We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for the buck”
Review of Samudra Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samudra Residency
Reviewed 30 June 2014

At this price this is the best in chennai. The rooms were spotless and bathroom too. The only drawback is the locality which is full of garbage, but that is out of management's control. Room service was very prompt. Bed, bedsheets, pillows and towels were very clean. There is no restaurant attached, but try the murudi restaurant nearby, which provides excellent vegetarian food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SETHURAMAN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel was good and is actually very near to central railway station.
Staff was cooperative and room was quite neat.But definately had some problems like Flush was leaking and specially Hotel doesn't have its own Restaurant but staff will get you what u need at mrp from other nearby places...
In all Stay was good as it gave AC Room for 1000

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Kushagra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had reached Chennai at night. On reaching station, we booked 2 rooms are Samudra Inn via goibibo (availed 25% discount as well). On reaching Hotel they said they don't have any rooms. We were a group of 2 girls with old parents. We said its 11 in the night and our parents are old and locatily is not good for girls to walk around with so much luggage, can you please figure something out. Staff was very very rude. We got really angry and said we will sue you guys for stranding us at this time despite getting confirmed bookings.Then they said, please dont go we will give you rooms. Basically they had rooms but since we got it cheap (discount), they felt it was loss for their hotel. Whatever it is they should have checked with the travel site and not harass people like this. My parents are diabetic and so much tensions they had to undergo that mid night. I hope to God this hotel never prospers! Also, the locality is bit shady for girls/family to stay there.

Room Tip: Shady hotel and pathetic mean staff. Please don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eowyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I booked this hotel to take a few hours rest..This one is very worthy for its price..The hospitality is good..The rooms are clean..bathroom is ok..bedsheets are fine..The place is pleasant with nice interiors...very near to central railway station is added advantage...This is a ONE Star Hotel..So never expect big for pity amount we pay..This will be highly recommended if u look for a good low budget hotel around chennai central station

Room Tip: Four Bed room suite is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Dayala2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My stay of five days was very good and comfortable. The hotel is very neat and clean, with clean bed linen, clean bathrooms and room interiors are also very good. Location near Chennai central station is an added advantage.



  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Puneet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

bed bugs
poor hospitality
especially the manager is a psychopath
don't waste your money here
bed bugs everywhere
everywhere
loo is pathetic........................................................................

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank sabihliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I chose this hotel based on reviews in trip advisor and booked for a 3 night stay with my family. The person at the counter offered me an extra mat on the floor when i had actually booked a room for three. after fighting and pointing his mistake he agreed to give a triple bed bed room. The reception area is well done but beware this is the honey trap!!!

The the condition of the room offered was appalling for a supposedly 'one star' hotel. Torn sheets, fungal growth on bed head rests, cracked walls, dirty toilets with broken toilet seats.....well i was terribly embarrassed in front of my family for choosing such a hotel. The hotel staff are boys who neither speak english or the local language. The man at front desk cant help you for even directions in the city. u are better off with local autodrivers for directions.

its not the condition but the misleading claims about the quality of the hotel that has really disgusted and disappointed me.

Room Tip: Check the room before taking over else they will force you into dirty ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srinivasanallur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#291 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
138 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#70 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#9 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,611 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,042 reviews
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#28 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samudra Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samudra Residency

Address: 14-15 New No. 3-5 Bommu Chetty Street, Waltex Road, Chennai (Madras), India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 690 Speciality Lodging in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £7 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Samudra Residency 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samudra Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing