We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interior locality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
Ranked #1 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Erode, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Interior locality”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Placed interior with shagy approch road Otherwise it has too good conference hall with a good audio system.Banquet hall is also spacious and neet. Food is okey nothing special to mention.
Rooms and other servies are Good

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANKAR1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. We have taken note of your feedback on the food and will cirtainly improve on it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Warmly
Chengappa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    207
    44
    18
    6
See reviews for
251
262
76
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Leela is synonymous with a quality luxury hotel product and top notch service. While the Leela Palace Chennai had all the signs of a quality luxury hotel product, the service was still weak. Unfortunately, the level of service was a bit too overbearing leaving guests feeling invaded rather than creating a more welcoming and comfortable experience. Everything interaction with the hotel staff was an over-the-top discussion with many waiters and staff asking multiple times for feedback and how much and if we liked the hotel. While feedback is imperative, making such explicit overtures (multiple times) is a bit too obtrusive. Furthermore, one more than one occasion, the staff often don't really listen to what the guests really want. In one instance, all I wanted was a one of the restaurant's menus brought up to the room. The staff member repeatedly asked me that they are happy to take our order and send up a F&B person to the room to talk about the menu! This is not what I wanted at all! Just the menu! This was only one instance! Even asking about the spa or the restaurants, the staff just wanted to provide a totally over-the-top offering without actually paying attention to what the guest wants which could just be as simple as answering a basic question. Although a five star hotel, the Leela needs to help staff understand that by catering to a guest's need in a more efficient and effective manner is far more powerful than offering an unnecessary service that was not required. Listen to the guest and service them with exactly what they require, anticipate their needs but don't go overboard with giving them something they don't want.

Overall the hotel is a good example of true indian service that I am sure will continue to improve over time.

Keep It Simple, is always a valuable motto.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arajaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.
I was however sorry to read about the few gaps in some of the service aspect and I completely agree that Listen to the guest and service them with exactly what they require, anticipate their needs but don't go overboard with giving them something they don't want.Be effective & efficiant.I sincerely apologize. Rest assure that it has been addressed with the concern Managers and I thank you for bringing these points to my attention.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Warmly
Chengappa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The best place in chennai for a weekend nd the main attraction is the Library Blue which has the best bartender avinash hes just awsome and the way he makes a drink is just awsome and he attracts people with his new drinks and entertains people a lot and a best service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Vineelchowdary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor about your stay at The Leela Palace Chennai.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. Thank you for highlighting our bartender Avinash in particular and will be recognized accordingly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Warmly

Chengappa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I can't say more than what the other travelers have had to say about the leela.
I had the best experience staying there. The rooms very super comfortable, the beds so lovely and a huge washroom. They ever took the care to bring food to the room from the complimentary table which not many hotels do. The only thing that I would like to request the hotel is that please mention that you would require identification for the plus one guest. I understand that this is a fantastic security measure but most travelers leave behind important identity cards in the event of a loss but nevertheless it is not a big deal to mention during reservation so that we guests comply with the house rules.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank s_bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.We have duly taken note of your sugesstion of informing the guest of house rules.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Warmly
Chengappa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India, Asia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I have been going to Library Blu for quite some time and i always wonder how did everyone in this big city miss to review the Best Bar in the city. If i would have to pick one place in the city with a High Profile Bar and top class service it would be Library Blu.

I visited this place many a times. Bt My last visit was amazing. I had this one drink which totally blew my mind. Avinash bought in a machine which produced flavoured smoke and induced it into a Jar filled with drink and finally after a lot of process i had dis drink served on my table. I should say i havent tasted such Best cocktail in my entire life.

While the ambience in blue gives it the best feel in the dark to enjoy my drink, but the service is one thing i would keep going. Ask Rajesh to impress you with a drink and he wouldnt miss it or if ur in a mood to shots js as rajesh to make u few shooters.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravikumar114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the Library Blu is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.. Thank you for highlighting a few members of the team Avinash & Rajesh in particular and they have been recognized accordingly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Warmly
Chengappa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is without doubt the best hotel I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in a lot of very good hotels! The staff were outstanding. Friendly and nothing too much trouble. The hotel itself is just beautiful and the food! What can I say about the food that doesn't sound over the top? We were treated to some of the best Indian quisine I have ever had in my life! As an Englishman I like to think I know a bit about what is now our national dish! However I have never experienced food this good before. Breakfast again was outstanding and at long last I had a proper cup of coffee! Strong and smooth made the Italian way!

By the way. Vipin, we still need to have that table tennis match! See you next year with my children in tow! :)

Room Tip: The sea view is ok but there is brackish water in between the hotel and the sea so I'm not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimbo33a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future and yes may be a round of table tennis with Vipin.

Warmly
Chengappa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

It's truly a Palace. Offering the best of best like in a dream. The rooms are not only luxuriously big in design, it has also in it huge bath tub, two wash basins with mirror, separate toilet and Bath area. As usual health hose was missing in the toilet forgetting the Indian traditions.
Stayed for two nights for a diabetes conference. Massive and magnificent structure. I had to change my room to a quieter one due to noises of wind and sea which I could have otherwise enjoyed if on a holiday. The restaurant is huge but lacks sign boards on Indian cuisine, American breakfast, Omelette counter etc., somewhat difficult to locate. Staffs were friendly, well trained and communicative. One even called and mailed me soon after check out to apologise for receiving payment for internet and dinner and promised it will be refunded to my credit card. Overall a good experience and a prestigious property for Chennai and India.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jothydev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leela_Chennai, Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. I was however sorry to read about the few gaps in some of the service aspect and I sincerely apologize. Rest assure that it has been addressed with the concern Managers and I thank you for bringing these points to my attention.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Warmly
Chengappa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Property: The Leela Palace Chennai
Address: M.R.C Nagar, R.A. Puram | Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing