We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Hotel”
Review of Mount Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Residency
Ranked #82 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed there for one night. Location is not so great since the street it's based on is a one way street, I had a hard time locating it.

Staff was helpful, and i as a single girl also felt safe.

Room is average, AC did not work very well.

Food was delivered to room, so that worked in it's favor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
4
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gurg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have been here multiple times for a short stay when I had to visit some friends in this city. Its located in prime area, close to EA and Spencers Mall and have plenty of options to eat around. . Rooms are little small though. Hot water and Wi-fi are -ve points. Washrooms could be maintained better with door mats etc.
But very friendly employees and 24 hour check-in which is a +ve.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prash027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Mount Residency for 3 nights and found it below average. The room was basic. There was no hot water. The staff were not helpful. The location was down an alleyway. There were some restaurants in walking distance. It was not good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

The first room we went to on the ground floor was quite grubby and then realised it had bed bugs- we could see them on the sheet. Asked to move rooms and within ten mins we were moved to a much cleaner room on the second floor. After that the room service was excellent and as we had jetlag we were ordering food late at night from a local restaurant and the hotel staff brought it up for us wih plates and cutley.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed 3 days 2 night, the room clean and nice but no toilet paper. The location isn't good bcoz little difficult to find it (the hotel directions to small). Room services was very good. The WiFi cant work as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed three night before flying out of Chennai in an executive suite. It's a good area for shopping. For our budget the price was relatively cheap. We were just looking for a bed essentially. However, the advertised WiFi was non existent but the staff did provide dongles if you use a laptop (we have non 3G iPads, so no Internet). The TV was not subscribed to English channels, so no TV. The shower had the pressure of a dripping tap, so no shower (bucket baths were possible). That said, the bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and the lane outside was unusually quite (for downtown India) at night. So, overall we were happy enough at the price we paid, but executive it definitely is not.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajkot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

i stayed in this hotel for 2 nts. it is very nice hotel at it price. the room was clean and nice with lcd tv and split ac. room services was very good. they don't have restaurant but they arrange food from one of near by good restaurant. location of hotel is not good. it is located in small Nero street which is connected with highway. there is no parking. but overall hotel is average good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DipteshB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Pandian
#75 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Orion Residency
#84 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#64 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mount City
#117 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#88 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Hotel Pearl International
#94 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Residency

Property: Mount Residency
Address: 4 Mount Residency Mount Residency Arumugham Street | Welder Street, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mount Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Residency is one of the budget hotels in Chennai, located in the heart of the city at Mount Road. Determined to our esteem for excellence, we offer our clients a pleasing and rejuvenating experience all the time. We offer exemplary rooms enclosed with latest amenities to ensure high level of gratification and trust-worthy service to our visitors. Procuring to the requirements of business class travelers and tourists Chennai, Mount Residency is a budget hotel with more comfy ambiance and latest facilities at a reasonable price. We have a team of dedicated professionals to provide a soulful, simple and an outstanding service to each of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mount Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing