We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of Grand Siam

Grand Siam
Ranked #1,244 of 6,638 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: US$9 - US$11
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The evening with my friends was wonderful because of this restaurant.The food and the service is perfectly met all my needs.even surprisingly they start chinese and vietnamese too.The valet and wifi made more comfortable,All the best for great future of this restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank guruvappa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai Restos”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

One of the best exclusive Thai restaurants in Chennai.

Compared to Benjarong Ambience is secondary but still its value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuberan_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cuisine par excellence”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Visited this place 6-1-13. The food and the service was far superior to the other restaurants.My son adored this place. Wish He was here so I could have the delicious thai food. Service was impeccable and ambience very good

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mohan A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
““Good Thai food””
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I usually hesitate to go to new Thai restaurants knowing that, in the majority of cases, I will be disappointed . I was recommended to visit here by a friend, food is awesome. This restaurant is a gem! It serves very authentic and tasty Thai food.

Overall, the food ranged between average and excellent. The satays and papaya salad were to die for. I tasted four or five dishes and they were all mouthwatering.

I have tried different types of curries both vegetarian and non vegetarian (chicken and prawns). The curries are served with an accompaniment of steamed rice and the portion sizes are well defined for a single person. The use of spices is subtle and not too overpowering allowing you to enjoy the entire meal without having to resort to multiple swigs of water. As someone who enjoys a subtle play of flavors and spices rather than a full blown spice attack. There is definitely a lot more on offer in terms of starters and other non curry preparations which I fully intend to explore in future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
““BEST THAI as you can get within Chennai city limits””
Reviewed 3 June 2013

AT First i was surprised to see an another GRAND SIAM in CHENNAI since my last vacation i found one in Anna Nagar, but this time on my business visit i found newly opened GRAND SIAM at Mylapore, we quickly made our visit for our dinner along with few overseas partners.

As expected the Restaurants Interiors were of 5 star quality with beautiful wood work and a pleasant homely atmosphere much bigger than in Anna nagar and with a mild background music, Service was appreciable.

The snack platter was a delightful surprise and so was the welcome drink!. A smart manager explained to us the various dishes and advised us on what to take. I liked the matter of fact manner in which the Manager assisted us - he explained dishes in a brief and lucid manner without being prescriptive.

While we enjoyed a decent mock-tail, dinner was served within 20 minutes or so with piping hot steam with flavors from the platter. In the meanwhile I had taken in the sights and sounds of the restaurant. I felt that the decor lifted my spirits - the theme was well planed.

The dinner was just fabulous and mouth watering and I am not too creative right now so I will make it simple - excellent! My Partners from Over seas loved the flavors and the well cooked portions. It took them back to Melbourne/US days when they frequented a Thai restaurant with their family and friends they said. They also comment that This, however, was much better. we tried Seafood, Chicken and vegetarian dishes which were all of high standard.

I have visited Grand Siam few times in Anna nagar post this visit and I found the dining experience there to be uniform and of high standards in both the restaurants. I recommend Grand Siam to everyone out for exotic cuisine, for a great dining experience or simply for authentic Thai food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank multimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Siam also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Grand Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing