guests who would like to leave things to the experts, we also offer "put yourselves in the hands of our Chef"; an experience in which our Chefs would personally tailor make anything on your mind as long as the key ingredients are at a hand's reach.

Once again, thank you very much indeed for your feedback which help us go a long way in constantly improving our offerings. I am sure that the next time you are here; you would be able to see those desired changes.

Look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is a great hotel in the middle of the city, right next to Spencer Plaza. We walked there most evenings of our stay. It is very conveniently located, very near to Marina beach as well. We had a room on the ground floor, I felt the amenities of the room were basic, not too plush. The bathroom too had older fittings. However, I really have to commend the service of this hotel. Very friendly, extremely cordial staff, and since we had travelled with our 3 month old baby, they always made sure we were extremely comfortable. Good food spread for the breakfast buffet at the Veranda, and room service was great too. Did not get a chance to visit the spa or the fitness center, however felt that the salon was a little pricey. Given a chance, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunNSand27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai!

We thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor! We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel's ambience, layout, locational advantage and most of all, its people.

We are a hotel with a certain age and character and hence we are in the constant process of cyclic upgrades. We thank you for your observations in this regard and yes, much of it is in our agenda to be attended to.

I most certainly look forward to your return and on your next visit, do take some time out to try The Spa which we have recently re-launched. I am sure you would find its offerings well packaged.

Look forward to welcoming you and your family back!

Kind regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I recently spent three weeks at this hotel. I was on a business trip. It was my secong visit , having been there five years earlier. We found the place to have maintained the impressive standards, service and comfort levels of our previous visit. The staff are attentive, very pleasant and courteous, and most importantly, well trained and professional. It has a fine pool and gym, and the restaurants offer a wide range of cuisine. Just one tip, avoid 'city view' rooms as they tend to be affected by the constant bustle and horn blowing of Binny Road. There are plenty of 'inner' rooms which are peaceful with pleasant internal views.

Room Tip: Avoid 'city view' rooms which are affected by the local traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceffylgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and your recent review on Tripadvisor.

We are indeed delighted to learn that over a period of time, you have seen desirable standards of product and services maintained at par. It's reassuring to hear that from our discerning guests as you. We also appreciate your kind comments on our most prided assets, our team members,

Thank you for making us your home in Chennai and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Good acco. Very hospitable. Bang in the center and reasonably priced. Good amenities and restaurants. Check prices of incidentals! Easy to be swept off by their friendlines :) The best place in my view to sray and explore Chennai if thats one's plan. I was born and brought up here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sivaram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai!

We thank you for coming back home to stay with us in Chennai and your recent review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the fact that you have enjoyed the hotel's facility, locational advantage and above all, our prided assets, our people.

Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for almost 3 days and had all good things to share about my experience.
The rooms are quiet big, we could see the panoramic view of outside.

The staff is extremely cordial and very helpful.
Right from the morning breakfast to the evening tea, they always were very cordial and on their toes to make our stay memorable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bitan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erode, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Situated in the heart of the city. Very close to Mount Road and many Govt offices and Business centers, Very clean and Quite place to stay in (which you cannot expect in this area. Restaurent is too good Complementry Break Fast was Good with enough varieties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANKAR1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmovivanta, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai!

We thank you for your thoughtful comments on our hotel's location and services on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and have cared to share your review on your overall experience.

Look forward to your continued patronage.

Kind regards,

Samrat Datta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,110 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#19 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#6 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,455 reviews
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway ...
#11 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
688 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Address: Binny Road, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai is the city's only heritage hotel, built in 1854 as the Imperial Hotel, renamed Albany in 1886, finally re-established as The Connemara in 1890. It was an Art Deco look that the Connemara sported when it ‘reopened’ in 1937. And the legendary architect Geoffrey Bawa added his touch to the tower block and linking pool in 1974. Today it is infused with the spirited style of Vivanta by Taj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Connemara, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Taj Connemara Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing