We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Company with Kamu:”
Review of Chennai Home Stay

Chennai Home Stay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chennai Home Stay
Ranked #45 of 406 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Nice experience. Ideally situated home away from hustle and bustle of Chennai metro city. Homely feeling while away from home. Kamu and his wife have been quite cordial, informal, friendly and helpful during our trip. Rooms are spacious, well furnished, clean and well ventilated. Limited number of rooms makes the home a calm and quiet stay. Great hospitality is enough to compel any one to visit and stay here.
Over all we have a pleasant, satisfactory and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDSuteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

I arrived in chennai and the first night it was so nice tomeet Kamu and Kotti. They are very nice people, the food is exceptionnel and above all Kamu help me because i was a problem with my credit card. It was very complicate for me and he helped me like a father. IIf you have to go to Chennai dont hesitate go to chennai homestay. All is good, the rooms, the people, the place, defenitly its the best place to stay.

Jasmine

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Made M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

When we got to the airport Kamu, the owner, sent for us a car to the airport and since then our experience was as to be part of family. Koti, Kamu's wife and manager of the house, cooked for us the best food. I really recommend to visit Chennai Home Stay if you want to experience the feeling of being part of an Indian family and have a true experience of the local life. Thank you Kamu and Koti! Kamu is also a local tour guide operator, so count on him for your local travel arrangement needs or for him to organize your single or group tour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurainserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Kamu and his family were so very helpful and welcoming.
The room was very comfortable and we felt we were a part of the family.
As Kamu runs his own tourist company he was able to inform us for our ongoing trip around India.
He has a good network of contacts to enable you to plan a trip around South India if you wish.
A perfect place to start your trip if you arrive in Chennai.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidmcdermott9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We travelled through South India in late November and needed to be in Chenni by a certain date so that I could attend a conference. We used Kamuvoyage as Kamu had been recommended to us. Kamu was incredibly helpful prior to the trip by providing an itinerary that made the absolute most of the time we had and a driver, Asci, who always did his best to make sure we were comfortable and happy. Kamu was always available, even after we arrived in Chennai, to make sure we were ok. We went to the B&B on our last evening for a magnificent meal cooked by Koti. The house is huge - spacious, very clean and has everything anyone would want, including free high speed wi fi. The house is an oasis in a busy city &just like a home away from home. If we return to Chennai we would definitely stay with Kamu & Koti & if anyone needs a car & driver to travel through India, you would struggle to get better value than what Kamu offers.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

If you are looking for a real home stay, where you meet the family and sit down with them to eat home cooked meals, then this is your place. They are a lovely family, and you will feel very welcome. Plus, Kamu is in the tourism business so he can help you to plan your itinerary, arrange for airport transfers,and he'll give you as much help as you wish. I had some difficulty finding their website. It's www.chennaihomestay.com.The house is approximately 25 minutes from the Chennai airport

If you are interested in learning how to make delicious Indian food, Kamu’s wife is a sensational cook and she is happy to each you.

Room Tip: There are five large, comfortable and quiet rooms with private bathrooms. The house has wifi in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverspringlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed in the chennai guest house in mid december with my mum and a friend and it was the best thing that could happen to us, to choose this accomodation for our first night in India.
Kamu gave us a very friendly welcome and helped us to plan our trip. He recommended to take car with a driver for our 10 day trip and that was a very good idea. The dirver that he arranged for us was very friendly and he drove safely.
In the guesthouse the room was clean and spacious and Kamu's wife made a lovely breakfast for us.
Thank you for your great hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dancing_with_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
GreenPark Chennai
#23 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,054 reviews
Grand Treat
#227 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
9 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greens Gate Chennai
#12 of 406 in Chennai (Madras)
82 reviews
Nungambakkam
Avenue 11
Avenue 11
#4 of 406 in Chennai (Madras)
60 reviews
Springhaven
#1 of 406 in Chennai (Madras)
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chennai Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chennai Home Stay

Address: 1 Door No | 1st Cross Street, Ramapuram, Valasaravakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600087, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £29 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing