We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely misleading claims of being a 1 star hotel”
Review of Samudra Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samudra Residency
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely misleading claims of being a 1 star hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I chose this hotel based on reviews in trip advisor and booked for a 3 night stay with my family. The person at the counter offered me an extra mat on the floor when i had actually booked a room for three. after fighting and pointing his mistake he agreed to give a triple bed bed room. The reception area is well done but beware this is the honey trap!!!

The the condition of the room offered was appalling for a supposedly 'one star' hotel. Torn sheets, fungal growth on bed head rests, cracked walls, dirty toilets with broken toilet seats.....well i was terribly embarrassed in front of my family for choosing such a hotel. The hotel staff are boys who neither speak english or the local language. The man at front desk cant help you for even directions in the city. u are better off with local autodrivers for directions.

its not the condition but the misleading claims about the quality of the hotel that has really disgusted and disappointed me.

Room Tip: Check the room before taking over else they will force you into dirty ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srinivasanallur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
5
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at Samudra Residency on my way to Pondicherry. It was a good hotel with all basic amenities. Clean. Only thing is the wash room is small and could be made much claener. Overall I am satisfied with the service.
Ashijit Ganguli

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashijit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed only 2 night in Samudra, it is close to the train station, so i can save some money from taking those nasty rickshaw, the room is OK, only the bathroom still need to improve, no hot water shower is normal in India, so i don't complaint for that, seriously you don't need it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Hennessy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The room was clean, with clean bedlinen; bathroom clean. Location extremely convenient for chennai central railway station. Reasonably quiet considering the location. Staff very helpful. Recommendable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have never been stayed in such a hotel in the city. I was in a trouble when the train leaves at 04:00 am. But i found this hotel in very low rate. I was shocked when i saw the hotel was absolute very nice and quite comfirtable for solo traveler.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midhun_Kochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pehowa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

we were in hotel for one nighy only,09 dec to 10 december.hotel staff is helpfull,hotel is near chennai central railway station.bathrooms are small,this is a good budget hotel,we are satisfy.we will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajindermehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is very near to the Chennai Central railway station and all the needed facilities (cyber cafe, restaurants, car rentals, rickshaws) are available in the area. The staffs are very helpful, there was little issue with the booking and the non A/C rooms were sold out, but the manager converted a A/C room into non-A/C (no running) and allowed us to stay without any increase in the rent. We also extended our stay by 1 day at very short notice and the same room was allowed. There is also a travel desk and we got our TATKAL ticket booked through them. The manager even told that if we get a night train then we can stay till evening and checkout around 7 p.m. The room we stayed was clean, toilet properly maintained. One can stay peacefully in this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnisurRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
Sudha Inn
Sudha Inn
#210 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Hotel Himalaya Residency
#190 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#204 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santhi Bhavan
#248 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#65 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Hotel Pearl International
#96 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samudra Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samudra Residency

Property: Samudra Residency
Address: 14-15 New No. 3-5 Bommu Chetty Street, Waltex Road, Chennai (Madras), India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 621 Speciality Lodging in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Samudra Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing