We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor stay; soiled bed linen and detatching wallpaper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ranked #35 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor stay; soiled bed linen and detatching wallpaper”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is nice, easthetically speaking. It's clearly conceived for a tourist target. Unfortunately, like most hotels in India, bad maintenance and poor personnel make hotel stars not trustworthy. The concierge hardly undoerstood english and tried to rip us off with room prices, the room was dirty (attatched pictures) and we had to call 3 times to get towels. An average experience overall, a poor experience for a 5 star hotel. There are much better ones in India with the same star rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback .
It is our constant endeavor to provide consistently high quality service to all our valued guests and we therefore regret that we failed to meet up your expectations and sincerely apologize for the same. I do hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of your last experience and will give us an opportunity to improve and serve you better.
Your feedback is shared with the concerned departments to initiate corrective measure and avoid such incidents in future and look forward for another opportunity to regain your confidence in our services

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
gp@ramadachennaiegmore.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    307
    123
    33
    40
See reviews for
156
101
63
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed here in early April and found the hotel in generally ok condition and conveniently located close to the railway station.

unfortunately my airline had delayed the luggage so that I was relying on the hotel to receive it. reception and bell man confirmed to notify and bring to the room upon delivery - unfortunately did not: I had to ask frequently and always got negative answer, turned out that the delivered luggage was just sitting in the locker room for around 1 day and even when "found", it was not delivered to the room right away (excuse was that I was not in the room) and needed to be requested again.

a training of service personnel is urgently advised to understand traveler needs,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_tee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback and pleased to know that you found the hotel location convenient.

It is our constant endeavor to provide consistently high quality service to all our valued guests and we therefore regret to have let you down on this occasion and sincerely apologize for the same. I do hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of your last experience and will give us an opportunity to improve and serve you better.
We receive you feedback constructively to ensure to retrain our staff to avoid such incidents in future and look forward for another opportunity to regain your confidence in our services

Hope to see you with us soon; ensuring best of services delivered.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
gp@ramadachennaiegmore.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
160 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Overall satisfying experience. Value for money as the room rent is reasonable as compared to other five star hotels in and around Chennai. room service as well as housekeeping are not very prompt though manageable. The swimming pool is very small. they also have an artist who makes portraits for a 30 minute sitting.

Room Tip: Use a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinit2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Mr. Vinit,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback in this portal.

We understand how important it is to add a family vacation to our mechanically routined life and are glad to learn that you had a satisfying experience

Your remark about the service promptness are noted and shared with the concerned team heads to have corrective measures in place.

We hope you continue to stay with us and see the positive changes and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stay at Ramada Egmore Chennai was a pleasant one for me and my wife and 2 kids. The hotel is located close to the Egmore railway station and has plenty of the british era tourist attractions close by. The front office staff were fabulous. The breakfast buffet had both a continental spread and a south indian one which was important for me and my family as we are used to a continental cuisine. The room by itself was very well laid out. The biggest drawback i would presume is the mosquitoes in the Boardwalk 'the poolside restaurant'. Its quite a nuisance and with dengue and malaria rampant in india, the thought of dining out there is quite unsettling. On the other hand, 'Symphony' indoors restaurant is a good experience.

Room Tip: If its a family stay (husband, wife and 2 kids (upto 7 years of age), room with a king sized bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivette_dacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Ms. Dacosta,

We would like to thank you for choosing us and sharing your feedback in this portal.

We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay, liked the room and the food. We try our very best at Ramada to offer a memorable stay to our guests.

We have also noted the concern you have expressed and would like to bring to your notice that though it’s an open area by the pool but we perform daily fumigation apart from natural herbal remedies i.e. planting lot of mosquito repellant plant around the area to keep the pests away.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chennai.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was here for two nights, Checkin was smooth, although they had some problem with the card as it didn't activate the power supply to my room, I believe it was not an isolated problem as while i was checking in there was another guy who came in complaining for the same. It took about 10 mins for them to fix the issue.
The rooms were not too bad but not to the class I expected, wifi signal was at times a issue at I kept on losing it while in my room.
Food is fine with decent options in the buffet.
Swimming pool is very small, but they have a big screen which is visible while being in the pool, watching the T20 world cup match in the pool was a nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeerajWadhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Mr. Wadhwa,

We would like to thank you for choosing us and sharing your feedback.

We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our services.

At Ramada we try our very best to offer a memorable stay to our guests. On the other hand we have also noted the concern you have expressed that are shared with the respective department leaders to have a corrective action in place.

We thank you once again and hope you will notice positive changes on your next visit again.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar
Gupta
Group President
gp@ramadachennaiegmore.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

On my recent travel to the hotel, i had a Chennai Central pick-up n drop offer. I called the hotel before boarding the Double Decker train from Bangalore, and got the whole thing of station pick up confirmed with this lady over the phone. On reaching Chennai, i called to check for my taxi, lo and behold, the taxi is yet to be sent from hotel. Alright i wait and wait for 45 minutes, the taxi arrives and i think now i am going to have a good rest. But No No, wait! The taxi suddenly gets overheated - Chennai heat maybe or it could be ME and not my day! The driver poor chap is all sweating, and organises another car. Waiting in the middle of the road, no A/c so all sweating and listening to the music (vehicles honking different tunes from behind), another 15 minutes goes by. At last the other taxi arrives, and i reach hotel all rugged up, almost 1 hour after i reach Chennai, stranded and bearing the Chennai evening heat. When i narrated my plight at the front desk - his reaction - `Sorry sir, with a smile' (as if i just said `Thank you very much for your hospitality'. Now that sorry is supposed to calm me and bring me back to normalcy. Well, i realised the staff with who i spoke, the front desk and travel desk... there is absolutely no co-ordination. However, the hotel is good, good food, centrally located, so not much to complain.

Room Tip: By far one of the best options near the Central or Egmore stations. Barring some mis-communication a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and you elaborate feedback.

We are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel, its location, the food But are very sorry to learn your arrival experience.
Please accept our apology for the situation you have faced.

I would like to assure you this is not our service standard as you have experienced on your recent stay and hope that you give us another opportunity to be at your service and experience a true Ramada Hospitality.

Sincerely yours
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
gp@ramadachennaiegmore.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#55 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
293 reviews
Abu Sarovar Portico
#66 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
156 reviews
Clarion Chennai
#48 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Egmore
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City ...
#24 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
703 reviews
Pride Hotel Chennai
#105 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
399 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#17 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Chennai Egmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Chennai Egmore

Property: Ramada Chennai Egmore
Address: Gandhi Irwin Bridge Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Chennai Egmore 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Chennai Egmore boasts of 113 plush and spacious rooms that combine verdant amenities and the comfort of home like environment. Between each day’s adventures, relax amid the warm, earthy ambience of your spacious room, and discover the various facilities at your beck and call: complimentary internet, a flat screen TV, electronic safe with a built-in laptop charger, a pillow menu to ensure that you sleep stress-free and all day in-room dining. The attached bathroom also has custom designed baths and drench showers with luxurious accoutrements and lotions from Paya. Rooms also have ironing facilities but if your suit requires ironing urgently for that all-important presentation with clients the hotel’s prompt laundry services would be happy to do it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Chennai Egmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing