We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ranked #37 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ive had interactions with Ramada Egmore on frequent occasions and i would say that my overall experience has been very good. We recently held a launch at their premises and everyone right from the hotel busy boy to the manager to the serving boys and heads of departments were very helpful, courteous and ever ready to help you out. A special mention is the way they helped our guests with special needs from the time they entered the hotel till they left, guiding them, getting special ramps made, serving them at the table to everything. This undoubtedly helped us make a better impression with our guests. During this time, a few of our out of city and out of country guests also were staying with them and throughout the stay they helped in various ways and were always there to help out by passing on messages, searching the whole hotel from top to bottom just to deliver the message to the necessary person and all. Their food was amazing as heartily agreed upon by our guests as well and the buffet they provide is very reasonable priced with a large variety. Their rooms are nice and huge(small ones are also available of course) and the beds - incredibly comfortable.
We also held a special gathering at their Boardwalk and they set up a complete buffet with minimum fuss and at very short notice complete with live food counters. Their service staff were very well behaved and generally of good disposition. The live band and the pool near the restaurant culminates to a nice restful evening to a dinner with friends.
The whole ambiance of the hotel from the reception to its restaurants is one that we will recommend for though the one part that we experienced delay was in billing during check out. One would think that a bill is the fastest thing any business will serve you with, but the staff are very thorough about their job. Overall, good experience :)

Room Tip: You should clearly mention your room preferences. The ones at the back are restful and as you go hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went with friends and had a good time.. The staff n manager are very friendly.. Nominal rates on the menu.. Good ambiance and I would recommend for a night out with a few friends.. Service was decent.. Overall I would go back for a laid back night and unwind..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank dnivrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dear Friends,
This may have happened to me but still reflects the condition of the hotel and management. We were there on a business meet and this hotel happened to be a corporate tie up. We were welcomed by confused team, they had no clue to help us unload but wants to shoo the Taxi we were on, secondly the check -in was a plight, the suited person was busy on his multimedia cell, left us to trainees to complete the check in, finally we got rooms... or I should say a dungeon .. Stinky (1st Floor) , dingy , broken remote, AC at 18 Degrees was working like a blower , Access Lock was broken.. After many calls, one of us got shifted , I was made to hop between adjacent rooms , lost my belt (Front Desk paid no heed) , finally after 2.5 hours or ordeal was given a room on the 5th Floor.. Same story..
If this was Ramada, I am shocked as other properties are far better, They @ Chennai better put trained staff, GM should conduct surprise checks, re-do everything as clearly Age is showing on the property which was earlier "Marina Tower Hotel which was better".

Ramada Chennai is off my list forever.

Room Tip: Hope they make rooms like other Ramada Properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saurabh1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It is still a Marina the surrounding is horrible, noise keep coming through the windows if you on pool side room. They also don't provide the basic amenities in the room, No mini bar, no toiletories.

The restaurant however is little better in ambience and is quite. Service again disappoints.

Room Tip: try getting room opposite to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Though the name is Ramada but its not exactly a ramada property, it was an old hotel which was bought by Ramada and renamed. Rooms on the higher floors are still not renovated while on the lower floors its the newly renovated. Rooms are just awesome. Big, spacious and excellent in all aspects. Location of the hotel is also good, its nearby to the egmore station and you can easily get a rick from outside to roam places within the city. Breakfast buffet was great though there was not enough sitting if it gets crowded.

Room Tip: Reserve the lower floor rooms before hand by calling them up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amrusul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

From Checking to Check out, one adventure it was! Folks its a cheap place. Rooms are big (and thats where the party ends). The food is horrible, check in took forever, the room AC did not work and I had to call on house keeping a multiple times to get it fixed. The shower drainage does not work and what you have under you while bathing is a pool of dirty water. The room lighting system is a puzzle and it took me half hour to figure out the switches to the lights to turn them off before sleeping. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yashovardhan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Service was awesome ...!!! Room is not clean below beds n tables, probably floor was not clean for months. you cannot control air conditioning with many options as options are limited. service was good but not quick.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna-Nama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#55 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
338 reviews
Egmore
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City ...
#32 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
803 reviews
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#60 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#75 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
145 reviews
The Park Chennai
#49 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,745 reviews
Mylapore
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#45 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Chennai Egmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Chennai Egmore

Address: Gandhi Irwin Bridge Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Chennai Egmore 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Chennai Egmore boasts of 113 plush and spacious rooms that combine verdant amenities and the comfort of home like environment. Between each day’s adventures, relax amid the warm, earthy ambience of your spacious room, and discover the various facilities at your beck and call: complimentary internet, a flat screen TV, electronic safe with a built-in laptop charger, a pillow menu to ensure that you sleep stress-free and all day in-room dining. The attached bathroom also has custom designed baths and drench showers with luxurious accoutrements and lotions from Paya. Rooms also have ironing facilities but if your suit requires ironing urgently for that all-important presentation with clients the hotel’s prompt laundry services would be happy to do it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Chennai Egmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing