We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently located for US consulate”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Orient

Grand Orient
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Orient
Ranked #139 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Conveniently located for US consulate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed in the Grand Orient for my US visa stamping, very conveniently located for the US consulate and other shopping places of interest in Chennai. Nice clean rooms and good ambience . . ............

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The hotel is right in the heart of Chennai. If you are on your way to the US Consulate, you will not miss to see The Grand Orient. The hotel is situated diagonally opposite to the Consulate, and is walking distance. Very convenient, if you have a morning (starting 9 AM) appointment for your visa. I had my appointment in Feb 2008.
• Nice staff, perfect ambiance, and convenient location. Food is good and decent, breakfast is awesome.
• Spacious rooms, making the stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnuWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Middle of the city, you really dont expect a Grand Hotel however this Chennai Hotel right on AnnaSalai is really Grand.

Really Affordable
Nice rooms
Clean
Grand interior
Awesome Restaurant/Pub
Walking distance to best South India eatery/shopping place.
.. or if you have work at US Consulate .. just walk to the embassy from your Hotel.

Wheneven I go to Chennai .. I stay here.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pathfinder27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This was probably the only hotel I had seen with such big rooms. Rooms were fine but curtains bit dusty. This is due to the hotel facing Mount Road. I stayed a total four times here and each time it was better than the other. The restaurant was very good and food was very tasty. They have a pub inside and I had got a very good deal.... buy one and get one free. Service is good. The best part is they have a late night menu after 10PM. The chicken curry and White rice tastes like heaven. The quantity is also very high. I visited many hotels right from Leela to Taj but none serves so much quantity as these guys do. Overall very good experience for me.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopireview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed in this hotel twice for visiting US consulate. It is centrally located and is very near to the consulate. Rooms are good and value for money, loved the morning buffet and the dinner in the restaurant. They had pub with Formula 1 as the theme, but could not try it due to lack on time. Good choice for guys who want to be in the city center/US consulate

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

i went to chennai for my cousin's wedding and for leisure too and this hotel is quite centrally located in chennai at anna salai which is the commercial and shopping hub. It has a nice pub called speed and i liked the stay. It is a 3 star property but is value for money. rooms are decent enough. Food is also ok but since you are in heart of city you have lots more eating options within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hotelguru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Good hotel for short stay. The rooms are good and well designed to take care of your senses. The food is also good but a bit expensive. But overall good hotel. I will surely recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

  • Liked — Rooms are good
  • Disliked — nothing practically
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SubhashDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#11 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#21 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#65 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Bay Resorts
#126 of 366 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Orient

Property: Grand Orient
Address: 693 Anna Salai | near Anand Theatre, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
Grand Orient Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing