We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, great food, great staff, beyond expectations...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Ranked #3 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Awesome hotel, great food, great staff, beyond expectations...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This beautiful hotel is well located in reference to shopping, airport and business area; however, what i love most about it, is its awesome pool, great spa services and beyond delicious food! The beds are the typical cloud like signature of the Westin brand. Expect to want to buy the bed or over sleep! Whoever says they can't see the 5 star quality, is seriously playing snob. This is a wonderful hotel! Go ahead, and give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marintiananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Welcome to Renewal!

It was a pleasure to host you at Westin Chennai and we thank you for taking some time off to review us on TripAdvisor.

We’re delighted to hear that your experience with us was at par with your expectations. We are glad to know that our food and services delighted you. At Westin, we provide guests with Heavenly® Beds and your mention of the same is good to read. We’ll forward the kind words of appreciation to our associates, which shall serve as a motivation for the future.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    233
    43
    19
    12
See reviews for
136
75
49
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have lived in Chennai for 2 1/2 years, but only since the Westin opened last year did I truly find my second home. At the Westin, the associates feel more like family than staff. I have spent much time at this lovely hotel and have enjoyed every minute of it. I have stayed as a guest, become a spa member, joined the "Eat, Drink, and More" program (a great value), attended functions, and planned functions held at the Westin Chennai Velachery.

As a guest, I will say that the rooms are nicely appointed, comfortable, and the beds are, well, heavenly! This is the first hotel that I have actually thought the beds were more comfortable than my bed at home.

The gym is clean with a great variety of equipment. I joined the spa so I could work out and take advantage of the beautiful pool on a regular basis. With the help and encouragement of personal trainers, I have achieved many fitness goals.

I have planned several special themed events in the Seasonal Tastes restaurant for groups numbering 160 persons and more, and they have all been simply fantastic. The chefs do an amazing job developing menus and preparing delicious meals from the appetizers all the way through to the mouth watering desserts. The wait staff is attentive and always strives to satisfy each request as quickly as possible. I really enjoy the family friendly atmosphere. There is even a special attended space for the children to play in as parents finish their meal and visit with friends. Thanks to the great Food and Beverage management, no detail is left unattended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twentytw022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It is always a pleasure to host you and receive your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

It is indeed great to learn that your stay with us was at par with your expectations each time you have returned to our hotel. We are glad to know that you were delighted with the services and facilities provided to you. At Westin we provide guests with our signature Heavenly Bed® and your mention of the same is lovely to read. It is great to know that you could enjoy the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ and WestinWORKOUT™ Fitness Studio. Our chefs will be glad to know that you were happy with the food offerings. We thank you for appreciating the services provided to you by our associates and will certainly forward your kind words of appreciation to them. This will act as a source of motivation to keep performing with excellence.

Thank you for your continued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a great hotel for a business traveler, and a great location from which to explore a bit on foot.

The hotel is new and shiny. Great room layout, very clean and well-appointed, gorgeous bathroom with tub and shower. The wall opens so you can sit in the tub and watch TV, which I did!

Good room service menu and quick delivery.

Gorgeous spa with gym and pool. Be sure to get a massage (or two) while staying here. They do not spare the details here. They even start you with a quick little foot bath.

Restaurants are great. Breakfast was included in my room rate and was superb with Indian, Japanese and Western choices. And they know how to do Western breads and pastries here. They have a huge selection of beer, wine and liquor, especially compared to other Chennai hotels.

The hotel is near the street which is quite walkable. There is a grocery store across the street and a mall just down the road. You could walk to the mall but there is a pretty busy intersection to cross so I took an auto-rickshaw for under 100 rupees. If you go to the mall be sure to check out the food court on the fourth floor. They have some very good options there if you need a bite as you shop.

I stayed at the Grand Chola but moved to the Westin and found it to be much less crowded and over-the-top. I will stay at the Weston again.

Room Tip: I did fine on the fourth floor, street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for sharing such an insightful review regarding your stay at The Westin Chennai Velachery on TripAdvisor.

Centrally located in the city’s growing commercial areas, our hotel is preferred amongst leisure and business travelers. It is great to know that our location could add value to your stay. We are pleased to note that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and that you were delighted with the services and facilities. Our Heavenly Spa by Westin™ allows guests to relax and rejuvenate with a host of therapies and we are glad that you were able to experience them. Our team in the kitchen will be happy to know that your dining experience with us was a memorable one. It was certainly wonderful to receive a perfect ranking on this forum and we thank you for rating us so highly.

Thank you for your patronage and we will look forward to your next visit.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Me, along with 2 other friends thought of trying out The Westin for dinner since the hotel was pretty new in the city.
The ambiance was really nice. The staffs were so friendly. We tried their all-day dining buffet restaurant. The options were too less. And the food was too normal. We didn't feel the 5* quality or taste in it. After the main course, we thought of hogging the desserts since it looked mouth watery. But trust me, none of their pastries were tasty. Only one or two of their Indian sweets were nice. The overall experience was not even a bit satisfactory. It was pretty costlier also comparing to the other good 5* hotel restaurants in the city.

Thanks !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sw33ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Welcome to Renewal!

It was a pleasure hosting you at The Westin Chennai Velachery and we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is pleasing to know that you found the ambiance to your liking and our staff could serve you with excellence while you were dining with us. However, we are disheartened to know that your overall dining experience with us was not up to the mark. We have noted your concerns and will surely share your feedback with our team in the kitchen. This will definitely act as a learning process and help us in improving our service standards and our food offerings. We assure you that, on your next visit you can experience a far better dining experience.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your patronage.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The property is strategically located in the city and 5 minute walk to one of the best malls in chennai. The hotel is 30 minute drive from the airport. The staff is very nice and courteous. The swimming pool and lounge is very cool place to be in after hectic work schedule in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milindpalany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at The Westin Chennai Velachery on TripAdvisor.

Located in close proximity to the airport, our hotel is preferred amongst leisure as well as business travelers. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and that you were happy with the services and facilities. We are happy that you found the lounge and pool to your liking. Our associates will be glad to hear that their services played a major role in making your stay a memorable one.

We will certainly look forward to your next visit.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Have stayed in couple of hotels in chennai. Like the others, Westin Chennai is clean, modern and comfortable.

One thing that irks me is that basic amenities need to be _asked_ for. Example, toothbrush set, shaving set, etc. I would reckon that for a male traveller, they would have just placed in there instead of having me calling them to ask for it.

In terms of service, their staff are excellent, very polite, very service oriented. At least better than those i encountered in my other stays within chennai so far.

the location is quite good. it is near to a shopping mall called phoenix mall. have not been there but will certainly try it in my next visit.

One thing I need to highlight. The bed is very good. just firm enough for my liking. It is almost like home's. appreciate the bed very much. especially after a long day in office.

So, try it when you get a chance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfredteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Renewed Greetings from The Westin Chennai Velachery!

It was wonderful hosting you at the hotel and we thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay.

Centrally located in the city’s developing commercial areas, our hotel caters to business as well as leisure travelers; it pleases us to know that our location could add value to your stay. We are glad to know that your stay with us was a memorable one and that you were satisfied with the facilities provided to you at the hotel. At Westin, our associates strive to provide personalized services to our guests and your review is proof that we have succeeded in our endeavours. We thank you for appreciating our Heavenly Bed® and are glad that you were able to ‘Sleep Well’. Your concerns have been noted and we will share it with the respective departments.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here a total of 3 times during our southern India holiday and every time ALL the staff at every level could not have been more personal, interesting and helpful from the airport meet and greet (well worth the 2000 rupee price) to the spa, restaurant and front desk......they all seemed to have a respect for their departments and we feel reflect some excellent and personal training.

We tried two levels of rooms, had club floor lounge access and everything we could wish for was there. The beds as ever are excellent, the baths a joy to soak inn, the a/c quiet and efficient and should you want it.....5 minutes walk down the road you have a very western shopping complex, we did not but it struck us how India continues to offer so many contrasts.

On the airport meet and greet side Sridhar provided us with such careful personal service he deserves a mention, but all of his colleagues whose names we omitted to get seemed to 'get' client care, and deserve a pat on the back from their managers. The Audis that whisk you to/from the hotel are efficient and comfortable in the rush house Chennai traffic.

We ate in the main restaurant and the staff even indulged me with a quick lesson on how the roti breads are cooked. Again the young men and women seemed happy to chat and suggest things and the different style of cooking on offer was truly impressive.

As you my gather we departed the hotel very satisfied, at a ridiculously early hour, to get the BA flight back to Heathrow, yet still the front desk chap was smiling, despite the a/c being switched off at night. He must have been more than a little warm in his frock coat, so might we suggest to the management that at night staff be allowed a more relaxed dress code?

Room Tip: Both front and rear facing rooms have good sound insulation and noise was never an issue, which as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Welcome to Renewal!

It was a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel and it is wonderful to read such an insightful review regarding your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to know that your stay was at par with your expectations and that you were happy with the services and facilities provided to you. We are happy that our Heavenly Bed® could provide you with a ‘Sleep Well’ feeling. At Westin, we strive to provide personalized services to our guests and your review is proof that we have succeeded in our endeavours. Our team in the kitchen will be thrilled to know that they were able to make your dining experience a memorable one. We thank you for sharing your feedback and will surely pass your message to the relevant departments. Sridhar has been suitably recognised in view of the fact that you made a special mention of him.

We would love to welcome you back to The Westin Chennai Velachery and thank you for your patronage.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#6 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,458 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,771 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,113 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chennai Velachery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chennai Velachery

Property: The Westin Chennai Velachery
Address: 154 Velachery Main Road, Chennai (Madras) 600042, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Velachery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chennai Velachery 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in one of the city’s developing commercial areas, The Westin Chennai Velachery is near major corporations, eclectic restaurants, shopping, and the botanical gardens.Our 215 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites ensure relaxing stays in pleasant surroundings. Eat well in our four restaurants, which serve healthful local and international meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Chennai Velachery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing