We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #5 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you visit Chennai, this place is a must-stay! When you enter the hotel, you are greeted with pleasant faces insisting on carrying your shopping bags and even showing you around the various facilities at the hotel. The pool was huge and magnificent; perfect for an early morning swim. We also loved our morning walks at the courtyard admiring the beautiful garden and the fresh flowers. We also decided to try the facial at the hotel which was alright but the staff again exceeded expectations. We spent most times exploring every little corner of the hotel and 'Spectra' never failed to impress with its wide range of food served. A must stay again, and it marks the continuation of my stays only with Leela when I visit India again!:)

Room Tip: I personally preferred the room facing the pool view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KavithaSubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Leela is architecturally splendid- from its acres of marble to chandeliers lighting every corner, it is a well furnished hotel boasting to be the only Chennai city center seafront hotel. The views overlooking the bay of Bengal are nice, and the local village just a stone’s throw away adds character to the view. It really is splendid in many ways.

ROOMS
The standard rooms are immense. This enormous room has a walk in wardrobe, large bathroom with 3 telephones, a powerful shower, nice Kohler bathtub and electronic blinds. The towels are plush, and the whole design is well planned.

The sleeping area is nicely carpeted, accented by darkwood flooring which doesn’t creak when you walk on it. The bed itself is firm, accompanied by heavenly down pillows. There is of course, a pillow menu with everything from Spelt to horse-hair pillows.

Furthermore, you have a Blu-ray player, big Sony LCD TV, convenient plug-points everywhere with a universal head. Internet is available and free if you join GHA, which can be done online (again for free)


RESTAURANTS
We had the privilege of trying Spectra, China XO and Jamavar. The breakfast buffet is superb and well worth the additional price when booking your room, so make sure you select the breakfast package. The Indian food, in particular, is finely done, so are the fruits and pastries. It was disappointing they ran out of mangoes, strangely enough. You’d think they’d stock more with the abundance there is.

Spectra also does a nice buffet dinner on Fridays, which we did enjoy. Whilst not on standard with say, the Shangri-la’s dinner buffet in Kuala Lumpur, it has quality oysters and some varied seafood…in addition to some sushi and sashimi. The ice cream station is worth mentioning, over 10 flavors, 5 of which are homemade and the rest, Baskin robbins.

We also had a Chinese dinner one night, and enjoyed the seafood there. The food is as good as any Chinese place we have been in Asia…with the emphasis on Malaysia/Singapore/Cantonese cuisine. The staff are unfailingly polite and the only thing they don’t do is feed you- and only because it’s hard to feed someone crab.

The Indian restaurant is another classy venue. We loved the décor and the food was heavenly. Prices are high in all restaurants but not overly so for a 5 star hotel.

FACILITIES
The fitness center is a dungeon like venue but not in a bad way. It is nice and classy fitted with fantastic TechnoGym equipment which I love. Never busy (as it isn’t open to people with a membership- strictly hotel guests only) and equip was all new and well serviced.

The swimming pool was havenly as well! Many deck chairs, water temperature just right, and poolside service for towels and drinks. Well landscaped and designed, it was our favorite spot to laze the day- complete with wifi! If only there was a bar here for faster service…we had to wait 30 minutes for our drinks.

Airport transfers were convenient (as with any hotel) and in brand new BMW 5-series. We didn’t find the rate they charged exorbitant at all.


OVERALL SERVICE
Service on the average was good throughout the hotel. We noticed some drawbacks which prevents this from being classified as our best luxury hotel.

The following are some issues which prevent me from saying this hotel is perfect- much of the hardware is already there, just some adjustments to service which will make it the perfect choice in Chennai.

ISSUES
The bathroom toiletries are terrible. For a hotel of this stature, they chose generic Made-in-China toiletries which made my skin so dry. Absolutely shameful for a luxury outfit to use embarrassing 4 star stuff in their beautifully marbled bathroom. This is a main drawback from me staying here again. I was offered some Penhaligon items after some prompting, which were a saving grace. I was shocked the Leela positions itself as amongst the most luxurious hotels yet provides very standard toiletries.

The water pressure is good but strangely, temperature when set to the middle, can be hit or miss. You can get very hot or very cold or just ideal temperature without warning.

Internet (the free version you get by being a GHA member) was painfully slow and dipped to 512kbps instead of the 2Mbps speed advertised. For business users using VPN, I suggest paying the fee for its ‘premium’ service. You really can’t get any work done with the free service.

Service overall, while good and always smiling, lack real action. The normal staff members are not allowed to make their own decisions and always refer to their ‘manager’ for guidance. Simple items which make a luxury hotel are not apparent at the Leela. Rather, they try and squeeze every last penny out which is rather embarrassing given the high tariff they already charge. Case in point is breakfast buffet, which is already paid for. A simple request to takeaway a pastry is met with a ‘chargeable’ reply. While politely said, and understandably yes, a buffet is meant to be eaten at the restaurant only, good customer service will dictate that you pack a muffin in a doggy bag for the guest. Raw materials wise, it only costs perhaps 1USD, but this left a very sour taste amongst your guests.

Furthermore, while understanding a late checkout attracts a charge, there is no flexibility for guests who check in very late, like 1am the previous day (with a full day already paid for) to check out later the next day without a charge, even though the hotel was hardly busy. According to ‘policy’ they had to charge a half day until 9pm…again, all this by policy is perfectly understandable, but good hoteliers know (I was in the business, so I do) that when you are running empty, with a guest who had checked in late the previous day, you offer an extension on goodwill. You should never cite policy as an excuse to offer something to guests, since policies are meant to guide staff actions, not prevent customer good customer service.The last thing a guest wants to hear is 'the standard policy says we need to........' If we wanted standard service, we wouldn't have stayed at the Leela!

In conclusion, the Leela Palace Chennai is not a bad hotel at all. The interiors are amazing, restaurants good, pricing relatively standard to other 5 star hotels with good service. However, being positioned as a luxury hotel, it certainly needs some work to position itself ‘up there’ with the big boys like St Regis or Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. I fully understand and appreciate that we cannot pretend that we have achieve perfection but can assure you that every day, the entire team is striving to achieve improvement and thanks to your valuable input as it will help greatly.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenient you have experienced.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you visit Chennai, you must go to this hotel to get that memorable experience. I am sure you will visit Chennai again just to visit this hotel. Don't miss this one.
The reception area,the restaurants,the rooms,the pool & the staff I can say the only word par excellence. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a hotel. If in Chennai, but all the locals call it Madras, you must stay here. The hotel and service was outstanding.
We stayed at the Leela Palace for Xmas 2013. Ŵe were upgraded to a junior suite.
The room was outstanding, the decor was fabulous, all the latest technologies. Bed and pillows so comfortable, just heaven.
The hotel is huge with fantastic facilities. The gym is the best I've ever used at a hotel and the instructor takes time out to help you stretch which was a really nice touch. There is also a steam room and fab changing facilities. The pool area again is amazing, fantastic sun beds, with towels that clover the whole bed and again the best changing facilities I've ever used.was
The blue bar is very nice, service in the bars brilliant. The India restaurant amazing, food fantastic, the service very attentive ( but I do prefer to serve myself).
Breakfast was amazing, culinary delights from all over the world, I didn't know where to start or finish.
We had room service and again that was fantastic, in came a trolley which converted into a table and underneath out pop hot food from a heated cupboard. Again the food was fantastic.
Location is out of the way so taxi 's are required. We like to walk every where so found this the only down side.
Would stay here again with out a doubt. Truly amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

very grand banquet facility. my friend had her reception there and i stayed at the hotel. very nice atmosphere. i like the decor and ambience of it all.it feel open and bright, cheery staff. thank you everyone for a lovely time. i had a hard time finding the place as my driver was not familiar with the hotel and its not on the main road. getting an auto from there to go out was hard

Room Tip: good rooms. spacious look. bright and cheery atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just returned to UK after staying in Leela Palace Chennai for 8 days.It was one of the most beautiful hotels.
The breakfast and lunch buffets were excellent.There was a great variety of food from India,China,Japan,Italy and others.In addition to this there were two other restaurants in the hotel which served food which were very good
The service was great.The staff from the managers to the domestic staff were most courteous and friendly making our stay most memorable.We will definitely come back and have already recommended this to a few of our friends.Thankyou to everyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have travelled around the world, have experienced five star properties, but........ Leela Chennai was one of the best experience so far. Hospitality, warmth with Indian traditions at its best. Breakfast awesome! Room with sea view worth staying, bathroom excellent. Modern fittings, and above all staff- Matchless. They make you feel VVIP.
Would like to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms at 8th floor- Deluxe with sea view worth staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puneet10india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
2,900 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,039 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,469 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,183 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £107 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing